Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Star Wars - Should I do It?  (Read 12174 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #80 on: December 12, 2008, 12:39:48 pm »
No need to worry - I never suspected heat was the problem.

I also thought it would have been crimped though.

What I don't get though is why you are swapping a 19" and 25" tube? Are they really compatible outright with the same chassis? I thought you had to do some fancy readjusting to pull that off?
Forgive me if this is explained somewhere else in the thread.

What I've been told is that the AMP chassis can be used for either a 19" or 25" tube compatible with it....without modification.  I can only imagine someone here or at KLOV would have spoken up otherwise (since I did ask about it as well).
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #81 on: December 12, 2008, 12:40:39 pm »
100 degree tubes is what I was told.
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #82 on: December 12, 2008, 12:44:56 pm »

Yeah, and most TVs that aren't 40 years old will be either 90 or 110 IIRC.  And I never did find someone who could tell me a way to determine that without opening up the TV or having the service manual so hunting around recycling centers wasn't viable.

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5965
  • Last login:November 13, 2018, 01:56:39 am
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #83 on: December 12, 2008, 02:14:29 pm »
No need to worry - I never suspected heat was the problem.

I also thought it would have been crimped though.

What I don't get though is why you are swapping a 19" and 25" tube? Are they really compatible outright with the same chassis? I thought you had to do some fancy readjusting to pull that off?
Forgive me if this is explained somewhere else in the thread.

What I've been told is that the AMP chassis can be used for either a 19" or 25" tube compatible with it....without modification.  I can only imagine someone here or at KLOV would have spoken up otherwise (since I did ask about it as well).

Indeed. You can swap them around at will. It will require some height/width adjustment probably.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - The Force IS with me it seems!
« Reply #84 on: December 19, 2008, 03:51:37 pm »
I borrowed a rejuvenator to work on my 25" amp tube.  It seems all 3 guns showed they were shorted to heater,  but looking at the screen it seemed likely GREEN was the culprit.  I rejuved all 3 guns anyway.  After the first round THE GREEN TRACELINES DISAPPEARED!  Woohoo!  The tube tested fine but all colors save for green were very very light plus I had a strange smudging effect going on with the green gun at the bottom 20% of the screen.  What the hell,  I ran it through a 2nd run with the rejuvenator (still at the lowest settings).  This time things look MUCH MUCH better...

I still have some adjusting to do...but take a look at the result thus far.  (the blurry image is due to a too-long exposure time with the camera,  not the tube)

Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #85 on: December 19, 2008, 03:57:18 pm »
Boy, talk about a sweet ass early Christmas Present. Congrats on the improvements - hope you get it to good working condition.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #86 on: December 19, 2008, 04:06:33 pm »
It's VERY close.  I need to tweak the blue a bit...and a little of the red...and some geometry issues... and the blue looks a hair out off convergence,  but it could be just because it's a little overpowered...

Then it's time to rebuild the yoke.  Only one button works on it (the yoke CONTROLLER that is).

Then there is a real loud HUM in the audio that will need to be looked in to (though I think it may be related to the marquee light because something in the marquee is vibrating (i'm guessing the transformer?).

Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #87 on: December 22, 2008, 01:31:39 am »
...done!  Well...almost.  I adjusted the monitor...I fixed the yoke (it was missing a microswitch and 1 button ...I happen to have a rebuild kit!)...but for the life of me I can not track down the audio hum.  The damn hum is constant regardless of game volume.  It's pretty loud...not loud enough to be distracting during game play but during attract it's loud enough to annoy.  Any suggestions?  It wasn't the light fixture as I thought it may be.

Here is a pic...

Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5965
  • Last login:November 13, 2018, 01:56:39 am
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #88 on: December 22, 2008, 01:54:41 am »
Frizz.




Welcome to the club !



 :applaud: :applaud: :applaud: :applaud: :applaud: :applaud: :applaud:


Well done on the rejuvenating !



However, you do need a better camera. That machine looks lovely but the picture sucks.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2008, 01:58:40 am by Level42 »

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #89 on: December 22, 2008, 09:37:51 am »
It was shot with the flash off to get the glow of the screen & marquee.   I've a little more cleaning up to do and then I'll take a pic or to of it "in the light of day"... and hopefully in it's new home.
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

drawfull

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 463
  • Last login:May 18, 2012, 09:30:14 am
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #90 on: December 22, 2008, 09:59:10 am »
Fantastic, everytime I see one of these damn things I start wanting one all over again. Great job.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #91 on: December 22, 2008, 10:18:57 am »

Audio hum is probably either some AC leaking into the audio circuit or a flaky ground someplace.  Redo all of the grounds in the audio circuit and re-cap everything in the audio loop.  If that doesn't help just redo all of the connectors, since they need it anyway, because all Atari cabs do.


RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #92 on: December 23, 2008, 09:14:50 pm »
 :notworthy: nice

Regarding hum: Have you replaced the Big Blue yet?
NO MORE!!

JimmyU

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 424
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:05:02 pm
  • I believe I can fly!
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #93 on: December 24, 2008, 10:40:49 am »
Damn Frizz...That's looking mighty fine.  Good job.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #94 on: December 24, 2008, 12:51:15 pm »
:notworthy: nice

Regarding hum: Have you replaced the Big Blue yet?


The first thing I am going to do when I have a little free time...likely Friday.
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #95 on: December 29, 2008, 05:59:35 pm »
Well...I had SOME success with the hum,  but not fully.  I removed the power supply and cleaned it up (determining that I have a serial number of SD00045 in the process!)...cleaned up the fuse block and replaced the Big Blue.  I was a bit disappointed when i plugged it all in and heard "hum"...

It's about 1/2 the volume it was before,  but it is still there.  I then cleaned the edge connector a bit with a business card...no help.

>argh!<

The hum isn't terrible,  but it's there...and annoys me a bit (except when playing as you really can't hear it with the music/sfx running).

I think I might buy a new fuse block... but I dunno.

Anyway...here is the first pic of her in the gameroom.  This is likely a temporary location until I figure out what,  exactly,  I am going to do with the gameroom.  By popular demand I am removing a few games and putting a couch/futon back in the room...



Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

rovingmind

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 632
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 12:39:13 am
  • If you only knew the POWER of the Dark Side
    • rovingmind
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #96 on: January 05, 2009, 04:22:09 pm »
I hate you!!!!

(j/k)    8)

congrats on such an awesome find and getting it working again

If i was closer to your house i would show up with a pickle jar of quarters and a six pack.
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!!

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #97 on: January 05, 2009, 06:31:46 pm »
...anytime!

...and here she is in her new "home"...

Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #98 on: January 05, 2009, 10:35:20 pm »
Are your speaker/audio wires bundled with anything? If so, run them separate. Maybe that will clear it up a bit more.

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5965
  • Last login:November 13, 2018, 01:56:39 am
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #99 on: January 06, 2009, 03:34:19 pm »
About the hum: you do know there's a fan in there right Frizz ;)  :laugh:

Try to run it without the extra connection board (the one that "closes" the cage.

Eliminates half of the connectors.....

If any connector gets off very easy, replace. (see my MC cabaret thread).

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5129
  • Last login:Today at 01:50:09 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #100 on: January 06, 2009, 04:24:49 pm »
Yes sir...I know there is a fan in there (actually,  I just got a replacement fan for it as well as a 2nd fan to direct toward the Amp HV board)... but that's not the static...I know as I took it off line just in case.  The PCB + Filterboard came from the upright that had zero hum.  There was some mouse activity throughout the cab and there is a chance one of them chewed up some of the wiring that runs under the cab between the front and back...but it's such a ---smurfette--- to get to,  I am not sure.   Plus there is the chance the edge connector itself is a bit lacking.

It really isn't too loud anymore...you can barely hear it unless there's no other game running.
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #101 on: January 30, 2009, 11:03:18 am »
Yes sir...I know there is a fan in there (actually,  I just got a replacement fan for it as well as a 2nd fan to direct toward the Amp HV board)... but that's not the static...I know as I took it off line just in case.  The PCB + Filterboard came from the upright that had zero hum.  There was some mouse activity throughout the cab and there is a chance one of them chewed up some of the wiring that runs under the cab between the front and back...but it's such a ---smurf--- to get to,  I am not sure.   Plus there is the chance the edge connector itself is a bit lacking.

It really isn't too loud anymore...you can barely hear it unless there's no other game running.


Ahh Irony. I got my Xevious up and running last weekend, and I have odd speaker static too.

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5965
  • Last login:November 13, 2018, 01:56:39 am
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #102 on: January 30, 2009, 11:44:21 am »


O my god, a mushroom broke through the CP ! :D

danny_galaga

  • Grand high prophet of the holy noodle.
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8492
  • Last login:March 23, 2020, 04:25:58 pm
  • because the mail never stops
    • dans cocktail lounge
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #103 on: February 02, 2009, 07:03:10 am »


have you got a fire extinguisher handy for that monitor?  ;D

excellent result! i played a cockpit for the first time at 'game on'. but it was running an emu and a pc screen  :( . i hope i get to see the real deal one day...


ROUGHING UP THE SUSPECT SINCE 1981

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5965
  • Last login:November 13, 2018, 01:56:39 am
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: Star Wars - Should I do It?
« Reply #104 on: February 02, 2009, 09:30:53 am »


have you got a fire extinguisher handy for that monitor?  ;D
Why ? The Amplifone/WG 6100 have their issues, but they're not known for bursting into fire.

The G08 is a different story though....