Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Wiring Glitches ....  (Read 1106 times)

bcard74

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 24, 2007, 11:46:24 pm
Wiring Glitches ....
« on: November 21, 2002, 11:22:33 pm »
Hi all.  Done my bartop, but I am having to go over ALOT of my soldering again as it is my first attempt at it.  I hacked a gameport Sidewinder, and did a pretty messy job overall.  Basically, this is what I am having happen often, perhaps you can tell me if it sounds like a ground problem or just crappy soldering ...

The stick and buttons generally work fine, but occasionally I will hit a combination of buttons or a stick movement that will basically act like hitting the ESC key and out of the game I go.  I have a button wired that is for this purpose ...

There is no real pattern to when it happens and with any specific combo of stick movement or button presses.  Does it sound like a problem where exposed wire is hitting another, or does it sound like a ground problem?  I have one wire soldered to a ground on the gamepad, and then ALL the other grounds off the buttons and stick are just mashed onto that wire.

I appreciate any insight, I realize I have to do a lot of it over because it is half-assed, but you guys may be able to guide in a specific direction to work on.  Thanks.

liche

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 13, 2007, 08:05:18 am