Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: windows video mode  (Read 3974 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

caskad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:April 02, 2012, 02:48:22 am
windows video mode
« on: August 07, 2011, 07:20:15 pm »
Hello,


i'm french so excuse my english but, groovymame is able to fit my current monitor display prefectly?

i've tried it with crt drivers 6.2 on xp 32 bits, edit vmmaker with "generic" and get a great display on various games (pretty good with vertical games  :laugh:) but i've a lot of black left and right border with some modelines.

i need to calibrate with arcadeOSD?

What is the good resolution to begin for adjust all other? (320*240 ?)

someone can explain me?

i've a vns 110/90 without any clue about front porch just this:



Perhaps i need a custom monitor_specs with this value?

spec:

ArcadeVga + crt 6.2

any documentation in english for option (eg: -verbose)? i read without understand all you say (so technical!)

thx !

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7422
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:32:57 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: windows video mode
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2011, 11:17:23 am »
Hi caskad,

You may want to use the "CUSTOM" type in VMMaker.ini and then edit the monitor_specs line.

However, for your case better leave the VMMaker.ini as it is and directly edit groovymame's mame.ini with a line like this:

monitor_specs0            15625.00-16200.00,50.00-62.00,2.000,4.700,8.000,0.064,0.160,1.056,0,0,288.0,448

(modify the default "auto" value for monitor_specs0)

The values in black represent the front and back porches (right and left margins).

If you're getting big side borders, decrease this values a little bit and see what happens. I'd start with 1.5 and 7.5, for instance.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead of pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

caskad

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:April 02, 2012, 02:48:22 am
Re: windows video mode
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2011, 06:57:27 pm »
Thx calamity,

will try that and post after :)