Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Poll

?

Total Members Voted: 0

  

Author Topic: Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.  (Read 5028 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Hoagie_one

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3061
  • Last login:November 23, 2015, 10:14:47 pm
  • Um....whats a cabinet
Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« on: October 04, 2004, 09:32:31 am »
THe control panel only has room for a trackball, or a spinner but not both, because of the two controller 6 button setup im using, and i dont want my panel to expand beyond the original control panel deminsions.

I like the idea of the trackball for classics and golf games

but my love for ankanoid\tempest is great.

What are you guys perfered to?

pcates

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 403
  • Last login:January 05, 2011, 08:15:57 pm
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2004, 09:38:22 am »
It all depends on your perspective, not ours. If you can't live without playing centipede and others go with the trackball. IF Tempest or Tron is your thing, then go with the spinner. I personally have both set up, the decision was too difficult ;)

GGKoul

  • Cheesecake Apprentice
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4723
  • Last login:July 23, 2019, 05:47:30 pm
  • I was once a big man!! -4700 posts later...
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2004, 09:39:46 am »
Trackball, as you can use the trackball as a mouse.  I had a spinner on my control panel and never used it.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2004, 09:40:23 am by GGKoul »

Bgnome

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 466
  • Last login:January 10, 2005, 04:05:16 pm
  • Who's da gnome?
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2004, 09:40:05 am »
you "could" play arkanoid and tempest with a trackball.  you cant play trackball games with a spinner.

Minwah

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7662
  • Last login:January 18, 2019, 05:03:20 am
    • MAMEWAH
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2004, 10:31:20 am »
you "could" play arkanoid and tempest with a trackball.  you cant play trackball games with a spinner.

What he said :)

brained

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:08:32 pm
  • Raised by Atari
    • Nux
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2004, 11:51:05 am »
I had the same problem that you have and wen't with the trackball. You can play a couple of gun games with a Trackball too!! :P.

If you can't have them both, the trackball seems to be more useful.


Xiaou2

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3957
  • Last login:April 16, 2017, 01:50:02 pm
  • NOM NOM NOM
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2004, 05:34:09 pm »
yes, but you cant play a spinner game 'well' with a trackball.  if you like doing good when you play - then youd never play a spinner game.

 the slikstik tornado has a very small footprint (2"*2"?).  i think you could manage to squeeze one in there : )

 as for spinners - there are many great spinner games... but also,  you can use it for nearly any driving games as well.

 you could however... make a small plug in box that had a spinner in it.

Apollo

  • Yes You Can Have A Custom Title
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1877
  • Last login:April 29, 2019, 03:05:00 am
    • Eight Bells
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2004, 06:41:10 pm »
Spinner for me. Tempest, Arkanoid and Pole Position.

daywane

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2463
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • GRRRR!
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2004, 09:49:18 pm »
build multi cabs. thats what I am doing.
yes i know very expensive. but who says you have to be in a rush.
you have the rest of your life.
buy a few pcs every now and then. have a extra $50.00 buy a MOBO
months later buy the memory ect... ect...
I have been building on my colection for 3 yrs now. I have 4 working but all are butt ugly right now... I am just now getting to the looks of them.

Bgnome

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 466
  • Last login:January 10, 2005, 04:05:16 pm
  • Who's da gnome?
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2004, 09:58:19 pm »
a modular or swappable setup may be a bit cheaper than that route..  that being said, you could always try going for a mini-trackball if you can find one..

Jocu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 05, 2004, 07:46:15 am
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2004, 07:17:14 am »
you "could" play arkanoid and tempest with a trackball.  you cant play trackball games with a spinner.

Not true. I like playing Kick with my spinner (it is a trackball game?).

I had no room in my controlpanel for a trackball so I added a spinner. I like playing Tempest. One bad thing is that I have to play Centipede with joystick  :(

Jocu

maraxle

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2004, 07:34:30 am »
you "could" play arkanoid and tempest with a trackball.  you cant play trackball games with a spinner.

Not true. I like playing Kick with my spinner (it is a trackball game?).
It is true.  Let's see you play Marble Madness with a spinner.  Or how about Quantum?  Shuuz?  Ok, now let's see you play Arkanoid with a trackball.  Oh wait, that one wasn't so bad, was it?

Jocu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 05, 2004, 07:46:15 am
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2004, 07:52:24 am »
you "could" play arkanoid and tempest with a trackball.  you cant play trackball games with a spinner.

Not true. I like playing Kick with my spinner (it is a trackball game?).
It is true.  Let's see you play Marble Madness with a spinner.  Or how about Quantum?  Shuuz?  Ok, now let's see you play Arkanoid with a trackball.  Oh wait, that one wasn't so bad, was it?

Yes I now. Kick is the only trackball game I have found that is playable with spinner. It would be best to add both trackball and spinner. But if there is no space, trackball/spinner should be choosen depending what games do you like. Even that spinner games are playable with trackball it is not that much fun and many trackball games are somewhat playable with joystick.

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4943
  • Last login:October 25, 2019, 07:03:59 pm
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2004, 07:59:07 am »
The REAL choice is hotswappable... and have both.

Not sure if you could come up with a good design for just spinner / trackball swap....  But they are nice in times like yours.

I vote for Trackball because they are more universal.

but even then... I want a spinner (missed 3 tempest spinners on ebay for 15 bucks... man I'm STILL kicking myself on that one).  

They really are better for those games... And if it wasn't for centipede... I would prabably be happy with a spinner.  

daywane

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2463
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • GRRRR!
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2004, 08:28:22 am »
The REAL choice is hotswappable... and have both.
explane hot swap in mame?
on my PCs if I start mame and then plug in any of my usb items it is to late .
mame never sees them.
I must turn off mame and then restart mame

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2004, 04:50:07 pm »
explane hot swap in mame?
on my PCs if I start mame and then plug in any of my usb items it is to late .
mame never sees them.
I must turn off mame and then restart mame

Mame checks which devices are plugged in at start up.

Hot swapping mice devices (TBs & spinners) are much easier then you're getting.  As long as one mouse is plugged in at mame startup, due to windows automatic joining of all mice, no big problems.

You can hot swap controllers, too, under a couple conditions:
  • At least the same number controllers you want to swap in are plugged in at mame startup
  • They controllers use the same driver
Adding support for hot-hot swapping is not worth it, IMO (unless it's only done while paused... hmmm....)
Robin
Knowledge is Power

deadmoney5

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
  • Last login:July 18, 2018, 08:42:37 pm
  • I don't feel tardy
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2004, 08:32:14 pm »
I like the spinner because you can play a lot of driving games with them..(awesome for Super Sprint)...

daywane

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2463
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • GRRRR!
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2004, 08:12:23 am »


Mame checks which devices are plugged in at start up.

Hot swapping mice devices (TBs & spinners) are much easier then you're getting.  

You can hot swap controllers, too, under a couple conditions:
  • At least the same number controllers you want to swap in are plugged in at mame startup
  • They controllers use the same driver


Thats kinda what I thought. I never thought of one mouse to another. I just knew if I had 1 gamepad in and some one wanted to jump in as player 2 pluging in a second pad did not work.

Doc-

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 178
  • Last login:April 09, 2007, 01:04:51 am
  • Carpe Arcadium!
    • Doc's Modular MAME
Re:Trackball or Spinner? -- Only room for one.
« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2004, 08:42:10 pm »
I have a USB hub for all of my analog devices and hot swap them with no problems using nonamemame (or analogmame+).

Each analog panel has a USB mouse hack on it, and then I just plug in the panel to the hub when I swap out modular panels.

See the link in the signature block for pictures/details.

Cheers!
Doc-