Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and skin it  (Read 4706 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

)p(

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:March 27, 2009, 03:38:15 am
  • We are the Galaxians...
    • Emulaxian:cabinet and frontend
Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and skin it
« on: June 30, 2002, 01:27:08 am »
Emulaxian/Fe-3darcade 0.65: fps 3darcade and skin it!



Another big release. This release adds the two most requested features to the fe. An fps style 3darcade and the ability to skin every visible object of the fe anyway you want!


0.65:
-Fps style 3d arcade! Walk around in rooms filled with 3d models.
-Grab them and place them anywhere in the room to create your onw layouts!  
-Skin it! All visible objects have all there parameters exposed. file to use, position, size, rotation, blend etc. You get total control to create a theme that fits your cabinet!
-Changed the key remapping to use keycodes, now all special keys can be used.
-Each gamelist can now have its own arcade environment.
-You can define additional rules which 3d model to show when no model was matched the normal way. For example use the same model for all horizontal games, all driving games etc. when no specific model was found.
-Define which model to use when none is found...so you can get rid of my Emulaxian cab ;-)
-Skinnable startup and exit screens using a bitmap, flash or quickttime movies
-Helpscreens can now show bitmaps based on game name. For example to show the cp layout for that game.
-Internally translate long file names into short file names before launching a game for emulators that don't like long names.
-Changed the cfg files layout to be more hierarchical. I hope this will make setting up the fe a bit more straight forward.
-Hide cursor bug finally fixed.


screenshots of the fps arcade:
http://www.i-modernist.com/fe3darcade.jpg
and in fullscreen arcade mode:
http://www.i-modernist.com/fe3darcade2.jpg

websites:
http://3darcade.mameworld.net
http://www.i-modernist.com/emulaxian


:)
Peter
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4941
  • Last login:June 24, 2019, 07:41:19 pm
Re: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and ski
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2002, 10:51:26 am »
LOOKING GREAT!

I can't wait to get home and try it!

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

)p(

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:March 27, 2009, 03:38:15 am
  • We are the Galaxians...
    • Emulaxian:cabinet and frontend
Re: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and ski
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2002, 11:02:43 am »
Quote
LOOKING GREAT!

I can't wait to get home and try it!



:)
As you can see from the pic above..I solved the artifacts showing up in the models I mentioned in a email to you...it was not the exporting with a to low geometry accuracy that was the problem but the front clipping plane of the camera that got the renderer confused...so I did not have to replace the models on the site yet  :D In time I will do it...because now you get so close to the cabs that the low jpeg quality of the textures I set on exporting them really shows when you get real close...

Peter
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4941
  • Last login:June 24, 2019, 07:41:19 pm
Re: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and ski
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2002, 11:17:01 am »
btw, I'm trying to confirm this now.  I believe that most hardware can only take textures of specific sizes 64x64, 128x128, 512x512 ect... but most engines will convert them when loading (only happens once, so it's not a huge speed issue, and you wouldn't notice it at all once loaded).

Anyway, since I'm writing directly to opengl, I can only load them if they width/height is the same.  I'm trying to find out if I'm right or not.  But if you are going to redo the images, it might be worth converting them.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

)p(

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:March 27, 2009, 03:38:15 am
  • We are the Galaxians...
    • Emulaxian:cabinet and frontend
Re: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and ski
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2002, 11:58:37 am »
Quote
btw, I'm trying to confirm this now.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17422
  • Last login:Today at 01:54:27 am
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and ski
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2002, 11:31:18 pm »
lilwolf is right on that... all modern cards break up the textures into manageable bits.  Now older cards might have a prob with large textures but considering 3darcade's system requirements I wouldn't worry about them.  
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4941
  • Last login:June 24, 2019, 07:41:19 pm
Re: Emulaxian/Fe3darcade 0.65: fps3darcade and ski
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2002, 11:53:51 am »
sorry that I made your announcement a debate on textures..

btw, the pngTextureLoader I'm using is suppost to load off size textures and scale them before uploading... Most systems do something similar to this since the hardware doesn't do a good job on it.

but the time only on uploading and is very very quick.  I don't think I would see a difference unless I loaded all the screenshots at once.... Then the difference might be clockable.

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »