Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Win98 Skeleton  (Read 2343 times)

The_SandMan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 04, 2005, 02:46:34 am
  • I am a Newbie
Win98 Skeleton
« on: November 07, 2002, 07:06:08 am »
Hi

I am running GL in Win98 DOS mode. Everything is working 100%. When I go in through Step by Step Confirmation i.e. F8 mode, one of the first things that Win98 does is load the registry into memory. Knowing Windows and the size of the registry, this is a memory killer.

As I am running in DOS and not in Win32 mode, is there any way of disabling the loading of the registry upon startup ?

Cheers,

Howard_Casto

• Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 21, 2024, 11:59:54 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re:Win98 Skeleton
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2002, 11:57:27 am »
Don't take this as sarcasam, but yeah.... it's called installing dos and getting rid of win 98.  

As far as windows is concerned, windows IS the registry.  If you were to remove it absolutely nothing would work properly.  

_Iz-

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:Today at 12:58:02 am
  • Time to coin up!
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2002, 01:42:53 pm »