Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: How to secure soldered wires?  (Read 5681 times)

Randolph

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 30, 2016, 09:35:02 pm
  • I'm a llama!
How to secure soldered wires?
« on: November 20, 2002, 10:44:12 pm »
Hi, I'm kinda new to this electrical and soldering stuff so please forgive what may be a basic question for most.

I finished soldering wires to a gamepad and want to secure the soldered points for fear that a slight tug will disconnect the wire. In my limited experience with electronic components I recall seeing these little globs of rubbery material whose purpose seemed to be to increase the strength of the connection.

Is that glob the best way to secure connections and if so are there tips somewhere for doing so? If not, what's the recommended way to accomplish this?

electricd

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 05, 2011, 03:30:33 pm
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:How to secure soldered wires?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2002, 11:13:50 pm »
The solder should be strong enough.  I used to have the same fear, until I became more confidant in my soldering skills...the solder joint is suprisingly strong!  But if you are worried, even a glob of hot glue will work fine.  Just a pain to get off later :)

hyiu

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:August 29, 2014, 05:36:15 am
  • too many games... too little time....