Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild  (Read 5602 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild
« on: December 12, 2010, 12:48:42 am »
GroovyMame ebuild now includes switchres built in

Contains:
groovymame ebuild that can resolution switch to arcade monitor resolutions using xrandr internally to mame (no longer need switchres program/wrapper)
advancemenu ebuild with fixes
gens ebuild with 64 bit support
mess ebuild with hiscore/nonag/cabmame patches

Also available is an SDL ebuild that allows resolution switching for changeres to work in midgame.

http://mario.groovy.org/GroovyArcade/Ebuild/
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 08:17:17 am by bitbytebit »
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: Gentoo ebuilds of mame/mess 0140u2 w/hiscore-galaxian-redraw patches
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2010, 01:40:32 pm »
Updated the Mame/Mess Gentoo ebuild to contain the newest patches with all the cabmame hacks included now (except soundsync).  You may want to turn changeres off if wanting stretching from the games original resolution.
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

spoot

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 688
  • Last login:June 15, 2015, 10:36:18 am
  • Destroyer of electronics
Re: Gentoo ebuilds of mame/mess 0140u2 w/cabmame and hiscore/nonag patches
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2010, 05:01:53 pm »
Sweet, thanks.

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: Gentoo ebuilds of mame/mess 0140u2 w/cabmame and hiscore/nonag patches
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2011, 02:30:48 am »
Added mame 141 ebuild, mess still at 140u2.
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: Gentoo ebuilds of mame/mess 0141 w/cabmame and hiscore/nonag patches
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2011, 11:37:56 pm »
Version 0141 of Mess now included.  Added Mame/Mess patch to allow multithreaded waitvsync support too.

Also now if you want to set nonag you must explicitly set that in the config/command line (MKChamp options/patch) so that these builds conform with Mame rules of not disabling those screens by default. That way if a game doesn't work you'll not complain to mame developers if it's known to be broken already.  Check -showusage output to find the command line settings/config file settings to turn off the nag screens if you really want to do so.
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: Gentoo ebuilds of mame/mess 0141 w/cabmame and hiscore patches
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2011, 05:36:29 pm »
New ebuild of mame/mess with mame 0141u1 and improved patches mame defaults for the best mame settings.
http://mario.groovy.org/GroovyArcade/Ebuild/
games-emulation_0141u1.tbz
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 05:23:48 pm by bitbytebit »
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: Gentoo ebuilds of mame/mess 0141 w/cabmame and hiscore patches
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2011, 03:24:43 am »
Updated with a patch to fix 0141u1 discrete audio in mario/dkongjr/asteroids/galaxian
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
The ebuild has been updated to Mame 0141u3

Also it is now named GroovyMame and has the resolution/modeline generation built in and the functionality of switchres, see GroovyMame site for more info...

http://mame.groovy.org/
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

General_Faliure

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
  • Last login:April 03, 2019, 06:57:29 am
    • My Arcade Cab
Looks great.

I have a cabinet running Lubuntu 10.10 + Wahcade and mame, mess and some more.
I will clean out a test pc and give this a try.

Greetz, Ger.
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core2 duo8400 @3.6 Ghz, 4Gb of mem, Geforce 9500.
Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE, Mame, Mess, Daphne FS-Uae, Mednafen and some more.
Mah!cade

Quinny

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:June 08, 2014, 07:52:07 am
Please let us know how you go General_Failure.


General_Faliure

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
  • Last login:April 03, 2019, 06:57:29 am
    • My Arcade Cab
I also have the grub problem.
see my reply in the Groovy live cd topic.

Greetz, Ger.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2011, 10:21:08 am by General_Faliure »
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core2 duo8400 @3.6 Ghz, 4Gb of mem, Geforce 9500.
Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE, Mame, Mess, Daphne FS-Uae, Mednafen and some more.
Mah!cade

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
I also have the grub problem.
I installed Opensuse on the second hard drive and Opensuse added groovymame to the grub menu, so i could give it a test run.
I could startup Wahcade and play a game, so far it works, i didn't have much time to play around with it.
It is a bit slow at starting up tough.
The hardware of the test system: athlon 64 3000, 1 gigabyte ram, ati 9600.
My cab runs on similar hardware, but starts up a lot faster.
I would like to know how to add more games, and maybe some more emulators, (like Daphne).
Is there also a file manager? mc didn't work.

Greetz, Ger.

If you have network access to it, then it shows up as a windows share with a ROMS folder which has the roms directory in it for mame games.  Also if you go to the http://ip.address of it there's a web interface.

I do need a local filemanager and mc might be a good choice, is that easy to use (I always use command lines or X Windows ones, which are heavy).  Also one way to admin the box is to change the Window manager to FVWM temporarily and from there do command line stuff.  I need to look into a file manager to standardize the rom setup.  Also the setup of the roms directory to be more organized.

Thanks for the feedback, I plan on attacking this more here pretty soon to fully become much easier to use and figure out the grub setup/install.  Basically the surface polishing and the general ease of use stuff, the internal technical stuff should all mostly be laid out I hope.

I'm not sure why bootup is slower, do you see any specific parts happening compared to ubuntu or possibly places where it pauses for awhile?  I could see that possibly since we are basically loading the graphics at boot and that has to access the firmwares for the ati cards, to get 15khz output soon as possible that way, might be one slower thing. 
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

General_Faliure

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
  • Last login:April 03, 2019, 06:57:29 am
    • My Arcade Cab
On my cab i use a 19" tft monitor, and the test system is connected to a 19" crt monitor, so i don't use the 15 khz output.
The cabinet also has a 250 gig hd, the test system a 80 gig and a 40 gig drive, the bigger one is possibly a bit faster.
I will look into it if i have the time.

