Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Anyone using an RV630 AVGA3000 w/ Linux & GroovyMAME?  (Read 1645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

gabe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
  • Last login:September 10, 2012, 12:44:38 pm
Anyone using an RV630 AVGA3000 w/ Linux & GroovyMAME?
« on: October 18, 2011, 09:11:45 am »
I am, and have had intermittent GPU lockups follow me across two separate installs. I first noticed the problem running GroovyMAME on Arch Linux. I assumed that the issue was caused by the hacked-together nature of that setup, so I decided to install GroovyLinux, where I am currently getting the very same error.

This leads me to believe that I have a hardware problem. I plan on ordering a different video card for testing, but I would also be curious to see if anyone else has experienced these problems.

In case it's of any use, this is what the kernel has to say about it:

Code: [Select]
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900071] radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU lockup CP stall for more than 10000msec
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900074] ------------[ cut here ]------------
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900080] WARNING: at drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_fence.c:267 radeon_fence_wait+0x2bd/0x340()
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900082] Hardware name: A770E3
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900083] GPU lockup (waiting for 0x00000057 last fence id 0x00000056)
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900085] Modules linked in: oss_usb oss_hdaudio osscore r8169 psmouse mii tpm_tis pcspkr ppdev tpm fl$
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900162] Pid: 17237, comm: X Not tainted 3.0.2+ #1
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900164] Call Trace:
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900168]  [<ffffffff81040d1d>] warn_slowpath_common+0x85/0x9d
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900171]  [<ffffffff81040dd8>] warn_slowpath_fmt+0x46/0x48
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900174]  [<ffffffff813318f3>] radeon_fence_wait+0x2bd/0x340
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900176]  [<ffffffff8105ccf1>] ? wake_up_bit+0x2a/0x2a
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900179]  [<ffffffff813470d1>] radeon_ib_get+0x109/0x1af
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900181]  [<ffffffff81348363>] radeon_cs_ioctl+0x99/0x19e
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900184]  [<ffffffff812f09d3>] drm_ioctl+0x285/0x362
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900186]  [<ffffffff813482ca>] ? radeon_cs_parser_init+0x29e/0x29e
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900189]  [<ffffffff81115d7d>] do_vfs_ioctl+0x451/0x4a0
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900192]  [<ffffffff81201f2e>] ? security_file_permission+0x2e/0x33
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900194]  [<ffffffff81115e22>] sys_ioctl+0x56/0x7c
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900196]  [<ffffffff8110853b>] ? sys_read+0x4a/0x71
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900199]  [<ffffffff81506102>] system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b
Oct 17 19:11:59 GroovyArcade kernel: [  101.900201] ---[ end trace 2db85a87d092bf74 ]---

gabe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
  • Last login:September 10, 2012, 12:44:38 pm
Re: Anyone using an RV630 AVGA3000 w/ Linux & GroovyMAME?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 10:25:28 am »
Just an update to this...

I installed a new card over the weekend, and that seems to have solved the problem.

I'd still be interested in hearing from anyone else using an AVGA 3000 with Groovy, as I'd like to determine whether or not my card is bad.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6698
  • Last login:Today at 01:15:24 pm
Re: Anyone using an RV630 AVGA3000 w/ Linux & GroovyMAME?
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2011, 04:22:37 pm »
I'm sorry I can't be of much help with that, I don't own an AVGA3000. When you first posted about that issue I thought your PCI-e socket could be failing, I've seen random blue screens in my cabs when their videocards weren't properly fixed, which unfortunately is common when you don't use a proper box, so the socket gets more and more loose as you mess inside the cab and finally fails all the time.

Actually the only ones I know to have tested GroovyArcade with a AVGA3000 are bitbytebit and you.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Quinny

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
  • Last login:June 08, 2014, 07:52:07 am
Re: Anyone using an RV630 AVGA3000 w/ Linux & GroovyMAME?
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2011, 10:31:46 pm »
I have tested this a long time ago but that was with SwitchRes. I didn't do much testing and I have not set up a system to properly test this yet. For what I did it worked well.
When I get going I will be using an AVGA 3000 and whatever the latest version of groovy is. If I can, I still want to use Ubuntu as the OS, but will cross that bridge when I get to it.

I'll also mention that I have tested it only on a PAL TV and a custom 15KHz chassis.