Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Does a "combo" interface board exist?  (Read 1181 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Cynicaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 387
  • Last login:October 25, 2019, 11:48:42 am
Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« on: December 20, 2011, 05:13:55 pm »
Is there such thing as a "combo" interface board that will allow you to wire up joysticks, buttons, as well as trackball/spinner?  It seems like it would be a nice product to have available for smaller projects, rather than paying full price for (as an example) both an iPac and an OptiPac and only using a fraction of the inputs on each.

I realize it would need to have two output cables, but I think such a product would provide nice cost savings and packaging efficiencies.   

Thanks
 

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6482
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:45:58 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 07:17:57 pm »
MOAR BUTTONS!!!

newmanfamilyvlogs

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1660
  • Last login:Today at 01:22:18 pm
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,103584.msg1096585.html#msg1096585
    • Newman Family Vlogs
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2011, 07:45:29 pm »
Isn't what you're describing the minipac? Mine is wired to two 8-ways with 7 buttons each, two player starts, two coin slots, a track ball, a spinner, and a three-way button that serves as left/right mouse and pause.


BobA

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5943
  • Last login:July 11, 2018, 09:52:14 pm
  • What Me Worry?
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2011, 08:07:42 pm »
+1 for the minipac however the trackball and spinner only work when connected via USB.


wizkid32

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:August 30, 2013, 07:27:03 pm
  • Portland Trailblazers, FTW!
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2011, 08:24:11 pm »
Yup.  The miniPac is aa IPac2 + spinner or trackball.  Even I know that!   ;D  (Not trying to make you feel bad, just excited!   :applaud:)
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste him into your
(")_(") signature and help him on his quest for world domination.

Best,
Wizkid32

Yeah8a8y

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:June 30, 2013, 07:10:48 pm
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2011, 06:45:15 pm »
Surely you can use the u-hid, also from Ultimarc!

wizkid32

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:August 30, 2013, 07:27:03 pm
  • Portland Trailblazers, FTW!
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2011, 10:07:23 pm »
MOAR BUTTONS!!!


What exactly does that (abomination to arcades everywhere) have to do with a combo board?
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste him into your
(")_(") signature and help him on his quest for world domination.

Best,
Wizkid32

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6482
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:45:58 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2011, 10:15:54 am »
MOAR BUTTONS!!!


What exactly does that (abomination to arcades everywhere) have to do with a combo board?

both an iPac and an OptiPac and only using a fraction of the inputs on each.

what's not to get? ... MOAR BUTTONS!

newmanfamilyvlogs

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1660
  • Last login:Today at 01:22:18 pm
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,103584.msg1096585.html#msg1096585
    • Newman Family Vlogs
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2011, 01:13:04 pm »
A rapid interface for one of these:
http://lab.andre-michelle.com/tonematrix


lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6482
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:45:58 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #9 on: December 22, 2011, 01:29:31 pm »
A rapid interface for one of these:
http://lab.andre-michelle.com/tonematrix



i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, i will not spend my lunch hour playing this, I WILL NOT...

Damn it all!

magnetik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • Last login:August 16, 2014, 11:57:12 pm
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2011, 05:18:53 pm »
the interface for the turbotwist 2 has an interface for adding a trackball

wizkid32

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 270
  • Last login:August 30, 2013, 07:27:03 pm
  • Portland Trailblazers, FTW!
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2011, 07:54:24 pm »
A rapid interface for one of these:
http://lab.andre-michelle.com/tonematrix

Curse you, Cotmm68030!!!!!  Now I will never get any sleep tonight!!!!!!   :hissy:
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste him into your
(")_(") signature and help him on his quest for world domination.

Best,
Wizkid32

drventure

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4152
  • Last login:February 01, 2019, 06:15:33 pm
  • Laser Death Ray Bargain Bin! Make me an offer!
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2011, 10:00:59 pm »
Draw all your favorite 8 bits characters and find out what they REALLY sound like  ;D

lilshawn

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6482
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:45:58 pm
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2011, 01:21:20 am »
Draw all your favorite 8 bits characters and find out what they REALLY sound like  ;D

dude i totally thought about drawing a mario head this afternoon!!, as i was, i was like, NO!, I will not waste yet another lunch hour on this again...

i'm saving alot of money now though.

newmanfamilyvlogs

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1660
  • Last login:Today at 01:22:18 pm
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,103584.msg1096585.html#msg1096585
    • Newman Family Vlogs
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2011, 08:48:49 am »

Gray_Area

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3363
  • Last login:June 23, 2013, 06:52:30 pm
  • -Banned-
Re: Does a "combo" interface board exist?
« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2011, 03:09:47 am »
-Banned-