Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144  (Read 2066 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« on: November 28, 2011, 04:41:05 pm »
Calamity im having a problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144, the game keeps locking up after a few seconds, please see attached log

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 06:12:08 pm »
(I just moved this to a new thread)

Thanks for the log. Powerstrip is reporting totally crazy values, I don't have a clue what's going on. Is this the only game that fails?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 06:15:57 pm »
The only one i have come across atm. I have noticed with a few vertical games that that game screen doesnt fill all the way to the top and bottom of the screen, if i go into the in game video option menu i notice at the top there is an 'artwork' option in the list and under that the normal 'standard aspect' and 'pixel aspect', if i select either of the latter 2 options then the display fills the whole screen again (top to bottom). I dont recal there usually being this 'artwork' option. Im not sure why this happens??
« Last Edit: November 28, 2011, 06:17:37 pm by lettuce »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 06:43:42 pm »
I'll need to make a debug build to catch that bug. On the other hand, please give a sample of one of those vertical games so I can test here.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2011, 04:29:10 am »
Spy Hunter and Break Thru are 2 that i can think of

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2011, 04:52:58 pm »
Hi lettuce, I'm testing brktrhu right now and can see not 'artwork' option in the video menu... do you happen to have any specific artwork for that game in the artwork folder?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2011, 06:03:28 pm »
yeah i downloaded all the artwork for all the games, bezzels etc

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2011, 06:14:45 pm »
Check if the -artwork_crop param helps there.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2011, 04:22:42 am »
Do you mean the 'full' option at the botton of the in game video settings?? If I select standard or pixel aspect then the game will revert back to full screen. Its as if Mame thinks it's displaying a bezzel image but it actually isn't hence why it's not filling the whole screen. Strange that it only does it on a few games though

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2011, 07:07:26 am »
Do you mean the 'full' option at the botton of the in game video settings?? If I select standard or pixel aspect then the game will revert back to full screen. Its as if Mame thinks it's displaying a bezzel image but it actually isn't hence why it's not filling the whole screen. Strange that it only does it on a few games though

Some users experienced issues before by the mere fact of storing artwork in the corresponding folder, so my advice is to get rid of any artwork if you use GroovyMAME, but if you really want to keep it then use the -artwork_crop option either in command line or mame.ini, this is not an option you can select from the on screen menus.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2002
  • Last login:October 11, 2019, 02:40:45 am
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2011, 03:02:57 am »
If you're using the MAME artwork packs on an arcade monitor, it's imperative that you enable artwork_crop in your INI file.

For an extreme example, check out Space Invaders.  The backdrop artwork is huge.  If you don't crop it to the actual screen area, the game isn't really playable on an arcade monitor.

Try these settings in your INI file...

Code: [Select]
#
# CORE ARTWORK OPTIONS
#
artwork_crop              1
use_backdrops             1
use_overlays              1
use_bezels                0
use_cpanels               0
use_marquees              0
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2011, 05:46:05 am »
Spy Hunter still crashes, even if i dnt have any artwork in the artwork folder, i have tried it on another PC also. Any ideas on this?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2011, 06:24:57 am »
Spy Hunter still crashes, even if i dnt have any artwork in the artwork folder, i have tried it on another PC also. Any ideas on this?

Try disabling the -powerstrip option to see if the bugs comes from there.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2012, 05:14:54 pm »
I tried disabling the powerstrip option and it still does the same thing, also noticed Rampage suffers from the same problem also, both Atari games arent they??

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 07:39:04 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2012, 12:05:52 pm »
Any ideas??

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6737
  • Last login:Today at 12:50:18 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Problem with Spy Hunter on Grovymame 0.144
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2012, 12:51:18 pm »
Hi lettuce,

Until today I hadn't been able to reproduce spyhunt issue. I guess it has to do with the -redraw option it automatically sets. I've found that it doesn't lock if you disable multithreading (-nomt option). You can create an ini for this game with that option off. Definitely I need to have a closer look into this issue, thanks for pointing it.

Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi