Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Vertical Scrolling Shooter List for MAME  (Read 10706 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Harvey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:October 16, 2011, 01:55:08 pm
Vertical Scrolling Shooter List for MAME
« on: October 16, 2011, 01:51:55 pm »
I think a 2-player vertical cab dedicated to scrolling shooters would be pretty cool.  Who doesn’t like shootin ‘em up co-op style with a friend?

Vertical Scrolling Shooter as defined by allgame[.]com:
{Games of this style put the player in control of a character or vehicle that moves up or down a multi-screen playfield. In some cases the scrolling is "forced," as the player's unit is constantly moved forward to face new threats or targets. Other vertically scrolling shooters allow the unit to move up or down at will. As in all shooters, there is an emphasis on ranged combat. Gameplay is typically two-dimensional, though some vertical-scrolling shooters feature 3D graphics.}

According to this definition, I’m only concerned with what they call "forced" scrolling games (isn't that what scrolling implies anyway?).  So, that means Heavy Barrel, Liberation, etc. don't count.  And I'm not counting games like Astro Fighter, Dog Fight or such because they just kind of give the illusion of scrolling.  I'm talking "1942 type" games here man!  Which sounds simple enough, but there’s also games of debatable categorization; be it viewpoint transitions, actual monitor resolution or what have you.

This is not a best of, it's meant to be an exhaustive, ‘master’ list.  I did include some defective games, but none that are essentially unplayable.  Posted below are titles organized by parent\clone sets – and the attached is rom names only.  So, what am I missing?  Or, is there something you think doesn’t belong?  Got a top/best of list?...


1941 - Counter Attack (World) | 1941
 *1941 - Counter Attack (Japan) | 1941j
1942 (set 1) | 1942
 *1942 (set 2) | 1942a
 *1942 (set 3) | 1942b
1943: Midway Kaisen (Japan) | 1943kai
1943: The Battle of Midway (US) | 1943
 *1943: Midway Kaisen (Japan) | 1943j
1944: The Loop Master (USA 000620) | 1944
 *1944: The Loop Master (Japan 000620) | 1944j
1945k III | 1945kiii
19XX: The War Against Destiny (USA 951207) | 19xx
 *19XX: The War Against Destiny (Asia 951207) | 19xxa
 *19XX: The War Against Destiny (Brazil 951218) | 19xxb
 *19XX: The War Against Destiny (Hispanic 951218) | 19xxh
 *19XX: The War Against Destiny (Japan 951207) | 19xxjr1
 *19XX: The War Against Destiny (Japan 951225) | 19xxj
Acrobat Mission | acrobatm
Action Fighter, FD1089A 317-0018 | afighter
Aero Fighters | aerofgt
 *Aero Fighters (Turbo Force hardware set 1) | aerofgtb
 *Aero Fighters (Turbo Force hardware set 2) | aerofgtc
 *Sonic Wings (Japan) | sonicwi
Aero Fighters 2 / Sonic Wings 2 | sonicwi2
