Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)  (Read 9074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #40 on: September 11, 2010, 09:17:51 am »

And please get a avitar, your naked!  :laugh2:


happy now?  mwahahahaha  :lol Capt. Quark from the Ratchet and Clank franchise - he's such a  :censored:, lol

Quote
The reason is MaLa expects a real exe to be there when it tried to creat a mame.ini (if missing) or a mame.xml if missing

ok, that's cool

I can write whatever batch commands we need, but if I read all this correctly, it's a single command called from the hi folder which by design should be subordinate to the MAME folder and you know where that is.

hitotext -ra %rom% > %rom%.txt

but it may need to be wrapped in a BAT file to take advantage of the redirection from stdout to the .txt file



« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 09:20:23 am by kernelpanic »

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #41 on: September 11, 2010, 09:31:44 am »
ok, so this uses a mala/hi folder - that's cool. will take some minor tweaks to the BAT file

Works great though  :cheers:  :applaud: :applaud:

tabbing/formatting is going to be a real bear - look at this wrally file

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2010, 09:40:09 am »
I modified the prelim guide posted higher up in this thread

1) removed references to MAME.BAT and changes to the MaLa config for that

2) added a step to create a hi folder subordinate to MaLa

3) I'm not sure where you want the BAT file to be, but for now, I placed it in the MaLa/hi folder


In the end, it looks like you could just create the BAT file on the fly since you know where MAME/hi is and you know where MaLa/hi is. That would remove any requirement for users to even write the BAT file and avoid confusion on PATHS etc.

Could even just look for MAME/hi when MaLa is started for the first time (when the .ini file is missing) and then make sure that MaLa/hi is created/exists

This could be real bulletproof
« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 09:45:44 am by kernelpanic »

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #43 on: September 11, 2010, 10:09:01 am »
OK.   ;D

It's bedtime in Oz (Australia)

I will work on this Project more tomorrow  :cheers:

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #44 on: September 11, 2010, 10:56:12 pm »
OK.   ;D

It's bedtime in Oz (Australia)

I will work on this Project more tomorrow  :cheers:

Well I will fix bug(s) in the 'Most Played Games' section first  ;)

I think I squashed them  ???
« Last Edit: September 14, 2010, 07:15:42 am by loadman »

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #45 on: September 14, 2010, 06:41:01 am »
In the end, it looks like you could just create the BAT file on the fly since you know where MAME/hi is and you know where MaLa/hi is. That would remove any requirement for users to even write the BAT file and avoid confusion on PATHS etc.

Could even just look for MAME/hi when MaLa is started for the first time (when the .ini file is missing) and then make sure that MaLa/hi is created/exists

This could be real bulletproof

True, How about we start by MaLa calling the bat file on game quit for now until we iron any bugs out.

Try this version which is hard coded to run hi.bat on game quit (if in the subfolder hi)


--stale link removed--
« Last Edit: September 15, 2010, 07:36:22 am by loadman »

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #46 on: September 14, 2010, 10:28:37 am »

Try this version which is hard coded to run hi.bat on game quit (if in the subfolder hi)



Ok, it calls the hi.bat file but something is missing. I get a file name ".txt" - are you passing the %ROM% value as a parameter to hi.bat?

« Last Edit: September 15, 2010, 07:35:58 am by loadman »

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #47 on: September 14, 2010, 06:45:56 pm »
d'oh!

Nope  ;D

I will fix

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #48 on: September 14, 2010, 06:47:32 pm »
 ::)  

I'm glad to know I'm not the only that programs like that, lol

;D

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #49 on: September 15, 2010, 07:35:33 am »
Try This

STALE LINK
« Last Edit: September 17, 2010, 06:38:38 am by loadman »

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #50 on: September 15, 2010, 08:13:59 am »
Try This


so far so good - I'll test it more in the coming hours.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2010, 07:32:51 am by kernelpanic »

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #51 on: September 17, 2010, 09:51:16 pm »
Try This


so far so good - I'll test it more in the coming hours.

My plan is to leave it in MaLa like that for a month or so.

