Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame  (Read 8951 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« on: February 01, 2017, 09:58:40 am »
I cannot get any trackball games to work. I have a trackball connected to an ipac going into the serial port on the computer. Trackball or mouse works fine in Windows.
I am running Windows 7 pro 64 bit
MAME64 ver 0.172
I edited mame.ini and set mouse to 1 and trackball_device to mouse
I also tried a USB mouse.
Please help. Everything worked ok on my old computer running 0.038

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3760
  • Last login:Today at 05:58:54 pm
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 11:29:00 am »
2 stupid things to check first:

1) Have you configured the trackball in the mame options after pressing the tab button?
If so was it recognised ok?

2) some games have to be enabled to use trackballs/spinners etc via there service menu which can be activated via pressing F2.


coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2017, 11:46:13 am »
Yes it says mouse x and mouse y in the tab config menu

I will try F2 tonight

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8629
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:09:14 pm
  • ...
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 03:45:39 pm »
Yes it says mouse x and mouse y in the tab config menu

I will try F2 tonight

...but does MAME recognize the mouse when you try to remap them there?

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2017, 10:21:04 am »
 I am not sure what you mean "...but does MAME recognize the mouse when you try to remap them there?: ? Can you explain to me better?

Had no luck with using F2, still does not work, and actually I am stuck in the service menu for centipede and cannot get out

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3760
  • Last login:Today at 05:58:54 pm
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2017, 11:23:17 am »
When you enter the tab menu and scroll down the list to mouse x and y hit enter (on either) and move your trackball in the associated way.
If mame is recognising it then it will map it to your track ball.
If not there is something else wrong.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7740
  • Last login:Today at 06:37:22 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2017, 11:27:19 am »
I am not sure what you mean "...but does MAME recognize the mouse when you try to remap them there?: ? Can you explain to me better?
To remap controls in the MAME "Input (this Game)" menu:
- Use the up/down arrow keys to highlight the control you want to remap i.e. "Track X Analog"
- Press Enter
- Move the trackball horizontally
- MAME should register that movement and map the trackball X-axis to the "Track X Analog" input
- Do the same for "Track Y Analog" with the vertical Y-axis

If you make a mistake, Enter then ESC will set the highlighted input to "none" and Enter then ESC again will return the input to the default setting.

Had no luck with using F2, still does not work, and actually I am stuck in the service menu for centipede and cannot get out
If you get stuck in a service menu, press F3 to reset/reboot the game.


Scott

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #7 on: February 02, 2017, 12:31:59 pm »
No it does not map the trackball when I try that in the tab config menu

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7740
  • Last login:Today at 06:37:22 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2017, 01:31:42 pm »
No it does not map the trackball when I try that in the tab config menu
Something in MAME isn't properly configured.

Your mame.ini file should be in the "..\mame\ini\" folder.

-- If it isn't, move it there.

-- If it is, please post a copy so we can help you troubleshoot.


Scott
EDIT: Just noticed that you're using MAME64.

Is there a menu in the MAME64 GUI that allows you to enable trackball?

MAMEUIFX has a "Default Games Options--Controllers" menu with that option.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2017, 01:41:24 pm by PL1 »

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3760
  • Last login:Today at 05:58:54 pm
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2017, 02:50:51 pm »
Dont think mame 64 has that menu Scott.

But yeah post up the contents of your ini file that should give us some clues....

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8629
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:09:14 pm
  • ...
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2017, 03:15:43 pm »
Dont think mame 64 has that menu Scott.

But yeah post up the contents of your ini file that should give us some clues....

It's been ages ago, but back when I first started messing around with this stuff I used MAME Plus. (circa v.128)
It turned out that it had it's own ini file in some other folder and making changes to the mame.ini in the main folder made no difference.

Could be something similar going on.


SlyBlueFox

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
  • Last login:November 07, 2019, 03:01:18 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2017, 04:17:18 pm »
Have you enabled multimouse in MAME?

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 9443
  • Last login:Today at 06:40:58 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2017, 04:22:45 pm »
Mouse support was removed from MAME in an effort to make it "more accurate."
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2017, 09:21:32 am »
Here is my mame.ini. Putting it in the \ini directory did not help. Renamed it to mame.txt as this site will not allow .ini extension

Multimouse is not enabled, I will enable it tonight.