Aero Fighters 3 / Sonic Wings 3 | sonicwi3
Air Attack (set 1) | airattck
 *Air Attack (set 2) | airattca
Air Duel (Japan) | airduel
Air Gallet (JUEHTK) | agallet
Ajax | ajax
 *Ajax (Japan) | ajaxj
 *Typhoon | typhoon
Alpha Mission II / ASO II - Last Guardian | alpham2
Arbalester | arbalest
Argus | argus
Armed Formation | armedf
Armed Police Batrider - B Version (Japan) (Fri Feb 13 1998) | batrider
 *Armed Police Batrider (Japan) (Mon Dec 22 1997) | batridra
 *Armed Police Batrider (Korea) (Fri Feb 13 1998) | batridrk
Ashura Blaster (Japan) | ashura
 *Ashura Blaster (US) | ashurau
ASO - Armored Scrum Object | aso
 *Alpha Mission | alphamis
 *Arian Mission | arian
Asuka & Asuka (World) | asuka
 *Asuka & Asuka (Japan) | asukaj
B-Wings (Jan new Ver.) | bwings
 *B-Wings (Alt. Ver.?) | bwingsa
 *B-Wings (Japan old Ver.) | bwingso
Batsugun (set 1) | batsugun
 *Batsugun (set 2) | batsugna
 *Batsugun (Special Ver.) | batugnsp
Battle Bakraid (Japan) (Wed Apr 7 1999) | bbakraid
 *Battle Bakraid - Unlimited Version (Japan) (Tue Jun 8 1999) | bbakradu
Battle Garegga (Europe / USA / Japan / Asia) (Sat Feb 3 1996) | bgaregga
 *Battle Garegga (Austria / Hong Kong) (Sat Feb 3 1996) | bgareghk
 *Battle Garegga - New Version (Austria / Hong Kong) (Sat Mar 2 1996) | bgareghk
 *Battle Garegga - Type 2 (Denmark / China) (Tue Apr 2 1996) | bgaregcn
 *Battle Garegga - Type 2 (Europe / USA / Japan / Asia) (Sat Mar 2 1996) | bgaregt2
Battle Lane! Vol. 5 (set 1) | battlane
 *Battle Lane! Vol. 5 (set 2) | battlan2
 *Battle Lane! Vol. 5 (set 3) | battlan3
Battle-Road, The | battroad
Bee Storm - DoDonPachi II | ddp2
Bells & Whistles (Version L) | blswhstl
 *Detana!! Twin Bee (Japan ver. J) | detatwin
Bermuda Triangle (Japan) | bermudat
 *Bermuda Triangle (Japan old version) | bermudao
 *Bermuda Triangle (US older version) | bermudaa
 *World Wars (World) | worldwar
Bio Attack | bioatack
Blast Off (Japan) | blastoff
Blue Hawk | bluehawk
 *Blue Hawk (NTC) | bluehawn
Brave Blade (JAPAN) | brvblade
Change Air Blade (Japan) | cairblad
Chopper I (US set 1) | chopper
 *Chopper I (US set 2) | choppera
 *Chopper I (US set 3) | chopperb
 *Koukuu Kihei Monogatari - The Legend of Air Cavalry (Japan) | legofair
Cybattler | cybattlr
Cyvern (Japan) | cyvern
Daioh | daioh
Dangar - Ufo Robo (12/1/1986) | dangar
 *Dangar - Ufo Robo (9/26/1986) | dangar2
 *Dangar - Ufo Robo (bootleg) | dangarb
Dangerous Seed (Japan) | dangseed
Darwin 4078 (Japan) | darwin
Desert War / Wangan Sensou | desertwr
Dimahoo (Euro 000121) | dimahoo
 *Dimahoo (USA 000121) | dimahoou
 *Greah Mahou Daisakusen (Japan 000121) | gmahou
DoDonPachi (International, Master Ver. 97/02/05) | ddonpach
 *DoDonPachi (Japan, Master Ver. 97/02/05) | ddonpachj
Dogyuun | dogyuun
DonPachi (US) | donpachi
 *DonPachi (Hong Kong) | donpachk
 *DonPachi (Japan) | donpacjp
 *DonPachi (Korea) | donpackr
