Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000  (Read 1758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

eggedd2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 396
  • Last login:February 14, 2006, 09:38:56 am
?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« on: June 25, 2005, 02:49:40 pm »
anyone know if it's possible to reset a coin counter inside a cab? just looked at mine and there's no buttons or anything on it

RayB

  • I'm not wearing pants! HA!
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11275
  • Last login:September 20, 2019, 09:40:16 am
  • There's my post
    • RayB.com
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2005, 03:22:54 pm »
You could attached a trigger button to it and make it advance X times until it rolls over.  :D (I hope you have alot of free time this weekend!)
NO MORE!!

eggedd2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 396
  • Last login:February 14, 2006, 09:38:56 am
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2005, 03:31:21 pm »
i take that as a no you cant reset it then  ;D

forbiddenlyrics

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 139
  • Last login:July 10, 2010, 03:19:34 pm
  • I'm Bart Simpson Who The Hell Are You?
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2005, 03:50:52 pm »
I've heard of some peple opening up their coin counters and resetting them to zero. Or else you could just buy a new one, they are only like $5.

Samstag

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1379
  • Last login:December 16, 2016, 01:41:19 am
  • That's not a llama!
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2005, 04:24:14 pm »
If you know a used car dealer I'm sure they can give you some tips.

Q*Bert_OP

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2089
  • Last login:October 25, 2012, 07:20:42 pm
  • Oh yes, we did!
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2005, 05:47:14 pm »
I've heard of some peple opening up their coin counters and resetting them to zero. Or else you could just buy a new one, they are only like $5.

I have done it before.
WTB: The Grid by Midway (2001), looking for 2 or more complete games, and large marquee

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Today at 09:42:52 am
  • Technician
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2005, 12:22:45 am »
The original coin counters supplied with commercial coin-op arcade games are designed not to be reset. It's so route operators can keep their employees honest or in the event of a machine break-in simple math and the previous weeks' meter reading can provide you with an exact amount of money stolen.

Every coin counting meter manufacturer makes a resetable version of what you have in there now. Just copy all the infor off the existing meter like manufacturer, model number, voltage, type of mounting, etc. and visit the manufacturer's website. I'm sure if you contact the manufacturer's tech support dept they'd be happy to tell you what resetable model crosses to what you have now. Resetable meters cost about 10 bucks.

eggedd2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 396
  • Last login:February 14, 2006, 09:38:56 am
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2005, 06:42:57 am »
that makes sense. i've made a note of what the counter was when i got the machine the other day so i'll easily be able to figure out how much i've put in it

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6956
  • Last login:Today at 09:42:52 am
  • Technician
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2005, 12:40:09 pm »
It is however possible for some brands/models of meter to be opened and reset. The metal-cased ones usually have two metal tabs under it's mounting plate. Squeeze the tabs and the cover slides off.

Personally, I never tamper with the meter unless it's broken. A working, untampered meter gives a good indication of how much play and hours a cabinet/game has seen. It's just like an odometer on a car.

Remember that it's a lot cheaper just to buy a brand new meter. If it's a DC meter then also be sure to note if the label says "with diode" (internal protection diode) or not. If the meter's wire leads are red and black wires then it generally indicates the meter has an internal diode. To use a non-dioded meter in an application that had a dioded meter can damage the game logic board.

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10994
  • Last login:March 08, 2020, 01:29:40 pm
  • Awesome face!
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2005, 07:24:39 pm »
Back when I pieced together my Time Pilot cocktail from nothing I reset an old meter (it didn't have one in the first place), I just took it apart, got it to zero, and then put it back together).
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

USSEnterprise

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1673
  • Last login:October 11, 2007, 11:15:08 pm
    • USS Odyssey
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2005, 01:59:57 am »
why dont you just keep cycling a quarter through it until it gets back to 00000
Proper capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse, and helping your uncle jack off a horse.

Q*Bert_OP

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2089
  • Last login:October 25, 2012, 07:20:42 pm
  • Oh yes, we did!
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2005, 10:10:21 am »
why dont you just keep cycling a quarter through it until it gets back to 00000

Most 6 digit coin meters only have a life 1,000,000 counts, but the one in my slot machine has gone about 10,000 counts over 1,000,000.
WTB: The Grid by Midway (2001), looking for 2 or more complete games, and large marquee

USSEnterprise

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1673
  • Last login:October 11, 2007, 11:15:08 pm
    • USS Odyssey
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2005, 10:26:25 am »
you could try running quarters through it backwards
Proper capitalization is the difference between helping your Uncle Jack off a horse, and helping your uncle jack off a horse.

cholin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:July 16, 2009, 09:22:25 pm
    • Nilok Productions
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2005, 11:10:24 pm »
 LMAO!  Or you could just hook up a 5v source to it constantly and cycle it through, and if thats not how it works, grab a cheap capacitor, it's all good.

ArcadeNoob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 65
  • Last login:March 16, 2007, 06:33:14 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2005, 02:53:15 pm »
Yea, I dont think my counter in a game of mine works...........any idea on how to FIX it?

eggedd2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 396
  • Last login:February 14, 2006, 09:38:56 am
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #15 on: July 05, 2005, 05:03:11 am »
i'm going to leave it as it is.  i think it shows a bit of history

TheOtherBob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
  • Last login:September 23, 2007, 09:07:39 pm
  • Sunspot activity has increased energy output...
Re: ?? Possible to put a coin counter back to 00000
« Reply #16 on: July 05, 2005, 03:19:51 pm »
you could try running quarters through it backwards


hehehe...... Ok, Ferris Bueller....... ;)