Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue  (Read 3411 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« on: September 16, 2011, 02:23:21 pm »
Hey guys/gals,

I'm just wondering if anyone is using a nanao ms-2931  multi-sync (15,24,31) with groovymame, and if so, what did you set for your monitor_specs? I realize that I can use the cga and vga settings, but if possible, I'd love to be able to take advantage of all of the monitor's features.

Calamity, or anyone else for that fact, could you possibly help me come up with the proper monitor_spec settings for this particular monitor?

Cheers!  :cheers:
« Last Edit: September 16, 2011, 04:14:50 pm by Calamity »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6735
  • Last login:October 12, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2011, 04:13:02 pm »
You may try with the D9800 settings by now, it may more or less work.

If you wan't to get the perfect specs for your monitor you'll need its manual, hopefully they provide a full "timing chart" to get the values from there.

BTW that reminds me I still have to work out the specs for Banacek's monitor.

I'd like to find the time to write a brief document on how to make those monitor specs lines out of a monitor timing chart.

(I think I'll edit topic subjects about specific monitor models so they're more informative).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

pyrojoe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:November 16, 2013, 11:08:17 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2011, 04:29:44 pm »
I've actually been trying to set up an nanao ms2931 myself lately.

This is the only thing I've been able to find on the monitor.

http://wiki.arcadeotaku.com/images/5/55/MS-2931_Specs.png

Given that information, I've been using these lines:

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 6.85, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"
monitor_specs_1 = "23900.00-24900.00, 55-65, 2.91, 3.00, 4.44, 0.451, 0.164, 1.048, 0, 0, 480, 768"
monitor_specs_1 = "31000.00-32000.00, 55-65, 1.09, 3.83, 2.19, 0.318, 0.064, 1.048, 0, 0, 576, 768"

Ive been messing with the porch values, can't seem to get them right, but all the res's made by vmmaker are usable.

Anything you see out of place with those settings Calamity?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2011, 04:49:49 pm by pyrojoe »

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2011, 04:55:10 pm »
Thanks for the replies, guys!

Pyrojoe, I was just about to post that same picture for calamity to see if he could maybe help us figure out the details. Great job on the current spec info. At least that will make groovymame playable on the monitor. From what it looks like, without further info from nanao, the rest, like porch settings and such will be trial and error.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6735
  • Last login:October 12, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2011, 04:55:43 pm »
That's great pyrojoe!

I'd definitely would change this value to something like 4.7 for this line:

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"

You can use Arcade_OSD to dynamically find your porch values.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

pyrojoe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:November 16, 2013, 11:08:17 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2011, 05:06:03 pm »
Yeah, you know, I've been trying to use Arcade_OSD to modify the values, but it seems like if I change the porch values for say 384x224 in the 15khz range I mess up other resolutions in the 15k range.

Should I split the:

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"

Into something like

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-15750.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"
monitor_specs_1 = "15750.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"

and adjust the porch values separately?


Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6735
  • Last login:October 12, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2011, 05:31:38 pm »
Yeah if you find that the monitor behaves different for those ranges and it's consistently related to hfreq values then it's a good idea to have independent ranges with different settings.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2011, 07:35:17 pm »
Pyrojoe, using your monitor_specs, everything seems to work great, except my monitor reverts to 60hz interlaced at 640x480 when it's capable of progressive. Does it do the same for you?

pyrojoe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:November 16, 2013, 11:08:17 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2011, 08:03:32 pm »
Yeah, I've noticed that too.  As I mess with the settings vmmaker seems to switch between finding 640x480 as 15k interlaced and 31k progressive...

I don't really have an answer as to why, though. 

Quick question, how does Donpachi run for you? I'm getting a strange side bar.

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2011, 08:56:06 pm »
I'm still working on getting everything up and running, but I think we're gonna need to tweak your specs a bit. I was trying to run pacman and it was running in a tiny box in the middle of the screen, interlaced, with sound skipping galore. Maybe it's just my settings?

I need to get out of the house for a while. I'll try to check donpachi for you tomorrow morning.

In the meantime, I wonder if calamity has any suggestions for changes to the monitor_specs?


pyrojoe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:November 16, 2013, 11:08:17 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2011, 08:58:49 pm »
Oh yeah, I'm sure that we're going to have to play around with the settings.  I'm literally just starting this conversion from cabmame to groovymame on this cabinet.

If you find better settings, please post them... I'll do the same!

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2011, 09:17:11 pm »
Absolutely  :) As a side note, how exactly did you get those particular numbers for the specs? Maybe knowing how they were made will allow me to be of more use. I've been using computers for close to 25 years, have built countless ones, and fixed hundreds, but monitor timings are something completely new to me.

pyrojoe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
  • Last login:November 16, 2013, 11:08:17 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2011, 11:19:09 pm »
Well, I really just took settings from another configuration and applied the values that we know from the sheet.

Basically just Vertical Refresh and Horizontal refresh. (Bolded below)

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"
monitor_specs_1 = "23900.00-24900.00, 55-65, 2.91, 3.00, 4.44, 0.451, 0.164, 1.048, 0, 0, 480, 768"
monitor_specs_1 = "31000.00-32000.00, 55-65, 1.09, 3.83, 2.19, 0.318, 0.064, 1.048, 0, 0, 576, 768"

The spec sheet gives a range for the Hor. refresh on each setting (15.75k + or - 300hz, 24.4k +- 500hz 31.5k +- 500hz). That's how we have the first bolded item.

The sheet also gives Vert. Refresh for all settings as 60Hz +- 5hz. That's the second bolded item.

That's really all the info we have.

The next 3 are Horizontal geometry settings, and I've been fooling around with them, but haven't tracked down a great setting yet.

After that, I'm not sure of... need to read up some more. I think the last 2 values are what's going to fix our interlace problems tho.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2011, 11:23:35 pm by pyrojoe »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6735
  • Last login:October 12, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2011, 03:20:39 am »
Make sure to use the right subindex for each of the lines:

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448"
monitor_specs_1 = "23900.00-24900.00, 55-65, 2.91, 3.00, 4.44, 0.451, 0.164, 1.048, 0, 0, 480, 768"
monitor_specs_2 = "31000.00-32000.00, 55-65, 1.09, 3.83, 2.19, 0.318, 0.064, 1.048, 0, 0, 576, 768"

Also, I'm assuming you're using the same lines in mame.ini, like this:

monitor_specs_0   15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.91, 4.70, 6.85, 0.190, 0.191, 1.018, 0, 0, 288, 448
monitor_specs_1   23900.00-24900.00, 55-65, 2.91, 3.00, 4.44, 0.451, 0.164, 1.048, 0, 0, 480, 768
monitor_specs_2   31000.00-32000.00, 55-65, 1.09, 3.83, 2.19, 0.318, 0.064, 1.048, 0, 0, 576, 768


Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2011, 03:34:08 am »
So....I figured out the specs from looking at pics in the manual and they work flawlessly!

monitor_specs_0 = "15450.00-16050.00, 55-65, 3.19, 4.75, 6.45, 0.826, 0.191, 1.462, 0, 0, 288, 448"

monitor_specs_1 = "23900.00-24900.00, 55-65, 2.87, 3.0, 4.44, 0.451, 0.164, 1.148, 0, 0, 480, 768"

monitor_specs_2 = "31000.00-32000.00, 55-65, 0.33, 3.58, 1.75, 0.316, 0.063, 1.137, 0, 0, 576, 768"

Enjoy, and as Calamity said, don't forget to put it in your mame.ini too.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6735
  • Last login:October 12, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2011, 04:48:19 pm »
Glad to see you figured that out!

If you feel those settings are good enough we could add them to GroovyMAME as one of the preset monitors.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

thefooz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Last login:January 19, 2012, 08:10:33 pm
Re: Nanao ms-2931 - Monitor_Specs issue
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2011, 08:58:44 pm »
The last two sets of numbers for each of the three specs could probably be tweaked a bit to make them even better, but so far, the timings and geometry are flawless.