Double Wings | dblewing
Dragon Blaze | dragnblz
Dragon Saber | dsaber
 *Dragon Saber (Japan) | dsaberj
Dragon Spirit (new version) | dspirit
 *Dragon Spirit (old version) | dspirito
Dyger (Korea set 1) | dyger
 *Dyger (Korea set 2) | dygera
Eight Forces | eightfrc
Equites | equites
 *Equites (Sega) | equitess
ESP Ra.De. (International, Ver. 98/04/22) | esprade
 *ESP Ra.De. (Japan, Ver. 98/04/14) | espradeo
 *ESP Ra.De. (Japan, Ver. 98/04/21) | espradej
Espial (Europe) | espial
 *Espial (US?) | espialu
Exed Exes | exedexes
 *Savage Bees | savgbees
Explosive Breaker | explbrkr
 *Bakuretsu Breaker | bakubrkr
Extermination (US) | extrmatn
 *Extermination (Japan) | extrmatj
Fever SOS (International, Ver. 98/09/25) | feversos
 *Dangun Feveron (Japan, Ver. 98/09/17) | dfeveron
Fighter & Attacker (US) | fghtatck
 *F/A (Japan) | fa
Fighting Hawk (World) | fhawk
 *Fighting Hawk (Japan) | fhawkj
Final Star Force (US) | fstarfrc
Finalizer - Super Transformation | finalizr
 *Finalizer - Super Transformation (bootleg) | finalizb
Fire Barrel (Japan) | firebarr
Fire Battle | firebatl
Fire Shark | fireshrk
 *Same! Same! Same! | samesame
 *Same! Same! Same! (2P Ver.) | samesam2
Flying Shark (World) | fshark
 *Flying Shark (bootleg) | fsharkbt
 *Hishou Zame (Japan) | hishouza
 *Sky Shark (US) | skyshark
Flying Tiger | flytiger
Funky Bee | funkybee
 *Funky Bee (bootleg, harder) | funkbeeb
G-Stream G2020 | gstream
Galaxy Gunners | galaxygn
Galmedes (Japan) | galmedes
Game Paradise - Master of Shooting! / Game Tengoku - The Game Paradise, The | gametngk
Gardia (317-0006) | gardia
 *Gardia (317-0007?, bootleg) | gardiab
Gekirindan (Ver 2.3J 1995/09/21) | gekirido
Gemini Wing | gemini
Ghost Pilots | gpilots
Giga Wing (USA 990222) | gigawing
 *Giga Wing (Asia 990222) | gwinga
 *Giga Wing (Japan 990223) | gwingj
Gondomania (US) | gondo
 *Makyou Senshi (Japan) | makyosen
Grid Seeker: Project Storm Hammer (Ver 1.3O) | gseeker
 *Grid Seeker: Project Storm Hammer (Ver 1.3A) | gseekeru
 *Grid Seeker: Project Storm Hammer (Ver 1.3J) | gseekerj
Gulf Storm | gulfstrm
 *Gulf Storm (Media Shoji) | gulfstr2
Gulf War II | gulfwar2
Gun & Frontier (World) | gunfront
 *Gun Frontier (Japan) | gunfronj
Gun.Smoke (World) | gunsmoke
 *Gun.Smoke (Japan) | gunsmokj
 *Gun.Smoke (US set 1) | gunsmoku
 *Gun.Smoke (US set 2) | gunsmoka
Gunbird (World) | gunbird
 *Gunbird (Japan) | gunbirdj
 *Gunbird (Korea) | gunbirdk
Gunbird 2 | gunbird2
Gunlock (Ver 2.3O 1994/01/20) | gunlock
 *Ray Force (Ver 2.3A 1994/01/20) | rayforce
 *Ray Force (Ver 2.3J 1994/01/20) | rayforcj
GunNail | gunnail
Gyrodine (Taito Corporation license) | gyrodine
 *Buzzard | buzzard
 *Gyrodine | gyrodinc
HAL21 | hal21
 *HAL21 (Japan) | hal21j
Halley's Comet (US) | halleys
 *Halley's Comet '87 | halley87
 *Halley's comet (Japan, Newer) | halleysc
 *Halley's comet (Japan, Older) | halleycj
Hotdog Storm (International) | hotdogst
Image Fight (Japan) | imgfight
Last Day, The (set 1) | lastday
 *Last Day, The (set 2) | lastdaya
Last Duel (US set 1) | lastduel
 *Last Duel (bootleg) | lstduelb
 *Last Duel (US set 2) | lstduela
Legendary Wings (US set 1) | lwings
 *Ares no Tsubasa (Japan) | lwingsjp
 *Legendary Wings (US set 2) | lwings2
Legion (ver 2.03) | legion
 *Legion (ver 1.05) | legiono
Lethal Thunder (World) | lethalth
Lightning Fighters (World) | lgtnfght
 *Lightning Fighters (Asia) | lgtnfgha
 *Lightning Fighters (US) | lgtnfghu
 *Trigon (Japan) | trigon
Macross Plus | macrossp
Mad Shark | madshark
Mahou Daisakusen (Japan) | mahoudai
 *Sorcer Striker (World) | sstriker
 *Sorcer Striker (Wolrd, alt) | sstrikra
Mars Matrix: Hyper Solid Shooting (USA 000412) | mmatrix
 *Mars Matrix: Hyper Solid Shooting (Japan 000412) | mmatrixj
Master of Weapon (World) | masterw
 *Master of Weapon (US) | masterwu
Mazinger Z (International/Japan) | mazinger
Mega Zone (Konami set 1) | megazone
 *Mega Zone (Interlogic + Kosuka) | megaznik
 *Mega Zone (Konami set 2) | megazona
 *Mega Zone (Kosuka set 1) | megazonb
 *Mega Zone (Kosuka set 2) | megazonc
Meta Fox | metafox
Mission 660 | m660
 *Alphax Z, The (Japan) | alphaxz
 *Mission 660 (bootleg) | m660b
 *Mission 660 (Japan) | m660j
Mission-X (Cassette) | cmissnx
Mission Craft (version 2.4) | misncrft
MX5000 | mx5000
 *Flak Attack (Japan) | flkatck
Nebulas Ray (World) | nebulray
 *Nebulas Ray (Japan) | nebulryj
Next Space, The | tnexspce
Night Star (Cassette, set 1) | cnightst
 *Night Star (Cassette, set 2) | cnights2
Nostradamus | nost
 *Nostradamus (Japan) | nostj
 *Nostradamus (Korea) | nostk
Omega Fighter | omegaf
 *Omega Fighter Special | omegafs
Phelios (Japan) | phelios
Plus Alpha | plusalph
Pollux (set 1) | pollux
 *Pollux (set 2) | polluxa
 *Pollux (set 3) | polluxa2
R-Shark | rshark
Radiant Silvergun (JUET 980523 V1.000) | rsgun
Rafflesia (315-5162) | raflesia
Raiden | raiden
 *Raiden (Alternate Hardware) | raidena
 *Raiden (Korea) | raidenk
 *Raiden (Taiwan) | raident
Raiden 2 (set 1, US Fabtek) | raiden2
 *Raiden 2 (set 2, Metrotainment) | raiden2a
 *Raiden 2 (set 3, Japan) | raiden2b
 *Raiden 2 (set 4, Japan) | raiden2c
 *Raiden 2 (set 5) | raiden2d
 *Raiden 2 (set 6, Easy Version) | raiden2e
Raiden Fighters (Japan set 1) | rdft
 *Raiden Fighters (Australia) | rdftau
 *Raiden Fighters (Dream Island Co. license) | rdftdi
 *Raiden Fighters (Italy) | rdftit
 *Raiden Fighters (Japan set2) | rdftj
 *Raiden Fighters (US) | rdftu
Raiden Fighters 2 | rdft2
 *Raiden Fighters 2 (Asia, Dream Island license, SPI) | rdft2a2
 *Raiden Fighters 2 (Asia, Metrotainment license, SPI) | rdft2a
 *Raiden Fighters 2 (Japan, SPI) | rdft2j
 *Raiden Fighters 2 - 2000 (China) | rdft22kc
 *Raiden Fighters 2.1 (US, Single Board) | rdft2us
Raiden Fighters Jet | rfjet
 *Raiden Fighters Jet (Asia) | rfjeta
 *Raiden Fighters Jet (Japan) | rfjetj
 *Raiden Fighters Jet (US) | rfjetu
 *Raiden Fighters Jet (US, Single Board) | rfjetus
Rapid Hero (Japan?) | raphero
Ray Storm (Ver 2.06A) | raystorm
 *Ray Storm (Ver 2.05J) | raystorj
Red Clash (set 1) | redclash
 *Red Clash (Kaneko) | redclask
 *Red Clash (set 2) | redclsha
Regulus (315-5033, Rev A.) | regulus
 *Regulus (315-5033) | reguluso
 *Regulus (not encrypted) | regulusu
Ryu Jin (Japan) | ryujin
S.R.D. Mission | srdmissn
 *F-X | fx
S.S. Mission | ssmissin
Samurai Aces (World) | samuraia
 *Sengoku Ace (Japan) | sngkace
Sand Scorpion (set 1) | sandscrp
 *Sand Scorpion (set 2) | sandscra
Scion | scion
 *Scion (Cinematronics) | scionc
Scramble Spirits (World, Floppy Based) | sspirits
 *Scramble Spirits (Japan, Floppy DS3-5000-02-REV-A Based) | sspiritj
 *Scramble Spirits (World, set 2?, Floppy Based, FD1094 317-0058-02c) | sspirtfc
SD Gundam Neo Battling (Japan) | neobattl
Sen Jin - Guardian Storm (Korea) | grdnstrm
Sengeki Striker (Asia) | sengekis
 *Sengeki Striker (Japan) | sengekij
Shienryu (JUET 961226 V1.000) | shienryu
Shippu Mahou Daisakusen (Japan) | shippumd
 *Kingdom Grandprix (World) | kingdmgp
Skull Fang (Japan) | skullfng
Sky Adventure (World) | skyadvnt
 *Sky Adventure (Japan) | skyadvnj
 *Sky Adventure (US) | skyadvnu
Sky Alert | skyalert
Sky Fox | skyfox
 *Exerizer (Japan) (bootleg) | exerizrb
Sky Smasher | skysmash
Sky Soldiers (US) | skysoldr
Slap Fight (set 1) | slapfigh
 *Alcon | alcon
 *Slap Fight (bootleg) | slapfgtr
 *Slap Fight (English bootleg) | slapbtuk
 *Slap Fight (Japan bootleg) | slapbtjp
 *Slap Fight (set 2) | slapfiga
Sonic Boom (FD1094 317-0053) | sonicbom
Sonic Wings Limited (Japan) | sncwgltd
Soukyugurentai / Terra Driver (JUET 960821 V1.000) | sokyugrt
Spectrum 2000 (Euro) | spec2k
Stagger I (Japan) | stagger1
 *Red Hawk (bootleg) | redhawkb
 *Red Hawk (US) | redhawk
Star Force | starforc
 *Mega Force | megaforc
 *Star Force (encrypted) | starfore
 *Star Force (encrypted, bootleg) | starforb
Star Jacker (Sega) | starjack
 *Star Jacker (Stern) | starjacs
Storm Blade (US) | stmblade
Strike Gunner S.T.G | stg
Strikers 1945 | s1945
 *Strikers 1945 (Alt) | s1945a
 *Strikers 1945 (Japan) | s1945j
 *Strikers 1945 (Japan, unprotected) | s1945jn
 *Strikers 1945 (Korea) | s1945k
Strikers 1945 II | s1945ii
Strikers 1945 III (World) / Strikers 1999 (Japan) | s1945iii
Strikers 1945 Plus | s1945p
Super Real Darwin (World) | srdarwin
 *Super Real Darwin (Japan) | srdarwnj
Super Spacefortress Macross / Chou-Jikuu Yousai Macross | macross
Super-X (NTC) | superx
 *Super-X (Mitchell) | superxm
Task Force Harrier | tharrier
 *Task Force Harrier (Japan) | tharierj
Terra Cresta (YM3526 set 1) | terracre
 *Terra Cresta (YM2203) | terracra
 *Terra Cresta (YM3526 set 2) | terracrb
Terra Force | terraf
