Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Is this all I need?  (Read 1961 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Chuck S.

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Is this all I need?
« on: June 23, 2002, 07:09:48 pm »
Here's the product:

http://www.xl-shop.com/game/dreamcast/rgbcable.html

I haven't looked at how my arcade monitor hooks up to my CPS2 system but the end connector on this product is something I'm not familiar with at all.  Anyway, does anybody know if this will convert the a/v from the DC to the arcade monitor?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

tom61

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 495
  • Last login:September 18, 2017, 12:46:56 am
Re: Is this all I need?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2002, 10:02:21 pm »
I don't recomend getting a Scart cable, some have the proper signals tapped, some don't(My Nyko one had the wrong sync tapped for an arcade monitor).  I'd recommend getting a VGA Box instead and modifying it instead.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

toilet

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 104
  • Last login:November 11, 2005, 11:53:45 am
    • Briefcase Emulator
Re: Is this all I need?
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2002, 05:04:52 am »
Check out:

http://www.levelsix.com/dreamcastaccessories_vga.shtml

A friend of mine has the first one and it works fine, though sometimes the boot cd he uses to play imports doesn't like it.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Chuck S.

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Is this all I need?
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2002, 10:05:25 am »
Derek,

Cool to see you on this forum.

Do I need to purchase anything else along with the DC VGA Box?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

toilet

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 104
  • Last login:November 11, 2005, 11:53:45 am
    • Briefcase Emulator
Re: Is this all I need?
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2002, 11:00:14 am »
You know I had a feeling it was you. So you're putting a DC in the cab? Quality.

I know a couple people here have done it, as far as materials go though I don't know. Actually on the front page a couple posts down http://www.arcadecontrols.org/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=main;action=display;num=1024666874 there's a discussion going on about it.

Also you may or may not have seen the DC2JAMMA page at http://www.mameworld.net/pc2jamma/arc_dc4.html which uses the SCART cable you posted before.

Excellent job last weekend BTW, you really go out of your way hosting these things while asking nothing in return. Thanks.

Keep me updated.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Chuck S.

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Is this all I need?
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2002, 09:01:40 pm »
Tom, thanks for the advice.

Derek, this DC to Jamma process looks like a little more work than I expected.  I'll definitely look into it further after I move out of my house.

The event ran pretty smoothly until MvC2 came along.  We accidently screwed up the brackets and didn't know until the semi-finals and then had to wing it from there.  Not only that but there were a few guys from NH who needed to get to North Station by 11:00 PM for their train but had to wait for some of the competitors to return from their 30+ minute Wendy's break.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »