Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Presets for 25K7191  (Read 1709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Boner Stallone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:August 14, 2012, 10:43:09 pm
Presets for 25K7191
« on: April 26, 2012, 07:20:31 pm »
Hi, I'm using a Radeon 3870 hooked up to a Wells Gardner 25K7191 and I'm currently unable to find decent settings for VMMaker to produce a working range this monitor accepts. I'm testing settings in ArcadeOSD and have found that the preset for H9110 produces the most working modelines for this monitor. But none of the lower res modes are working - basically anything under 328 x 256 @ 60p, which rules out a lot of the MAME library.

I know this was a popular monitor found in a lot of cabs so I figured I would ask here if anyone has nailed a preset for VMMaker/GroovyMAME.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6543
  • Last login:Today at 02:36:05 pm
Re: Presets for 25K7191
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 05:14:21 am »
Hi Boner Stallone,

The issue here is that HD 3xxx cards (and HD 2xxx too) can't do low dotclocks. So the only workaround for these cards is to double the lower horizontal resolutions like this:

320x224 -> 640x224
etc.

This can be done automatically by using the DotClockMin option in vmmaker and recalculating video modes with that. Use a value of 7.8 MHz or higher so:

Dotclockmin = 7.8

Also, in mame.ini, you need to edit the monitor_dotclock option. Now, be aware that here you need to enter the value in Hz, not MHz!

monitor_dotclock 7800000

Check this: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=114866.0
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Boner Stallone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:August 14, 2012, 10:43:09 pm
Re: Presets for 25K7191
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2012, 09:05:44 am »
Thanks Calamity, I will try this when I get home from work tonight and see how it goes.

Boner Stallone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:August 14, 2012, 10:43:09 pm
Re: Presets for 25K7191
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2012, 07:40:03 pm »
Yep. That totally worked.

Almost all of the modelines generated are now working, except for a couple with vertical hold issues. But now I have another problem when it comes to running GroovyMAME. It starts horizontally off center by about 50% negative when ran from command prompt, same with any loaded roms. The video modes that are being picked have been showing up fine in ArcadeOSD. I'm using a cleanly generated .ini with the only changes being the monitor type and dot clock value.

It's probably a MAME setting. I thought it normally defaulted to desktop res. I'll keep digging.

Thanks for the help.

Boner Stallone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:August 14, 2012, 10:43:09 pm
Re: Presets for 25K7191
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2012, 11:15:08 am »
After spending all evening testing every setting I could find I had no luck fixing the horizontal position in GroovyMAME.

So I just uninstalled the driver and deleted everything. Redid it all and now it seems to be working perfectly. I think it was a switchres issue that got messed up somewhere.

Thanks again.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6543
  • Last login:Today at 02:36:05 pm
Re: Presets for 25K7191
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2012, 01:25:09 pm »
After spending all evening testing every setting I could find I had no luck fixing the horizontal position in GroovyMAME.

So I just uninstalled the driver and deleted everything. Redid it all and now it seems to be working perfectly. I think it was a switchres issue that got messed up somewhere.

Thanks again.

Oh good to hear that it worked.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi