Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Repair Thread: Stern Lightning  (Read 4769 times)

FrizzleFried

• no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 30, 2023, 01:14:24 pm
    • Idaho Garagecade
Repair Thread: Stern Lightning
« on: July 08, 2008, 03:02:27 pm »
Because KLOV is down and I dunno for how long,  I figure I will ask in here.   Keep in mind I am a pinball newb and will have to have my hand held doing just about anything...

Here's the problem...my STERN LIGHTNING has no flipper movement.  Nothing.  The relay does not click as I'd guess it should,  nor does anything move in the clear plastic relay housing.

They (the flippers) worked before I removed the MPU and cleaned up some battery damage.  Nothing afterwards.  All other solenoids fire as they are supposed to...

Someone mentioned bypassing the relay on KLOV.  Can someone explain to me,  in as simply/thorough way as possible,  how I am supposed to bypass the relay?   I was told to ground out the 'ground wire at the flipper switch (button?)...I tried,  with an alligator clip from the ground of the button to a ground strap with no success.

Any suggestions?

EDIT: BTW, all fuses check out...and there is a 1.5a slow blow under the playfield that checks out...but there is only like .8v or something going through that fuse...is that right?
« Last Edit: July 08, 2008, 03:04:18 pm by FrizzleFried »