Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: N64 in computer case  (Read 3434 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RetroBorg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 817
  • Last login:October 21, 2019, 09:32:27 pm
  • Your arcade games will be assimilated!
N64 in computer case
« on: June 29, 2002, 09:26:43 am »
I want to mount my N64 in my computer case and play N64 on my computer monitor. Does anybody know how to do this?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2002, 09:37:43 am »
NO OFFENCE>>> ;D

but how "NEW" are you???you dont have to mount no n64 to use it one your pc monitor...just get VGA to AV converters..they run for like $60..ebay....

also if you just mount your N64..that wont just make it work with PC monitor...NEED CONVERTER man ;D
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17821
  • Last login:Today at 02:56:23 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2002, 02:36:12 pm »
Quote
NO OFFENCE>>> ;D

but how "NEW" are you???you dont have to mount no n64 to use it one your pc monitor...just get VGA to AV converters..they run for like $60..ebay....

also if you just mount your N64..that wont just make it work with PC monitor...NEED CONVERTER man ;D



Very, very, bad advice man... first off he would need a av to vga converter not the other way around.  Secondly those are going to give very poor quality output.  The best way to do it is to tap into the n64 directly, although this is hard to do and requires the building of various circuitry.  There are alot of sites that show you how to do this, but you'll have to search for them.  

retroborg:  Also dont think that just because you hook it to a vga monitor it's magically going to up the resolution on your games.  The n64 uses standard ntsc resolutions on 90% of it's games.  This is way smaller than the resolutions most computer montiors run at.   Some do use a whopping (snicker)640*480 res, but that's an analog hardware filtering trick to smooth edges of polygons and the games aren't actually meant to be viewed at that res.  

As for the computer case, unlike SNAAAAAAKE(for the love of god quit putting everything in caps and tacking on extra letters) I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and hope you were only wanting to put it in a case for asthetic reasons.  You might want to re-think that though as the n64's main board is 1/16th the size of a computer motherboard and you would be wasting alot of space. However techtv's master modder decided to take all of his consoles and put them in a single case to make his gaming system look nice.  Go over to techtv.com/thescreensavers and search for "yoshi's box".  
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2002, 03:16:02 pm »
if you are looking for quility then LINE DOUBLER would work...i never seen it.......if you just wanna hook up n64...those AV to VGA would work...or get a video card that has AV inputs..ATI RAGE FURY PRO...i am using PS2 on my arcade VGA...it works good..looks okay..even through it is AV..
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

The Man

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Last login:August 27, 2009, 03:41:49 pm
  • I'm easy like Sunday mornin!
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2002, 01:47:15 pm »
Why not get a N64 emulator?  :-/
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

dgodwin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:August 10, 2007, 05:08:54 pm
    • http://dgodwin.com
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2002, 04:28:35 pm »
You might want to check out the following article from the screensavers:
http://www.techtv.com/screensavers/supergeek/story/0,24330,3381725,00.html

It's about Yoshi's Boxx, which contains a full computer, plus a playstation2, a gamecube, an original nintendo, and an atari 2600

Daniel
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
A cubicle is a coffin with email.

Dave_K.

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1806
  • Last login:June 10, 2014, 01:20:48 pm
    • Arcade Fever
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2002, 07:40:07 pm »
Snake, if I said I'm working on a project to mount a dreamcast inside a laptop casing (and using the LCD as display) would you call me a newbie too?

;D just joking

BTW: sounds like a cool project, don't it!

-Dave
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #7 on: July 01, 2002, 08:08:50 pm »
dave,
i wont call ya anything..but why go through all those?just wondering why?isn't it enough that we get to play actual arcade games with real arcade joystick and have the whole machine.just my thoughts. :P
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re: N64 in computer case
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2002, 08:13:35 pm »
very very sorry..i just saw this yoshi's page...i had no idea people would do such thing..man people do have lot of time.and IDEAS...sorry :-/
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »