Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?  (Read 10204 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« on: August 09, 2008, 08:03:45 am »
I see that Mala has command line support for Magic Engine emulator. I though magic engine uses the CD Rom. How can you create game lists and lauch .Isos?
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 10:05:09 am by bent98 »

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Magic Engine and lauching Images
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2008, 11:20:45 am »
The TurboGrafx/PC Engine also played roms.  I use Mala to launch Magic Engine to play about 94 roms with a PCE extension.  I assume you could have Daemon Tools mount an iso if you wanted to play the CDs, though I haven't tried it with Magic Engine. 

EDIT:

Just googled "magic engine" and "daemon" and found where people were successful. Here is one example (scroll down):

http://total-emu.org/forum/showthread.php?t=519

If you can get it to work manually, we'll be able to help you integrate it into Mala.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2008, 11:26:31 am by SGT »

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Magic Engine and lauching Images
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 11:17:02 pm »
http://www.gameex.info/forums/index.php?showtopic=3&st=40&start=40

I have it working with both ISO and pce files. How can I set this up so it loads and unloads iso in d-tools like in this gamex thread? This can come in handy with Sega Saturn, 3D0, and Dream cast having the ability to lauch all those games from a list based off .cue file.

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2008, 11:06:22 am »
You need to create a batch file that will be the executable.  Mala will pass the rom name to the batch file.  If the batch file has an ISO extension (or whatever extenstion your images are), then it will execute a command such as:

Code: [Select]
"C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools\daemon.exe" -mount 0, %1
%1 is a variable that will be equal to the rom name and rom path that Mala passes to the batch file

The batch file needs to have an IF statement that will bypass the daemon loading of the image if the rom has a PCE extension.

After this of course the batch file will need to execute the emulator with something like this if its a PCE rom:

Code: [Select]
C:
cd \emulators\MagicEngine
pce.exe %1


The command will be slightly different if the rom is an ISO.  Also I think you also have to edit the PCE.ini file to point to the virtual drive that D-tools created.

I've done all this before with PC type games that require ISOs, but its been a while.  If you can't get it, I should be able to put something together in the next day or so.


swindus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 391
  • Last login:July 28, 2021, 05:52:50 am
    • MaLa - M.A.M.E. Launcher
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2008, 11:21:34 am »
You can also use the pre and post commands in the execution tab for the non mame emu to load/unload the iso image. In the command line you can use various placeholders like in the emu command line.

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2008, 11:28:00 am »
You can also use the pre and post commands in the execution tab for the non mame emu to load/unload the iso image. In the command line you can use various placeholders like in the emu command line.

Some of his roms are pce which do not require an ISO to be loaded.  Also the ISOs require a different command line than the PCEs.  However if he wanted to separate the PCEs and ISOs into two different emulators that should work.  I have had problems with trying to use the pre and post commands, but I'm so senile I cannot remember what they were.  Probably something I was doing wrong.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2008, 02:50:26 pm »
I will create a seperate layout for pce CD games. Saturn is ISO only. I will try to figure this out and post my results.

Thank You so much for all your help. Mala is such a awesome FE. I hope it continues to advance with loadman having the source.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2008, 02:52:28 pm »
If I got the pre/post command route. What would I have to put in each box? SGT your bat method can mount, but how would you unmount and image when it exits?



Gamex uses these

LaunchBefore=""C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools\daemon.exe" -mount 0,"[RomPath]\[RomFile]""
LaunchAfter="C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools\daemon.exe" -unmount 0
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 03:37:47 pm by bent98 »

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2008, 04:39:33 pm »
Well I figured how to get PCE isos mounted and running. One thing is mala will mount iso run magic but then you have to select BootCD and run iso in magic. Wondering how I can get magic emulator run run game automatically?


Here are my config lines (keep in mind my dtools isinstalled in a non default location

before

"C:\arcademain\Apps\Programs\d-tools\daemon.exe" -mount 0,"%path%\%rom%.%ext%"

after:

"C:\arcademain\Apps\Programs\d-tools\daemon.exe" -unmount 0
« Last Edit: August 21, 2008, 04:44:34 pm by bent98 »

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2008, 08:22:15 pm »
SGT your bat method can mount, but how would you unmount and image when it exits?

In the bat file you can tell the the emulator to run using "start /wait".  When the emulator finishes, the bat file execution would resume and would unmount the image.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2008, 08:55:55 pm »
OK

SGT

I figured it out!

Unlce T may want to include this in his setup Mala document.

To make it boot right into the game you need to put this line in command space.

-cdx:     x=drive letter D-tools assigns.


Now to try to config SSF saturn emulator

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2008, 09:25:58 pm »
Well I got SSF running same way, except leave command line blank.

I just need to figure out how to get SSF to run fullscreen.

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2008, 09:33:19 pm »
SGT

I figured it out!

 :applaud:  Good job!

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2008, 09:45:11 pm »
For the life of me I cant get SSF to run fullscreen.

Anyone?

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2008, 09:52:03 pm »
For the life of me I cant get SSF to run fullscreen.

Anyone?

ALT-ENTER

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2008, 09:57:34 pm »
I know ALT-ENTER will do it once it running. I want it fullscreen when it first runs.

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2008, 10:35:10 pm »
Well after quitting out when its running full screen, it goes to full screen from then on for me.  There is a flash of window mode just before it goes to full screen automatically.  Is that what you are referring to, or are you having to hit Alt+Enter every time?

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2008, 11:01:03 pm »
It never goes fullscreen. Only way to get it to go is ALT+Enter.


SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2008, 11:05:45 pm »
That's weird.  Mine goes to full screen now without having to do anything.  Your SSF.ini file isn't set to read-only is it?  I'm running ver. 0.08 alpha R10.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #19 on: August 21, 2008, 11:11:31 pm »
No its not.

I am running Latest V10 Test Yours is way old.

Can you try upgrading and letting me know?

Also what kind of screen you running on?

SGT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
  • Last login:December 05, 2024, 12:19:43 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #20 on: August 21, 2008, 11:33:17 pm »
Can you try upgrading and letting me know?

Ok, upgraded.  Same behavior.  First time through it ran in a window.  ALT-ENTER went to full screen.  ESC and quit out.  Restarted SSF.  It went to full screen automatically with a quick flash of windowed mode.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2008, 12:02:39 pm »
What type of display are you running? I am running a billlabs digital quad syn. Wonder if it has something to do with that?

nickynooch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
  • Last login:August 29, 2020, 02:54:00 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2010, 02:59:19 pm »
Not trying to bump up an old thread, but I am desperately trying to get SSF to run at fullscreen without having to hit "alt+enter" any ideas?  Did you ever figure out a fix?

I'm using maximus arcade and not mala but I posted here due to the issue probably not having anything to do with the frontend itself.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 04:58:38 pm by nickynooch »

nickynooch

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
  • Last login:August 29, 2020, 02:54:00 am
Re: Can Mala launch Muliple Saturn and PCE games?
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2010, 04:45:54 pm »
Finally after weeks of messing with it I figured it out!!

1. Update Direct X drivers.  This I think helped.  No idea though.
2. In SSF.ini where it says "FullScreenDisplay=0" Change that number to 1 instead of 0.  This is what confused me!  In the interface there were all sorts of "full screen" options, none of which worked.  You may wanna try that editing the ssf.ini like I did.  The GUI inteface claiming full screen configs flat out didnt work right.  Who'd have thought that??!?!!?  I had to edit the ssf.ini file to change the "0" to "1".

Sorry for bumping an old thread, but I was very frustrated and low and behold after weeks of messing with it, figured it out within an hour of posting on byoac.  Anyway hope this helps the guy above if he is still messing with it.  My version is 11beta1 I believe.