Mouse support was removed?

#
# CORE CONFIGURATION OPTIONS
#
readconfig                1
writeconfig               0

#
# CORE SEARCH PATH OPTIONS
#
rompath                   roms
hashpath                  hash
samplepath                samples
artpath                   artwork
ctrlrpath                 ctrlr
inipath                   .;ini
fontpath                  .
cheatpath                 cheat
crosshairpath             crosshair
pluginspath               plugins
languagepath              language

#
# CORE OUTPUT DIRECTORY OPTIONS
#
cfg_directory             cfg
nvram_directory           nvram
input_directory           inp
state_directory           sta
snapshot_directory        snap
diff_directory            diff
comment_directory         comments

#
# CORE STATE/PLAYBACK OPTIONS
#
state                     
autosave                  0
playback                 
record                   
record_timecode           0
exit_after_playback       0
mngwrite                 
aviwrite                 
wavwrite                 
snapname                  %g/%i
snapsize                  auto
snapview                  internal
snapbilinear              1
statename                 %g
burnin                    0

#
# CORE PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
autoframeskip             0
frameskip                 0
seconds_to_run            0
throttle                  1
sleep                     1
speed                     1.0
refreshspeed              0

#
# CORE RENDER OPTIONS
#
keepaspect                1
unevenstretch             1
unevenstretchx            0
intscalex                 0
intscaley                 0

#
# CORE ROTATION OPTIONS
#
rotate                    1
ror                       0
rol                       0
autoror                   0
autorol                   0
flipx                     0
flipy                     0

#
# CORE ARTWORK OPTIONS
#
artwork_crop              0
use_backdrops             1
use_overlays              1
use_bezels                1
use_cpanels               1
use_marquees              1

#
# CORE SCREEN OPTIONS
#
brightness                1.0
contrast                  1.0
gamma                     1.0
pause_brightness          0.65
effect                    none

#
# CORE VECTOR OPTIONS
#
antialias                 1
beam_width_min            1.0
beam_width_max            1.0
beam_intensity_weight     0
flicker                   0

#
# CORE SOUND OPTIONS
#
samplerate                48000
samples                   1
volume                    0

#
# CORE INPUT OPTIONS
#
coin_lockout              1
ctrlr                     
mouse                     1
joystick                  1
lightgun                  0
multikeyboard             0
multimouse                0
steadykey                 0
ui_active                 0
offscreen_reload          0
joystick_map              auto
joystick_deadzone         0.3
joystick_saturation       0.85
natural                   0
joystick_contradictory    0
coin_impulse              0

#
# CORE INPUT AUTOMATIC ENABLE OPTIONS
#
paddle_device             keyboard
adstick_device            keyboard
pedal_device              keyboard
dial_device               keyboard
trackball_device          mouse
lightgun_device           mouse
positional_device         mouse
mouse_device              mouse

#
# CORE DEBUGGING OPTIONS
#
verbose                   0
log                       0
oslog                     0
debug                     0
update_in_pause           0
debugscript               

#
# CORE COMM OPTIONS
#
comm_localhost            0.0.0.0
comm_localport            15112
comm_remotehost           127.0.0.1
comm_remoteport           15112

#
# CORE MISC OPTIONS
#
drc                       1
drc_use_c                 0
drc_log_uml               0
drc_log_native            0
bios                     
cheat                     0
skip_gameinfo             1
uifont                    default
ui                        cabinet
ramsize                   
confirm_quit              0
ui_mouse                  1
autoboot_command         
autoboot_delay            0
autoboot_script           
console                   0
plugins                   1
plugin                   
noplugin                 
language                  English

#
# OSD KEYBOARD MAPPING OPTIONS
#
uimodekey                 SCRLOCK

#
# OSD FONT OPTIONS
#
uifontprovider            auto

#
# OSD INPUT OPTIONS
#
keyboardprovider          auto
mouseprovider             auto
lightgunprovider          auto
joystickprovider          auto

#
# OSD DEBUGGING OPTIONS
#
debugger                  auto
debugger_font             "Lucida Console"
debugger_font_size        9
watchdog                  0

#
# OSD PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
numprocessors             auto
bench                     0