 *Terra Force (set 2) | terrafa
 *Terra Foce (US) | terrafu
Thunder Dragon | tdragon
 *Thunder Dragon (Bootleg) | tdragonb
Thunder Dragon 2 (9th Nov. 1993) | tdragon2
 *Big Bang (9th Nov. 1993) | bigbang
 *Thunder Dragon 2 (1st Oct. 1993) | tdragn2a
Thundercade / Twin Formation | tndrcade
 *Tokusyu Butai U.A.G. (Japan) | tndrcadj
Tiger Heli (US) | tigerh
 *Tiger Heli (bootleg set 1) | tigerhb1
 *Tiger Heli (bootleg set 2) | tigerhb2
 *Tiger Heli (Japan set 1) | tigerh2
 *Tiger Heli (Japan set 2) | tigerhj
Tokio / Scramble Formation | tokio
 *Tokio / Scramble Formation (bootleg) | tokiob
 *Tokio / Scramble Formation (US) | tokiou
Truxton / Tatsujin | truxton
Truxton II / Tatsujin Oh | truxton2
Turbo Force | turbofrc
Twin Bee Yahhoo! (ver JAA) | tbyahhoo
Twin Cobra (World) | twincobr
 *Kyukyoku Tiger (Japan) | ktiger
 *Twin Cobra (US) | twincobu
Twin Cobra II (Ver 2.1O 1995/11/30) | tcobra2
 *Kyukyoku Tiger II (Ver 2.1J 1995/11/30/) | ktiger2
 *Twin Cobra II (Ver 2.1A 1995/11/30) | tcobra2u
Twin Eagle - Revenge Joe's Brother | twineagl
Twin Eagle II - The Rescue Mission | twineag2
Twin Hawk (World) | twinhawk
 *Daisenpu (Japan) | daisenpu
 *Twin Hawk (US) | twinhwku
TwinBee | twinbee
Twinkle Star Sprites | twinspri
U.N. Defense Force: Earth Joker | earthjkr
Ultra X Weapons / Ultra Keibitai | ultrax
V-Five (Japan) | vfive
 *Grind Stormer | grindstm
 *Grind Stormer (older set) | grindsta
Vapor Trail - Hyper Offence Formation (World revision 1) | vaportra
 *Kuhga - Operation Code 'Vapor Trail' (Japan revision 3) | kuhga
 *Vapor Trail - Hyper Offence Formation (US) | vaportru
Varia Metal | vmetal
 *Varia Metal (New Ways Trading Co.) | vmetaln
Varth - Operation Thunderstorm (World 920714) | varth
 *Varth - Operation Thunderstorm (Japan 920714) | varthj
 *Varth - Operation Thunderstorm (US 920612) | varthu
 *Varth - Operation Thunderstorm (World 92612) | varthr1
Vasara | vasara
Vasara 2 (set 1) | vasara2
 *Vasara 2 (set 2) | vasara2a
Vimana | vimana
 *Vimana (Nova Apparate GMBH & Co) | vimanan
 *Vimana (old set) | vimana1
Viper Phase 1 (World, New Version) | viprp1
 *Viper Phase 1 (Germany) | viprp1ot
 *Viper Phase 1 (Hong Kong, Metrotainment license) | viprp1hk
 *Viper Phase 1 (Japan) | viprp1o
 *Viper Phase 1 (Japan, New Version) | viprp1j
 *Viper Phase 1 (Switzerland, New Version) | viprp1s
Vulgus (set 1) | vulgus
 *Vulgus (Japan?) | vulgusj
 *Vulgus (set 2) | vulgus2
War of Aero - Project MEIOU | wrofaero
Wonder Planet (Japan) | wndrplnt
Wyvern Wings | wyvernwg
Xevious (Namco) | xevious
 *Battles | battles
 *Super Xevious | sxevious
 *Xevios | xevios
 *Xevious (Atari set 1) | xeviousa
 *Xevious (Atari set 2) | xeviousb
 *Xevious (Atari set 3) | xeviousc
Xevious 3D/G (XV31/VER.A) | xevi3dg
XX Mission | xxmissio
Zaviga | zaviga
 *Zaviga (Japan) | zavigaj
Zero Hour | zerohour
Zing Zing Zip | zingzip
Zodiack | zodiack