Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Replacing a power cord  (Read 1180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SithMaster

  • Lets see how happy you are when you need to use a lawn mower and it keeps turning off when you want to cut up zombies.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Last login:January 12, 2014, 03:52:59 pm
  • The brightest light casts the darkest shadow.
Replacing a power cord
« on: August 08, 2007, 03:17:40 pm »
the one from my defender was missing the third prong so i want to use the one from a gutted galaxian.  Does anyone know where i could find the molex connector in the picture and which wires are ground etc?  Im going to check the manuals for both games (should be there).  thanks.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 03:38:45 pm by SithMaster »
Back in MY day we lived on the moon and we had to build a rocket ship from scratch to get to the Earth before we suffocated.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 03:21:08 pm »

Don't use an ancient one, use a new one... just cut the PC end off a PC power cord, strip the three wires inside, and wire them up inside your cab.  Good quality grounded power cord cheap.

SithMaster

  • Lets see how happy you are when you need to use a lawn mower and it keeps turning off when you want to cut up zombies.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Last login:January 12, 2014, 03:52:59 pm
  • The brightest light casts the darkest shadow.
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2007, 03:32:00 pm »
Why didnt i think of that?  I do have a couple extra cables around.  How about the molex connector though?  You cant really tell from the pic but i cant find any that look like this
Back in MY day we lived on the moon and we had to build a rocket ship from scratch to get to the Earth before we suffocated.

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2007, 03:36:01 pm »
There is not pic, so I can't tell you much for sure. What I can tell you is that in most cases with these old games you are better off buying a new matched pair of molex connectors. You could just ditch the molex connector all together if you want. Either way, make sure you put a knot in the new power cord as a strain relief right inside the back door.

SithMaster

  • Lets see how happy you are when you need to use a lawn mower and it keeps turning off when you want to cut up zombies.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Last login:January 12, 2014, 03:52:59 pm
  • The brightest light casts the darkest shadow.
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2007, 03:41:17 pm »
Fixed the link for the pic but i found what i need on happs page so im going to try and see if mouser or a store nearby carries them.

Actually the cab had a snap tie that would screw into the wood so the cable couldnt be pulled but i had to cut it off.  I probably will knot it but i might need to get a longer cord for that.  It seems that every time i get anything that comes with a cord it gets shorter and shorter.

edit-i may try taking one from a pc fan.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 03:52:16 pm by SithMaster »
Back in MY day we lived on the moon and we had to build a rocket ship from scratch to get to the Earth before we suffocated.

CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:August 16, 2019, 09:30:14 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2007, 03:46:56 pm »
I would try Bob Roberts -- he has a bunch of Molex stuff (although I have never ordered any from him).
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2007, 03:54:08 pm »

Why does the power cord need to be molexed anyway?  You're not going to remove it.  Strain relief is important but other than that just wire it straight into the distribution block.

SithMaster

  • Lets see how happy you are when you need to use a lawn mower and it keeps turning off when you want to cut up zombies.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Last login:January 12, 2014, 03:52:59 pm
  • The brightest light casts the darkest shadow.
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2007, 04:02:22 pm »
Cheff- i checked his site but im not going to pay 7.50 for a part that small.

Chad- just in case someone/something bumps into it or it wiggles its way out.  Id just feel better knowing its on there tight.
Back in MY day we lived on the moon and we had to build a rocket ship from scratch to get to the Earth before we suffocated.

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2007, 04:06:59 pm »

The molex connector has nothing to do with being on there tight.  That is what the strain relief is for.  There should be zero pressure on the electrical connection - ever.  A molex connector actually adds a risk factor to a connection.  It can corrode, it can wiggle loose, the pins can break.  It's there for a component design, not physical strength.  If you're not going to ever be swapping the cord then a molex is actually a bad idea.

SithMaster

  • Lets see how happy you are when you need to use a lawn mower and it keeps turning off when you want to cut up zombies.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Last login:January 12, 2014, 03:52:59 pm
  • The brightest light casts the darkest shadow.
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2007, 04:13:23 pm »
i stand corrected.
Back in MY day we lived on the moon and we had to build a rocket ship from scratch to get to the Earth before we suffocated.

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2007, 04:22:19 pm »
Ahh the picture has cometh and all is clear. You can reuse that molex on the power cord if you want. Just cut it off a few inches up and splice it into the new cord. Green=ground, white=neutral, black=hot.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2007, 04:37:56 pm by shardian »

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:January 20, 2020, 10:27:05 am
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2007, 04:30:17 pm »

That also happens to be his preferences for women.

CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:August 16, 2019, 09:30:14 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2007, 04:37:46 pm »
Cheff- i checked his site but im not going to pay 7.50 for a part that small.

$7.50 ?
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

SithMaster

  • Lets see how happy you are when you need to use a lawn mower and it keeps turning off when you want to cut up zombies.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1781
  • Last login:January 12, 2014, 03:52:59 pm
  • The brightest light casts the darkest shadow.
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2007, 07:51:55 pm »
For the connector.  He has it for 1.50 but then the price to ship is 6 dollars.  Ill probably just hack something.
Back in MY day we lived on the moon and we had to build a rocket ship from scratch to get to the Earth before we suffocated.

RichSorr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 180
  • Last login:August 29, 2015, 07:27:00 pm
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2007, 11:37:49 pm »
you can get those connectors at radio shack or any other electronics store. 

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Replacing a power cord
« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2007, 02:31:50 am »
Try digikey or mouser.