Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Which bits do I need?  (Read 4218 times)

acevedor2

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:January 22, 2022, 07:44:45 pm
Which bits do I need?
« on: December 30, 2006, 03:18:17 pm »
Hi all.  First off let me say that I am a complete newbie when it comes to woodworking.  I know how to use (and own) a table saw and chop saw, as well as a jig saw and sander.  So I have most of the basics.  That said, I have never, however, used a router.  Now that I am getting ready to build my first MAME cab, I need to get some router skills.  At a minimum I will need to do the following things:
1.  Round over the edges of my CP (Entire cab is 3/4" MDF)
2.  Recess the joysticks and trackball mounting plate.  I will not have any bolts showing on the CP when finished.
3.  Route the groove for the T-Molding
4.  Trim the black laminate I am putting on the sides of the cab.
So this brings me to my first question:
I have read all of the info and threads on making  a jig and routing the recess and I understand it fairly well.  The problem is, I don't know which bit to get.  I know the thread says to use a flush cut laminate bit, but what size?  I have a 1/4" collet so that much I got, but what size of bit do I need.  I went to he sore and there are tons of 1/4" collet flush cutting bits available.