Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Streamlining Control Mapping for Thousands of Games in MAME  (Read 333 times)

Davetrader2

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 19, 2024, 08:16:11 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Streamlining Control Mapping for Thousands of Games in MAME
« on: April 14, 2024, 02:18:02 am »
I'm completely new to this. I've got a 4-player control surface, and I've adjusted the "Input (general)" controls in MAME to prevent any conflicts. Now, I've got around 3000 games on my system, each needing its controls set up separately. I've heard that deleting the "default.cfg" file will prompt MAME to create a new one, resetting controls to MAME's defaults. Does this mean that if I delete the individual .cfg files for each game, they'll automatically use the modified settings from the "default.cfg" file I tweaked? I'm trying to figure out the most efficient way to handle this.

PL1

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:Today at 02:13:06 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Streamlining Control Mapping for Thousands of Games in MAME
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2024, 06:12:33 am »
I've adjusted the "Input (general)" controls in MAME to prevent any conflicts.
Good first step.