Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Need Advice/Suggestions  (Read 2259 times)

avg2424

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:October 25, 2011, 10:17:00 pm
Need Advice/Suggestions
« on: September 29, 2011, 11:59:34 pm »
I'm not quite sure if this is the correct section in the forum, but...
I'm new to cabinet making and to woodworking. The only three things I've made out of wood have been a key holder (pretty much a piece of wood with nails in it) when I was a kid, an attempt to make a speaker box, and a table top to hold a broadcast radio console in a hole in an existing table.
That being said, I am pretty proud of what I've constructed since I don't have any knowledge of woodworking and cabinet making concepts.

My problem is this:
I have a good picture of what I want out of my cabinet, but have no clue how to finish the exterior. I am looking for suggestions as to how to complete my project.
This is for music jukebox and karaoke.
Here are pictures:

I used 3/4" plywood for the front and sides and 5/8" for the rear.
Any suggestions for a good looking finish would be appreciated. I am teetering between some sort of formica all over, microdot formica on the sides and stainless steel in the front, or putting a nice face on it and staining. I also considered a wrap (sticker type material with some sort of design), but am not sure how that would look.
Any ideas?

Thanks,
Al