Then based on the feedback of yourself (and others if they have tested it) mod MaLa's way it handles 'After Game Quit' actions. Config?  Bat File or direct commands? etc

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #52 on: September 17, 2010, 10:15:57 pm »
Try This


so far so good - I'll test it more in the coming hours.

My plan is to leave it in MaLa like that for a month or so.

Then based on the feedback of yourself (and others if they have tested it) mod MaLa's way it handles 'After Game Quit' actions. Config?  Bat File or direct commands? etc

well, this is working fine as is - I see no reason to spend further time on it  :cheers:

empardopo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
    • My personal forum
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #53 on: November 30, 2010, 05:56:41 am »
Then, what must i do to show my games's record in MALA? :dunno

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #54 on: November 30, 2010, 07:49:54 pm »

empardopo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
    • My personal forum
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #55 on: December 03, 2010, 05:44:18 pm »
Thanks loadman.

I'll take a look!

empardopo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
    • My personal forum
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #56 on: December 03, 2010, 06:12:07 pm »
Loadman,

I've downloaded hitotext.exe and I get an error 0xc0000135. I run hitotext.ext -ra wrally > wrally.txt and i get the same error.

Is this normal?

Thanks

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #57 on: December 03, 2010, 06:25:25 pm »
you might be better off asking about that over in the software forum

Loadman,

I've downloaded hitotext.exe and I get an error 0xc0000135. I run hitotext.ext -ra wrally > wrally.txt and i get the same error.

Is this normal?

Thanks

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4300
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #58 on: December 03, 2010, 06:53:20 pm »
you might be better off asking about that over in the software forum

Loadman,

I've downloaded hitotext.exe and I get an error 0xc0000135. I run hitotext.ext -ra wrally > wrally.txt and i get the same error.

Is this normal?

Thanks

Indeed. There is a thread here:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=83614.0

empardopo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
    • My personal forum
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #59 on: December 12, 2010, 03:06:25 pm »
I've read various post and it doesn't work.
Loadman, have you tried?

kernelpanic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #60 on: December 12, 2010, 04:01:00 pm »
I've read various post and it doesn't work.
Loadman, have you tried?

Did you compile the custom version of MAME that has the hiscore and no nag hacks?

empardopo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 521
    • My personal forum
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #61 on: December 12, 2010, 06:02:42 pm »
I've used a compiled version! That version downloaded from internet.

nintendoid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
    • Nintendoid
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #62 on: January 09, 2011, 09:24:30 am »
I've used a compiled version! That version downloaded from internet.

havent a clue how to do this :(

is there a compiled 0.141 version yet??

-
also: on reading i saw this hi/ project.... I just need a simple/primative system. I created a folder called hi and then a file called dkong3.txt and typed a score... this now display in the info panel (alt) on mala is there a g_?*?*? command to load this on the main screen??
« Last Edit: January 09, 2011, 09:26:37 am by nintendoid »

Eddie_Brock

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 147
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #63 on: January 18, 2011, 04:36:46 pm »
I've been lurking watching this develop, and I'd like to chime in that I think it's a great idea.

It would be cool to have a 'pinball-like marquee' displaying the current highscores in the games. While I have little to contribute, you've got my endorsment!  :applaud:

arquillos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #64 on: August 15, 2013, 09:59:14 am »
Thank you VERY Much loadman, kernelpanic and Fyrecrypts!
   its working nicely with latest Mala version (MaLa 1.745) and Shmupmame 4.2 (best Mame version ever ;)).
   There is still some games without HiToText support (Q*bert, Quix, RallyX...) but Im very happy with the working ones!

   Im thinking in some formatting program (like sed or awk for windows) to include in the "bat" file and obtain a better looking output (first target: aligned columns)


Thank you very much!

arquillos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #65 on: January 15, 2015, 03:01:49 pm »
Hi everone!
   Ive been testing the Hi2Text program (at last) and I have a question about how M.A.L.A. proccess the text input from hiscores.
The Hi2Text output format is just a <string>"|"<string> sequence but I really dont understand how M.A.L.A reads this file and generates its output.
Some Hiscores lines get center aligned, others seem to be left aligned, etc.

   I tried pre-formatting the HiScore output before M.A.L.A reads the file but Ive got no success.

   Is there any formatting options or configuration to make the M.A.L.A. Hiscore output prettier?


Thank you in advance!

Kurraak

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #66 on: April 05, 2015, 03:34:23 am »
Just wanted to throw in a thanks to you guys too.  Between this thread and a few others I figured out my issues with getting Hitotext to work the way I wanted in Mala via a batch file that does a few other things.
I'll show ya the batch file I use to launch the different Mame Versions and do the hitotext stuff.
Also, just for reference (I know it was mentioned earlier, but here it is again) the directory that the texts are read from should be in "<WHATEVER YOUR MALA FOLDER IS CALLED>\hi".
I must have skimmed over that like 3 or 4 times trying to find out where it was before I actually read it.
Anyway, here's my batch file, maybe someone will find it useful.

===================================================================
if "%2" == "C:\Emulator\mameinst\roms\MAME145" goto mame145
if "%2" == "C:\Emulator\mameinst\roms\MAME156" goto mame156
if "%2" == "C:\Emulator\mameinst\roms\MAME143" goto mame143
if "%2" == "C:\Emulator\mameinst\roms\MAME140" goto mame140
if "%2" == "C:\Emulator\mameinst\roms\MAME146" goto mame146

mame.exe %1
del C:\Emulator\MaLa174\MaLa174\hi\%1.txt
cd\Emulator\mameinst\hi
HiToText.exe -r C:\Emulator\mameinst\hi\%1.hi >> C:\Emulator\MaLa174\MaLa174\hi\%1.txt
exit


:mame146
cd\Emulator\altmame\Mame146
mame.exe %1
del C:\Emulator\MaLa174\MaLa174\hi\%1.txt
cd\Emulator\mameinst\hi
HiToText.exe -r C:\Emulator\mameinst\hi\%1.hi >> C:\Emulator\MaLa174\MaLa174\hi\%1.txt
exit

:mame145
cd\Emulator\altmame\Mame145
mame.exe %1
exit

:mame156
cd\Emulator\altmame\Mame156
mame.exe %1
del C:\Emulator\MaLa174\MaLa174\hi\%1.txt
cd\Emulator\mameinst\hi
HiToText.exe -r C:\Emulator\mameinst\hi\%1.hi >> C:\Emulator\MaLa174\MaLa174\hi\%1.txt
exit

:mame143
cd\Emulator\altmame\Mame143
mame.exe %1
exit

:mame140
cd\Emulator\altmame\Mame140
mame.exe %1
exit
=====================================================================

Don't forget to set up the %1 and %2 stuff in Mame tab in Mala config.  I also edited the mame.ini for each version of mame I use to write the High Scores to the same directory.

If someone else posted the same kind of thing, I'm not trying to take credit for anyone else's ideas, I'm just trying to put a bunch of the info in one place because I had to do alot of looking/modifying to get all the info put together and working for myself. 

I've got my cab working about 99% the way I want thanks to this board.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2015, 03:43:43 am by Kurraak »

arquillos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: Info Window for Hi Score (HiToText)
« Reply #67 on: September 24, 2018, 01:53:29 pm »
Hi!
Ive been following the development of the "hi2txt.exe", and Id like to ask for a new MALA version that could interpret some special characters in the hi-score text files, like the spaces " " and the tabs "\n".

The actual MALA beta version only interpret the "|" character for a fixed number of spaces (three spaces)...It wouldnt be hard to implement this new requirement so MALA would just read the hi-score file and write it to the screen.

Any user could add a post-processing command line (per example gwak, seds and the likes) to format the hi-score text file giving everyone the freedom to print it in any required way.

Would it be done in a new version?  :dunno  :dunno


And one more question...I dont know if I am using it right...this is the screen Ive got:



What are those "xxxxxxxx" in the image? Is there a way to avoid them?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2018, 01:40:32 pm by arquillos »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31