Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: The letter "I" not used on alpha-numeric jukeboxes  (Read 3160 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

LHUPA

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 59
  • Last login:September 03, 2019, 01:05:09 am
The letter "I" not used on alpha-numeric jukeboxes
« on: July 25, 2007, 04:18:58 am »
I must build a specific skin for someone with DOSCAB prior to install it in real wallboxes and I want to know why the letter "I" were never used on the classic or conventional alpha-numeric jukeboxes? Ex: a typical jukebox selector keyboard has letters: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, J, K, L, and so on! I have also remarked that in other technology domains it is the same thing ex: machinery and tools adjusting. What is this? Did someone on this forum knows the reason?


Thanks!


LHUPA
« Last Edit: July 25, 2007, 04:23:08 am by LHUPA »

dibb1er

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • Last login:March 25, 2010, 07:14:38 am
Re: The letter "I" not used on alpha-numeric jukeboxes
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2007, 08:04:56 am »
Don't know for certain, but i suppose it is because it might get confused for the number "1" ?

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: The letter "I" not used on alpha-numeric jukeboxes
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2007, 09:42:05 am »
That's my guess... O gets skipped for the same reason on some jukes.
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com