Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Electrical Wiring Question (Update: IT WORKS!!!!!)  (Read 5000 times)

Jdurg

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:October 04, 2020, 09:26:27 pm
  • A young guy feeling older than sin......
Electrical Wiring Question (Update: IT WORKS!!!!!)
« on: March 23, 2008, 01:09:02 pm »
Okay, I'm a bit of a newbie with electrical wiring, but I do understand most of the basics.  Therefore, I want to run this idea by some people before I implement it.  Basically, I have a coin door with two distinctly separate coin-mechs and one coin meter that counts the coins put in.  I want to hook up the coin mechs to two uniquely different inputs on my keyboard encoder, but have both of them increment the coin meter by one if a coin is put in.  My problem was figuring out how to keep the two circuits independant from each other, yet have both of them be a part of the coin meter circuit.  I think I can use diodes to accomplish this and place a diode on each circuit from the coin mech to prevent a signal from travelling in the wrong direction.  A sketch of what I'm doing is below.  Will this work?  I'm using a 4.5V coin meter with a diode in it, and standard coin switches.

My apologies for the poor quality of the sketch.  This was done with a touchpad and not a mouse.   :cheers:

« Last Edit: May 26, 2008, 08:24:05 pm by Jdurg »
Donkey Kong High Scores:
1): 49,500