Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor  (Read 3225 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mazinger-z

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 03, 2016, 12:50:47 pm
Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« on: December 22, 2011, 01:25:36 pm »
Hello, this issue is bothering me very much.

How do I stop that DAMN XP from trying to detect what kind of monitor is hooked up and changing resolution / refresh rate? When this happens, I get a balloon popup telling me the resolution / refresh rate are too low and I should change them. I need it to keep the resolution that I chose.

Please help me disable this infuriating feature.  :angry:  :timebomb:

I found this:
http://www.hardwarebook.info/VGA_%2815%29#ID
But the interface I'm building has a cable directly soldered onto it and this cable doesn't have those wires.
I'm using the modified Windows ATI drivers and my XP has service pack 3 installed.

mrazy1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:December 31, 2011, 05:32:46 pm
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 02:47:22 pm »
Have you disables your plug and play controls???
Thanks Michael

mrazy1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:December 31, 2011, 05:32:46 pm
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2011, 02:53:50 pm »
Also I would do a custom configuration which will allow you to set monitor res.. You may have to write a config or an autoexebat.exe file with the res you want in it..
Thanks Michael

caskad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:April 02, 2012, 02:48:22 am
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2011, 03:08:16 pm »
disable buble info?

mazinger-z

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 03, 2016, 12:50:47 pm
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2011, 07:24:57 pm »
I was actually mixing 2 different things. One is the balloon dialog, that can be easily disabled in the registry. The other one is XP's monitor detection feature, which disables higher refresh rates when booting with no monitor attached. I think this won't be a problem anymore once I finally attach my PC to the arcade monitor (a normal 15KHz type), but it's quite annoying now that I'm using different monitors and TV sets for testing.
The interesting thing is that QuickRes (or maybe, the modified driver itself, as this also happens in the standard XP resolution selection window) gets fooled by Windows into thinking that refresh rates higher than 60Hz are available: if I start the PC without a proper VGA DDC monitor, I can select those modes but I only ever get 60Hz instead. Maybe the author can make the driver aware of this and gray out those modes.
This behavior also shows up if the monitor is turned off at boot time.
At least this is my understanding of the "problem". I'll update this thread if I find out more.

mrazy1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:December 31, 2011, 05:32:46 pm
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2011, 11:30:56 pm »
The firmware you are using should select the right driver but if you are using more then one monitor then it may not know which one is which if they are close. Maybe why you are getting window pop.. Plus not all countries use 60hz but 50hz but at this point I do not think I can help just know that you can set res in an autoexec.bat file to one you want if you have the right drivers installed.. by using a different configuration you can select which res you want if you are using different monitors for different reasons. without installing all the drivers at one time. Just an Idea
Thanks Michael

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6723
  • Last login:Today at 05:19:50 am
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2011, 04:55:58 am »
mazinger-z,

There is an undocumented option in ATI drivers for doing that:

- Find the registry key where your driver settings reside (you can get it from GroovyMAME logs)
- Create a new DWORD value named DALRULE_DONOTPERFORMDISPLAYDETECTION
- Set its value to 1 (0x00000001)
- Restart

Hope it helps.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

mazinger-z

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:January 03, 2016, 12:50:47 pm
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2011, 04:22:01 pm »
Aaah, thanks a lot Calamity! I had a feeling that a "dalrule_something" would do the trick.  :notworthy:

Thanks to everyone else too.

caskad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:April 02, 2012, 02:48:22 am
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2012, 10:08:28 am »
Hello,

can i apply this trick to prevent plug and play HDMI monitor detection?

my test result give me strange issue, (need to restore back because buggy screen)

thx

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6723
  • Last login:Today at 05:19:50 am
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2012, 11:11:57 am »
Hi caskad, this should prevent both outputs from being detected, but probably the VGA won't be used as primary anyway. However, you can try some experimentation.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

caskad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:April 02, 2012, 02:48:22 am
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2012, 07:45:39 pm »
No way :s

i don't have vga to vga cable, but only result are disconnect hdmi to have DVI as primary  :banghead:

caskad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:April 02, 2012, 02:48:22 am
Re: Preventing XP from trying to detect monitor
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2012, 05:47:26 am »
I don't see solution, i 'm ot a specialist about Edid :s

No way to have VGA over HDMI with registry ?

any clue?
« Last Edit: February 26, 2012, 06:16:02 am by caskad »