Greetz, Ger.
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core2 duo8400 @3.6 Ghz, 4Gb of mem, Geforce 9500.
Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE, Mame, Mess, Daphne FS-Uae, Mednafen and some more.
Mah!cade

General_Faliure

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 85
  • Last login:April 03, 2019, 06:57:29 am
    • My Arcade Cab
Hello.

I managed to connect to groovyarcade from another system using gnome commander, and copy some games.
I am not able to login at the web frontend, i don't know what name and password to use.
Also, the mame games do not work in full screen.

Greetz, Ger.
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core2 duo8400 @3.6 Ghz, 4Gb of mem, Geforce 9500.
Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE, Mame, Mess, Daphne FS-Uae, Mednafen and some more.
Mah!cade

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Hello.

I managed to connect to groovyarcade from another system using gnome commander, and copy some games.
I am not able to login at the web frontend, i don't know what name and password to use.
Also, the mame games do not work in full screen.

Greetz, Ger.
The login is admin and default password is arcade, unless you change the password in the menu interface.

If it's not an arcade monitor then you'll need to setup different options in the mame.ini for unevenstretch keepaspect most likely, I've been also wanting to improve the support for normal LCD monitors but right now that's not automated and needs some work setting up mame.ini a bit different.  So that's a 'next step', but for now possibly just adding those options or setting them to 1 in mame.ini will work.  Also another possible issue is that if your not setting up the video to use 'Multi' or 'VGA' in the setup menu, then it won't setup mame/X/switchres to be able to setup the modelines that will work.

Also what kind of video card are you using, if it's ATI then we've got all modelines covered, but if not then you'll most likely need to use the unevenstretch/keepaspect and possibly always throttle.  Unfortunately not all video cards work as well as the ATI ones *yet*, another future plan but also may be limited by if the drivers in the kernel for others can do vsync and complete xrandr modeline setup.
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild
« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2011, 08:19:31 am »
Have updated the GroovyMame ebuild to version 0142 patch version 012, also now have the SDL ebuild to allow changeres support to work in Linux.  The ebuild now pulls straight from the groovymame git repository, so as groovymame changes just re-running emerge for it will update to the newest changes. (specific to each major version release like groovymame0142 is the git repository name for this version).
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2011, 06:12:18 pm »
I've updated the Ebuild to groovymame 0143 now, Linux ISO coming shortly with that and Kernel 3.0.0 plus some improvements for wireless networking.
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

dmarcum99

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 238
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 01:49:55 pm
Re: GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2011, 04:01:32 am »
Since I'm not able to boot the 1.563 live CD, I thought I would attempt to update groovymame through emerge.  I'm running a HD install from the v1.560 (64 bit)iso and when I type:

emerge groovymame

it appears to be updating from the groovymame0.142 git repository.  Am I doing something wrong for it to keep updating to 0.142 and not 0.143?  While I'm at it, since I haven't figured out why the new iso won't boot, can I get all the new items from the new iso to update\install from the command prompt?  If so, what do I need to type in order to get the new/updated stuff?

bitbytebit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 896
  • Last login:May 24, 2014, 05:03:31 am
    • The Groovy Organization
Re: GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2011, 11:30:56 pm »
Since I'm not able to boot the 1.563 live CD, I thought I would attempt to update groovymame through emerge.  I'm running a HD install from the v1.560 (64 bit)iso and when I type:

emerge groovymame

it appears to be updating from the groovymame0.142 git repository.  Am I doing something wrong for it to keep updating to 0.142 and not 0.143?  While I'm at it, since I haven't figured out why the new iso won't boot, can I get all the new items from the new iso to update\install from the command prompt?  If so, what do I need to type in order to get the new/updated stuff?

The ebuild for the 0.142 version is basically the same as 0.142 except it references the git repository for groovymame143, so very little to change.  The best way to do it though is downloading the Ebuild archive and make sure it is setup under the /usr/local/overlays/ directory properly as /usr/local/overlays/games-emulation/groovymame/ .  Then after that, the emerge command will update groovymame to the newest ebuild version 0143. 

That's really the only important thing that changed in the ISO, so doing that emerge with the newer ebuild should make it just as good.

It seems like they broke your motherboard cdrom support I am guessing, or something like the disk io system it uses.  Still not 100% sure if it has to do with the 3.0.0 kernel itself (the numbering thing confusing some parts of the system) or where it would have been broken between 2.6.28 and the current version.  Any interesting error messages from the 3.0.0 kernel would be good, but I didn't see anything that gave any clues in the logs.  Have been slow at looking at it a lot, but hopefully will figure it out sooner or later, but for now the ebuild should do fine.
SwitchRes / GroovyMame - http://arcade.groovy.org
Modeline Generator and Mame Wrapper for Windows or Linux
LiveCD of Groovy Arcade Linux for Arcade Monitors
GroovyMame - generate arcade resolutions like advancemame
--
The Groovy Organization

dmarcum99

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 238
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 01:49:55 pm
Re: GroovyMame Gentoo Ebuild
« Reply #19 on: August 09, 2011, 05:54:14 am »
downloading the ebuild file and placing it in the directory you suggested worked like a champ!  Much thanks!!!!   :cheers: