Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released  (Read 5038 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ArcadeFX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
  • Last login:November 10, 2004, 11:16:56 pm
  • All the Dude ever wanted was his rug back!
    • ArcadeFX
JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released
« on: June 03, 2002, 03:45:58 pm »
JukeboxFX Bets 0.05 Released

- Major bug fix to the visualizations. Runs 100% better now.
- Added 3 additional visualizations
- Help section has been added.
- Many UI updates.
- ID3 tag editing improvements.

Download the latest version today. http://www.move360media.com/mame/arcadefx/index.htm
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

mAdSmuRf

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Last login:February 05, 2012, 09:17:22 pm
  • Eat More Chicken!
Re: JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2002, 05:22:11 pm »
Pretty spiffy Jiffy, although, out of curiousity, do you have an ETA for 640x480 Resolution Support on it, as well as with ArcadeFX... they both look to be beautiful programs and I love nice graphix on my Arcade cabinets which is why I was curious about VGA 640x480.  I know there was talk about it a while back either here or on your MSG board, so I was just wondering... Thanks much kindly.

mS
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

ArcadeFX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
  • Last login:November 10, 2004, 11:16:56 pm
  • All the Dude ever wanted was his rug back!
    • ArcadeFX
Re: JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2002, 10:05:05 pm »
I have not planned a 640 x 480 UI yet but it should not be too hard. Just need to make a few changes.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19292
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:38:11 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2002, 10:33:25 pm »
Quote

I will add 640 x 480 and see how much it increases the file size. If it is too big I will just make a new exe for it and have two download.


Huh?  I'm just curious, but why would it increase the file size?  Don't you just scale everything?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

ArcadeFX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
  • Last login:November 10, 2004, 11:16:56 pm
  • All the Dude ever wanted was his rug back!
    • ArcadeFX
Re: JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2002, 01:55:32 pm »
No, I don't scape the images. Raster images do not scale very well as compared to a vector format image.  Scaling a raster images makes it look like your image got hit with an ugly stick.  I don't own an ugly sitck.  

But is it not the size of the graphics that will increase the file size. It is the addition of the code/logic to resize the display and move UI objects around the screen for each resolution.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19292
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:38:11 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: JukeboxFX Beta 0.05 Released
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2002, 06:01:13 pm »
Oh I know they can look horrible, but I do it anyway... Thats also why I keep my image files external to the program, that way once the user gets his cab setup he/she can resample the images to the appropriate size.  

I'm not quite sure what you mean by extra logic.  Here's what I do:  (I realize it's a different coding lang., so it'll be different.)

You take all the objects on the form and upon initilization you actually place/resize them.  You place them not in actual pixel values but as a percentage of the total screen size.  Before you place anything you call GetSystemMetrics to get the screen resolution and manually resize the form to the screen size.  Now you place everything in relative position to the height and width of the screen. Once your done make the form visible. Now your app instantly supports any resolution!  

Once again I don't know if the language your using supports such functions.  I realize it's a pain to code this way, but it makes it easier in the long run.  When I wish to add something I don't have to fiddle with it's size and shape, I can just plop it on the form, assign values to it, and it'll take care of the rest.  
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »