Main Woodworking Reviews Software Monitor/Video Maximus Arcade
Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Project Announcements Artwork Consoles Buy/Sell/Trade Meet Up
Arcade Miscellaneous Everything Else Politics n Religion Forum Discussion Wiki Discussion GroovyMAME
DOS/WinCab Merit/JVL Touchscreen Automated Projects Driving & Racing Project Arcade Old Boards
Linux Restorations Pinball MaLa Frontend controls.dat Old Archives

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Arcade | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS


  

Author Topic: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?  (Read 7833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« on: December 31, 2006, 02:57:19 am »
Hi,

I just picked up a used X-Arcade that came with Playstation and XBox adapters but none for PC. I read an earlier post addressing this, but I didn't see a resolution.

Can I just buy a regular serial to PS2 converter? What about a serial to USB?

Thanks!

Timoe

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1662
  • Team-Oh-tAy-Oh
    • Rattlin' Trash
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2006, 09:23:13 am »
I might have one of these lying around.  give me a day or two.

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2006, 11:42:05 am »
That would be awesome!

The x-arcade will tide me over until I build a leaf switch unit. This is my first control, and now I understand about the clickity microswitches.

Fozzy The Bear

  • Handbags at dawn in here!!!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • It's Been One Of Those Days... Don't Ask!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2006, 11:52:36 am »
I understand about the clickity microswitches.

Yeah! they make a kind of pinging noise and the response is not all it should be either....  The cheapest and best upgrade you can give them, is to swap out the microswitches for Cherry Red Lever Microswitches.  I have 2 X-Arcade sticks in my panel and doing that made a HUGE difference to them at next to no cost. I'm also planning to beef up the springs in them.

Best Regards,
Julian (Fozzy The Bear)
Most bottles and jars contain at least twenty-five percent recycled Pacman.
And research indicates that Space Invaders are strongly attracted to people who have recently eaten meat pies.

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2006, 05:27:15 pm »
I think the x-Arcade will be the last item I will ever buy that doesn't have USB or Firewire port.

Timoe

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1662
  • Team-Oh-tAy-Oh
    • Rattlin' Trash
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2007, 10:00:58 pm »
Here is what I have.  I dont remember if this is the same as the X-arcade connector.

Let me know if it is.

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5967
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2007, 10:44:42 pm »
As another option - you could install a serial port on your computer in a PCI slot. Here is a link to one at Newegg for $10 (not including shipping)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16815166003


Chris Goodwin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • I was a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2007, 01:50:40 am »
Is X-Arcade standard serial?  Or does it use some weird proprietary connection?
Chris Goodwin

steveh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 340
    • thecrazysteve.com
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2007, 08:40:09 am »
I would venture to guess that it is some odd pinout causing you to purchase the unit from them.

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2007, 01:20:25 pm »
Thanks for the photo Timoe. Yeah, according to the x-Arcade site, a generic serial to usb won't work. Unless that's the x-Arcade version, which comes with a funky box between the serial and usb plugs, I don't think that'll work.

I went to Fry's on Sunday and couldn't find a female serial to male ps2-kbd converter.

If I had the pin mapping, I could make one. I'm beginning to think it was a mistake to buy this thing.

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2007, 01:43:01 pm »
Digging around the x-arcade site - don't they use the J-PAC card for their units? If so, it looks like a generic serial to USB would work, unless x-arcade tweaked it so it doesn't.

BobA

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5847
  • What Me Worry?
    • Bartop Jukebox
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2007, 03:30:46 pm »
No they use their own board and the DB9 is their own interface not standard serial as far as I know.
I think that is why there is no easy solution other then X-Arcade where the PC cable for PS/2
is listed as $9.95.

Here is a pic of the interface board being replaced.



« Last Edit: January 03, 2007, 03:34:28 pm by BobA »

NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
X-Arcade Serial to PS/2 Pinout
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2007, 09:55:55 pm »


PS/2 Male  |  DB-9 Female
-----------+-------------
        3  |  Shield (10)
        5  |  6
        1  |  5
        4  |  2 , 9




benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #13 on: January 05, 2007, 05:54:00 pm »
Hey Nick - thanks for the pin map! I want to make sure I've got it right. Does this look right to you?


NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2007, 10:28:38 pm »
Yes, benarcade, except in your image the PS/2 port numbers are of the female pinout so if you are trying to pin this out on a male connector (the one with the pins sticking out of it) the numbers will be opposite.

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2007, 10:45:46 pm »
That's exactly right - you know your dins.

I checked my generic serial to ps/2 tonight and found that it doesn't match your pin map at all (x-Arcade -les batards-). There's no reason to do that other than to force people to buy their $0.50 converter for $10.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2007, 11:54:47 pm by benarcade »

benarcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2007, 06:48:00 pm »
I wired it up, but it doesn't work. When I boot up, I get the "Keyboard not found" error from my BIOS. Here's the updated pin config using a Female Serial and a Male PS/2:



The red LED on the x-Arcade lights up, but the keyboard error prevents me from continuing.

roguejedi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2007, 06:55:31 pm »
I too need help with this. Can anyone confirm the serial to PS/2 Pinout for the X-arcade interface ?

NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2007, 09:00:38 pm »
My apologies to benarcade.  I double checked tonight.  It turns out that 3,7,9 are common at the DB9.  :-[

So:

PS/2 Male  |  DB-9 Female
-----------+-------------
        3  |  Shield (10)
        5  |  6
        1  |  5
        4  |  2 , 3, 9




roguejedi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #19 on: February 04, 2007, 06:55:10 am »
so is it 3,7 and 9 that are common ? or is it 2, 3, 9 ???
i tried 2,3,9 as indicated and no joy .... :(

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help :)

NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2007, 03:46:52 pm »
I triple checked today. I was looking at the DB-9 upside down and matched the wrong numbers to the pins 1 and 2 (goofed and thought they were 2 and 3)  :dizzy:
It turns out it is 1,2,9 that are common at the DB9.  :-[

So:

PS/2 Male  |  DB-9 Female
-----------+-------------
        3  |  Shield (10)
        5  |  6
        1  |  5
        4  |  1 , 2, 9


third times the charm or I'm gonna have to open up the shell to set things straight.





roguejedi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2007, 07:10:43 pm »
 tried the new pinouts as above and still not working... :banghead:

are we absolutely sure on the pinouts on the MALE PS/2 side of things ? (i'm pretty confident with the serial pinouts because they are actually printed on the connector!)

This is getting annoying...  :banghead: no wonder the boss let me take one of these for free from work because we no longer had the cables !!

I might have to see if I can find a reseller of x-arcade here in australia and see if I can buy the cables. anyone know of a reseller that sells the original x-arcade to ps/2 cable ?

Cheers :)


NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #22 on: February 06, 2007, 02:57:01 pm »
I built a connector last night following this pin map table and it works, but I only if I hook a keyboard up to the pass-through extentsion.  Also, pressing an x-arcade button does not repeat, but pressing a keyboard key does (in notepad.)  Not sure what I am doing wrong.

Chris Goodwin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • I was a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2007, 07:15:39 pm »
I built a connector last night following this pin map table and it works, but I only if I hook a keyboard up to the pass-through extentsion. 

This is correct behavior.  Roguejedi, might this be your issue? 

Quote
Also, pressing an x-arcade button does not repeat, but pressing a keyboard key does (in notepad.)  Not sure what I am doing wrong.


Try it in MAME and see what it does.
Chris Goodwin

NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #24 on: February 09, 2007, 12:04:36 am »
I built a connector last night following this pin map table and it works, but I only if I hook a keyboard up to the pass-through extentsion. 

This is correct behavior.  Roguejedi, might this be your issue? 

Ok. I thought it was supposed to work without a keyboard in PS/2 mode; couldn't remember.
Also, pressing an x-arcade button does not repeat, but pressing a keyboard key does (in notepad.)  Not sure what I am doing wrong.


Try it in MAME and see what it does.

I have tried it just now and can verify that it works properly.  The key is "constant" instead of repeating. I had forgotten about that as well.


roguejedi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2007, 07:10:15 am »
sorry to be so pedantic, but just to be clear, what is the final pin-outs that you've come up with ?

Diagrams would be helpful :)

Cheers guys. Help is much appreciated  :cheers:

NickG

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
  • Dig.
    • My Projects Page
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #26 on: February 09, 2007, 09:43:55 pm »
still the same as the last one



bye

Virgil Tracy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • www.virgil.tk
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #27 on: February 11, 2007, 05:34:33 am »
This may help it was sent to me when I contacted X-arcades agent a long time ago.


roguejedi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #28 on: February 14, 2007, 12:01:45 am »
Thanks Virgil,

Your PinMap works for me :)

Thunderbirds truely are GO !

thanks to everyone else for their input and assistance.

Cheers :cheers:

Virgil Tracy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • www.virgil.tk
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #29 on: February 15, 2007, 12:59:31 am »
No problem, I had the same issue about 2 years ago and it took me months to get that answer. Happy to share.

travandalex

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #30 on: August 02, 2009, 10:51:13 pm »
Ok... since this is the only source for this information that I could find on the web...  I'll add to this very old post!  ;)

I have a X-Arcade dual (2 player) and I recently wanted to hook it up again but misplaced the PS/2 keyboard part of the adapter (female serial to male PS/2).   So it seemed logical to try to build this with an old keyboard for the PS/2 end and a serial cable.  Problem 1:  the keyboard did not have all the wires in the cable to the PS/2 end.  Lesson learned and I just cut off the end to solder the wires from the serial cable directly to the end.

So all I needed to know was which wires go to what pin.  With the magic of searching, I found this thread.  I tried both the diagrams above (they aren't the same) and neither worked.  The red light comes on the X-Arcade, but I get a keyboard error on boot and no lights on the keyboard.   :censored:

So this led me to try one last desperate act... I searched harder and found the original adapter. 

Curiosity got the better of me and I decided to trace the wires.  Here are my results from the actual X-Arcade Serial to PS/2 Adapter cable:



DJ_Izumi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1085
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #31 on: August 03, 2009, 03:14:50 am »
Uhh... If it supports PlayStation and Xbox why not just use a PlayStation -> USB adaptor?  You can get them at like any gaming store.

travandalex

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Need X-Arcade Serial to PS2 - does generic work?
« Reply #32 on: August 03, 2009, 09:01:40 am »
Only if you've got those adapters (for those consoles).  My Dreamcast adapter is sadly not supported.  :)

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28