#
# OSD VIDEO OPTIONS
#
video                     d3d
numscreens                1
window                    0
maximize                  1
waitvsync                 0
syncrefresh               0

#
# OSD PER-WINDOW VIDEO OPTIONS
#
screen                    auto
aspect                    auto
resolution                auto
view                      auto
screen0                   auto
aspect0                   auto
resolution0               auto
view0                     auto
screen1                   auto
aspect1                   auto
resolution1               auto
view1                     auto
screen2                   auto
aspect2                   auto
resolution2               auto
view2                     auto
screen3                   auto
aspect3                   auto
resolution3               auto
view3                     auto

#
# OSD FULL SCREEN OPTIONS
#
switchres                 0

#
# OSD ACCELERATED VIDEO OPTIONS
#
filter                    1
prescale                  1

#
# OpenGL-SPECIFIC OPTIONS
#
gl_forcepow2texture       0
gl_notexturerect          0
gl_vbo                    1
gl_pbo                    1
gl_glsl                   0
gl_glsl_filter            1
glsl_shader_mame0         none
glsl_shader_mame1         none
glsl_shader_mame2         none
glsl_shader_mame3         none
glsl_shader_mame4         none
glsl_shader_mame5         none
glsl_shader_mame6         none
glsl_shader_mame7         none
glsl_shader_mame8         none
glsl_shader_mame9         none
glsl_shader_screen0       none
glsl_shader_screen1       none
glsl_shader_screen2       none
glsl_shader_screen3       none
glsl_shader_screen4       none
glsl_shader_screen5       none
glsl_shader_screen6       none
glsl_shader_screen7       none
glsl_shader_screen8       none
glsl_shader_screen9       none

#
# OSD SOUND OPTIONS
#
sound                     1
audio_latency             2

#
# BGFX POST-PROCESSING OPTIONS
#
bgfx_path                 bgfx
bgfx_backend              auto
bgfx_debug                0
bgfx_screen_chains        default
bgfx_shadow_mask          slot-mask.png

#
# WINDOWS PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
priority                  0
profile                   0

#
# WINDOWS VIDEO OPTIONS
#
menu                      0

#
# DIRECT3D POST-PROCESSING OPTIONS
#
hlslpath                  hlsl
hlsl_enable               0
hlsl_oversampling         0
hlsl_write               
hlsl_snap_width           2048
hlsl_snap_height          1536
shadow_mask_tile_mode     0
shadow_mask_alpha         0.0
shadow_mask_texture       aperture.png
shadow_mask_x_count       320
shadow_mask_y_count       240
shadow_mask_usize         0.09375
shadow_mask_vsize         0.109375
shadow_mask_uoffset       0.0
shadow_mask_voffset       0.0
curvature                 0.0
round_corner              0.0
smooth_border             0.0
reflection                0.0
vignetting                0.0
scanline_alpha            0.0
scanline_size             1.0
scanline_height           0.7
scanline_variation        1.0
scanline_bright_scale     1.0
scanline_bright_offset    0.0
scanline_jitter           0.0
hum_bar_alpha             0.0
defocus                   0.0,0.0
converge_x                0.0,0.0,0.0
converge_y                0.0,0.0,0.0
radial_converge_x         0.0,0.0,0.0
radial_converge_y         0.0,0.0,0.0
red_ratio                 1.0,0.0,0.0
grn_ratio                 0.0,1.0,0.0
blu_ratio                 0.0,0.0,1.0
saturation                1.0
offset                    0.0,0.0,0.0
scale                     1.0,1.0,1.0
power                     1.0,1.0,1.0
floor                     0.0,0.0,0.0
phosphor_life             0.0,0.0,0.0

#
# NTSC POST-PROCESSING OPTIONS
#
yiq_enable                0
yiq_jitter                0.0
yiq_cc                    3.59754545
yiq_a                     0.5
yiq_b                     0.5
yiq_o                     0.0
yiq_p                     1.0
yiq_n                     1.0
yiq_y                     6.0
yiq_i                     1.2
yiq_q                     0.6
yiq_scan_time             52.6
yiq_phase_count           2

#
# VECTOR POST-PROCESSING OPTIONS
#
vector_length_scale       0.5
vector_length_ratio       500.0

#
# BLOOM POST-PROCESSING OPTIONS
#
bloom_blend_mode          0
bloom_scale               0.0
bloom_overdrive           1.0,1.0,1.0
bloom_lvl0_weight         1.0
bloom_lvl1_weight         0.64
bloom_lvl2_weight         0.32
bloom_lvl3_weight         0.16
bloom_lvl4_weight         0.08
bloom_lvl5_weight         0.06
bloom_lvl6_weight         0.04
bloom_lvl7_weight         0.02
bloom_lvl8_weight         0.01

#
# FULL SCREEN OPTIONS
#
triplebuffer              0
full_screen_brightness    1.0
full_screen_contrast      1.0
full_screen_gamma         1.0

#
# INPUT DEVICE OPTIONS
#
global_inputs             0
dual_lightgun             0

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3760
  • Last login:Today at 05:58:54 pm
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #14 on: February 03, 2017, 09:56:20 am »
Other than enabling multimouse to 1 that looks ok and should work.

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2017, 10:08:08 am »
Ok thanks. I will try that when I get home tonight

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7740
  • Last login:Today at 06:37:22 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2017, 10:30:07 pm »
Mouse support was removed?
PBJ's gotta PBJ.   :lol

Multimouse is not enabled, I will enable it tonight.
For now, that shouldn't make a difference since MAME doesn't see any mouse devices yet.

First get MAME to recognize mice, then enable multimouse if you want/need to isolate the mouse inputs.

inipath                   .;ini
Not sure if it makes a difference, but mine doesn't have the ".;"

I don't see anything else in there that might cause problems.   :dunno

--------
If there's a "centiped.ini" file, delete it, launch Centipede again, and try mapping the mouse controls again.
-- In the "Controls (this Game)" menu, does "Track X Analog" show up as "Mouse X" or something else?
-- Can you remap other controls like P1 Button 1?

--------
If that doesn't work, you might need to delete mame.ini and generate a new one using "mame -cc".

--------
If that doesn't work, did you download MAME from MAMEDEV or is it a GUI build like MAMEUI or MAMEUIFX?


Scott

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #17 on: February 04, 2017, 02:23:29 pm »
multimouse 1 did not help. I downloaded mame64.exe from mame dev. I deleter centipede config and it still will not map

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3760
  • Last login:Today at 05:58:54 pm
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #18 on: February 04, 2017, 02:45:09 pm »
Hmm
What track ball u using? Though tbh ime running out of ideas?

Is it just centipede u having trouble with or any game?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7740
  • Last login:Today at 06:37:22 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #19 on: February 04, 2017, 03:15:48 pm »
Try these 4 steps:

1. Delete mame.ini, generate a new one with "mame -cc", and only change mouse to "1" in the new mame.ini. (fresh ini file with only one change made = best chance of success)

2. In the "Controls (this Game)" menu, does "Track X Analog" show up as "Mouse X" or something else? (tests if MAME recognizes that mouse is supposed to be enabled)

3. Can you map a different keystroke to P1 Button1?  (verifies that MAME can remap controls)

4. If so, when you exit MAME and re-launch it, does it retain the re-mapped key? (tests if MAME files are set to "read only")


Scott

coppermouse

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:September 06, 2018, 11:04:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #20 on: February 05, 2017, 11:09:29 am »
Ok I followed those steps and in the new mame.ini I noticed ini was set to ini/presets, so I copied the ini file to the ini/presets/ directory and it works. Thanks for all the help!!!!

RCalabraro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:February 21, 2020, 01:35:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #21 on: February 21, 2020, 01:35:43 pm »
I am having a similar problem. I just installed MAME64. There is no mame.ini file that I can see. Please help!

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7740
  • Last login:Today at 06:37:22 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Can someone please help me get my mouse working in mame
« Reply #22 on: February 21, 2020, 02:48:07 pm »
I am having a similar problem. I just installed MAME64. There is no mame.ini file that I can see. Please help!
Installing MAME doesn't generate a mame.ini file.

You have to run MAME with the "-cc" (create config) option one time to do that.
- For example, if your MAME executable is MAME64.exe, run "MAME64 -cc".

After that, you can edit mame.ini to enable mouse.   ;D


Scott
« Last Edit: February 21, 2020, 02:49:52 pm by PL1 »