Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Best resolution for Atari 2600?  (Read 2117 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:April 21, 2019, 01:03:49 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Best resolution for Atari 2600?
« on: March 15, 2012, 12:36:11 am »
Has anyone found a perfect resolution for the Atari 2600 running under MESS?  I know that console runs at a crazy resolution like 160x192, but when I run at a 192 line resolution the bottom of the screen is cutoff.  The closest I've found to perfect is 192x224, but there are some black borders on the edges.  Just curious is there's a better known resolution.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6543
  • Last login:Today at 02:36:05 pm
Re: Best resolution for Atari 2600?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 01:25:40 pm »
But have you checked you have a 192 lines resolution available there?

If you're talking about black borders on the sides, you may try to create a 160x224 resolution adding it to ReslList.txt.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:April 21, 2019, 01:03:49 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Best resolution for Atari 2600?
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 06:01:28 pm »
Yeah I've checked, the 192 line resolutions are there in ArcadeOSD (I had to change the monitor type from 'CGA' to 'custom' though in vmmaker.ini with your help in another thread).  The borders are on the top, bottom and sides, but I'll try 160x224 and see what that looks like, thanks.