Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?  (Read 885 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
  • Last login:October 14, 2020, 10:43:05 am
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« on: January 15, 2009, 04:03:04 pm »
I've got my cab all setup and in a playable state but one of the microleaf buttons is malfunctioning (it stays in a pressed state randomly) and I've confirmed its the button and not the wiring by using another microleaf in the same spot.

I want to know if these things are fixable because I'm having an arcade coming out party on the 20th of this month and probably wouldn't receive another one till after:(

CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:August 16, 2019, 09:30:14 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 04:32:11 pm »
EDIT: Never mind -- I misread the initial post.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 06:15:32 pm by CheffoJeffo »
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

BASS!

  • Just have fun.
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 837
  • Last login:August 10, 2013, 03:12:33 am
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2009, 04:45:10 pm »
You could always have either one overnighted or just get a standard micro from someone here overnighted.

ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
  • Last login:October 14, 2020, 10:43:05 am
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2009, 05:41:05 pm »
You could always have either one overnighted or just get a standard micro from someone here overnighted.

True but how expensive is that?!

leapinlew

  • Some questionable things going on in this room with cheetos
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7599
  • Last login:Today at 12:18:23 am
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2009, 05:52:35 pm »
You could always have either one overnighted or just get a standard micro from someone here overnighted.

True but how expensive is that?!
You didn't mention that cost was a concern...

Can you swap it out with player 2 switch and order a new one?

ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
  • Last login:October 14, 2020, 10:43:05 am
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2009, 07:55:28 pm »
I'll probably just use one of the mouse buttons.
Damn this sucks:(


I haven't heard back from GGG either yet.

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6310
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:24:46 pm
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2009, 04:25:36 pm »

I see that these were ordered in April of last year.  Has it been in service since then or did you just install it and find the issue?

The first thing I would do is remove the mounting plate completely and test the switch again.  If nothing has been spilled on it and it wasn't exposed to any other nasty elements, it probably just needs to have the mounting plate loosened up a bit

Regardless, I put one in the mail for you today just in case.

RandyT


ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1028
  • Last login:October 14, 2020, 10:43:05 am
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2009, 07:59:46 pm »

I see that these were ordered in April of last year.  Has it been in service since then or did you just install it and find the issue?

The first thing I would do is remove the mounting plate completely and test the switch again.  If nothing has been spilled on it and it wasn't exposed to any other nasty elements, it probably just needs to have the mounting plate loosened up a bit

Regardless, I put one in the mail for you today just in case.

RandyT



Thanks Randy (I also contacted GGG directly on the site).

It was the first time using it and I did check the wiring by using a different switch in the same spot with no luck.
No water or any other physical damage was done and if there was I sure wouldn't be expecting a replacement (I can't stand people who are like that).


vetteguy112233

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Last login:April 28, 2012, 12:15:24 am
Re: Can you fix a broken button (microleaf)?
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2009, 04:45:30 pm »
I've used electrical contact cleaner to fix lots of different switches. You can get it from any auto parts store, ACE and I think even Walmart might have it.

Anyway, you just spray it in the "switch" and actuate it a bunch of times. It seems to clean the switch and restore it to working condition again.

Good Luck