Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Nanao MS9-29A Replaced HOT failed again after an hour  (Read 371 times)

NightWolfx03

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:March 05, 2024, 04:58:44 pm
  • NoctemLupi
Nanao MS9-29A Replaced HOT failed again after an hour
« on: March 05, 2024, 03:51:57 pm »
Lemme preface this with the fact that I am still learning how to fix issues on CRTs. I have had a few wins, but I have this unit and 2 Sanwa's that I still haven't gotten working yet.

Anyways I have a Nanao MS9-29A in a Taito Battle Gear 2, It went to a black screen and was making a squealing noise. Pulled the chassis and pulled out the HOT and found that it was shorted. So I ordered some new ones, checked around the board for anything else that stood out (shorts, etc). Put the new HOT in and fixed up the cruddy looking solder joints on string of surface mount resistors under the board near the flyback. It fired right up, the picture looked great, I let it run for a bit and after about an hour I found it with a blank screen and squealing again, so I guess the new HOT failed.

So now I need to figure out what else is out of spec or bad that would have caused the HOT to fail.

I'm open to all suggestions/information, I'm also working on speaking with a friend that is significantly more versed than I am with CRTs when he's not busy.