Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: coin mechs in CLR?  (Read 1210 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
coin mechs in CLR?
« on: July 12, 2005, 01:20:59 pm »
Can I soak a metal coin mech in CLR to remove "limestone" type of stuff off it?


NO MORE!!

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Today at 01:43:50 am
  • Technician
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 06:27:34 pm »
If it's light coating then dillute the CLR to 50% with water.

Stingray

  • Official Slacker - I promise to try a lot less
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10463
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 06:18:32 am
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2005, 09:29:02 am »
Okay Ray, I have to ask. How did you get limestone deposits on your coin mechs?

-S
Stingray you magnificent bastard!
This place is dead lately.  Stingray scare everyone off?

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2005, 12:01:04 pm »
Okay Ray, I have to ask. How did you get limestone deposits on your coin mechs?

I just got a new project cabinet. (A Juno First--see Projects forum). It has signs of moisture exposure in lots of spots inthe wood, and then pretty much everything metal inside has some whitish limescale type of build up on them.

NO MORE!!

Shape D.

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1607
  • Last login:July 05, 2012, 06:17:57 pm
  • >Look at me, I'm a Newbie<
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2005, 12:22:54 pm »
vinegar will also remove lime deposits.
Hey Baby, Have you ever met a Newbie with 38 pages of previous posts before? Do you Want to?

Stingray

  • Official Slacker - I promise to try a lot less
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10463
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 06:18:32 am
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2005, 01:25:52 pm »
You sure that it's not some kind of corrosion?

-S
Stingray you magnificent bastard!
This place is dead lately.  Stingray scare everyone off?

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2005, 02:32:58 pm »
You sure that it's not some kind of corrosion?

Could be...
NO MORE!!

Stingray

  • Official Slacker - I promise to try a lot less
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10463
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 06:18:32 am
Re: coin mechs in CLR?
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2005, 03:22:07 pm »
Seems more likely than lime deposits to me. I'm not sure, but I don't think that CLR will remove corrosion. I guess it's worth a shot anyway.

-s
Stingray you magnificent bastard!
This place is dead lately.  Stingray scare everyone off?