Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Magnets  (Read 1249 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Flake

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Last login:October 24, 2019, 11:33:11 am
  • I am Evil Homer....I am Evil Homer....
Magnets
« on: May 27, 2010, 02:42:09 pm »
The magnet in my SWT that catches the ball in the cannon area doesn't seem to be working well.  It will catch the ball (usually) but 9 out of 10 times now it will lose the ball before it pulls back far enough to drop it in the outer lane.  This seems to be a new development of sorts as I've had the machine about 8-9 months and this has never been a problem (well it has done this very sporadically in the past but now its getting out of hand).  The question is do magnets lose their magnetism?  Its one of those coil magnets that is basically a piece of metal with coiled wire wrapped around it.

I'm about ready to spend $57 on a new magnet assembly and thought maybe I should double check before I go assuming the magnet is faulty.

The magnet coil is this one. http://www.marcospecialties.com/product.asp?ic=090%2D5042%2D01

The assembly also includes this threaded metal plug as well.  http://www.marcospecialties.com/product.asp?ic=530%2D5320%2D01A

Flake

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Last login:October 24, 2019, 11:33:11 am
  • I am Evil Homer....I am Evil Homer....
Re: Magnets
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2010, 05:00:39 pm »
When you say check the connections I'm assuming that means with a multimeter? 

That sucks because I don't have one and don't know how to use one.  Most of the issues I've had (and been able to fix) with my machines has been mechanical in nature. 

Anyway, thanks for the help.  You saved me $57.....or at least reapportioned the funds to their proper usage.

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10273
  • Last login:July 06, 2020, 03:56:11 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: Magnets
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2010, 05:03:15 pm »
Use that $57 and buy a multimeter... and a 12-pack

Flake

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Last login:October 24, 2019, 11:33:11 am
  • I am Evil Homer....I am Evil Homer....
Re: Magnets
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2010, 05:12:09 pm »
Actually just to clear up something.  How can the magnet not be getting enough voltage if it has enough power to pick up the ball?  I would think that is what would require the most voltage.  Wouldnt holding on to it for one second while it pulls back over the outer lane be the lesser of the two tasks?

At first I thought maybe the ball was catching on the edge of the ramp or something and getting knocked off but after watching it happen over and over again, I'm not convinced thats thats the problem.  One other note, the ball is loaded via the cannon from both directions.  You can shoot the ramp from the flippers but you can also load the VUK at the top of the playfield which feeds the cannon from the other direction.  Its worth noting that usually the feed from the VUK does in fact make it to the outer lane, at least more often than when fed from the flippers.  One final note, the magnet itself is loose, meaning I can twist it around and around.  Could it be that when it begins to pull back the magnet vibrates or moves ever so slightly causing the ball to kick loose?

LLUncoolJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
  • Last login:April 23, 2015, 03:08:00 pm
  • This snowflake tastes like fish sticks!
Re: Magnets
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2010, 05:24:58 pm »
yeah dumbass
You probably remember me from such films as `The Revenge of Abe Lincoln' and `The Wackiest Covered Wagon in the West'

Gameroom pics at http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=89006.40

Flake

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Last login:October 24, 2019, 11:33:11 am
  • I am Evil Homer....I am Evil Homer....
Re: Magnets
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2010, 05:34:59 pm »
Honestly there is not much room for the magnet to move and the motion when the cannon moves back isn't very jerky or rough.  Seems to me that shouldn't be much of an issue but I'll check it out.

Flake

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1019
  • Last login:October 24, 2019, 11:33:11 am
  • I am Evil Homer....I am Evil Homer....
Re: Magnets
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2010, 09:02:35 am »
Ok well last night I looked under the hood for any loose connections and noted there were a couple 2 pin molex connections that weren't well connected.  Outside of that I did nothing and everything seems to be working again.  Not only that but the cannon led lights seem to work now (one of them anyway).  These never lit up before.  I did nothing with th loose magnet.  I can't get the bolt around the threaded plug to budge for nothing.  My only option it would seem is to soder it to cannon.

Anyway, happy for now thanks for the help.