Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: House of Dead 4 not booting up  (Read 1518 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
House of Dead 4 not booting up
« on: May 13, 2020, 09:51:54 am »
I own The house of the dead 4 dedicated cabinet and I was having issues of it not booting up and showing on the screen. So i bought a new/used 6800XT video card the same one that was in there. I tried booting it up again showed on the screen (BONUS) and it got as far as the yellow loading screen and then went to black screen. I have pictures of it and there was a failure can someone help with this please and thank you.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4079
  • Last login:Today at 09:22:06 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2020, 04:12:47 am »
HDD failing maybe?

Possibly look into a flash card solution for it?

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2020, 09:16:56 am »
Thanks for the response but what do you mean a flash card solution? Iíll take the flash card out and clean it and inspect it I havenít done that yet. What else can I do with the flash card?

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2020, 10:23:13 am »
did it work with the previous card, i thought only 6800gt worked on these and could be upgraded to 7800gs

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4079
  • Last login:Today at 09:22:06 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2020, 11:03:42 am »
Thanks for the response but what do you mean a flash card solution? Iíll take the flash card out and clean it and inspect it I havenít done that yet. What else can I do with the flash card?
You can buy a flash card (big memory card basically) that replaces the hard drive.

I replaced the failing HDD in my area 51 cab.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2020, 11:40:49 am »
did it work with the previous card, i thought only 6800gt worked on these and could be upgraded to 7800gs

Yes it did work previous with old card. I left the machine in the garage for a long time cause the guns werent working properly. Then went to work on it and all this started happening. But ya I worked fine with the old video card.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2020, 11:42:24 am »
Thanks for the response but what do you mean a flash card solution? Iíll take the flash card out and clean it and inspect it I havenít done that yet. What else can I do with the flash card?
You can buy a flash card (big memory card basically) that replaces the hard drive.

I replaced the failing HDD in my area 51 cab.

Do you know which sites sell card for these cabs? And Iím assuming I have to install the game on it correct?

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4079
  • Last login:Today at 09:22:06 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2020, 11:58:00 am »
Thanks for the response but what do you mean a flash card solution? Iíll take the flash card out and clean it and inspect it I havenít done that yet. What else can I do with the flash card?
You can buy a flash card (big memory card basically) that replaces the hard drive.

I replaced the failing HDD in my area 51 cab.

Do you know which sites sell card for these cabs? And Iím assuming I have to install the game on it correct?
Not sure if anyone does, It was just a Idea I was floating but you can buy them for lots of gamings.

But yeah you have to clone the HDD to it, If its in mame (dunno if it is??) you can use the CHD file from there.

Sometimes theres other problems like lock out chips etc.

Anyways after you mentioning its been stuck in a garage for a while I would suggest cleaning all contacts and checking for any corrosion.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2020, 07:17:32 pm »
K so after cleaning up contacts and whatnot. I got it to boot a little further but then it said set up for source disk then threw an error code 6 regarding I/O board cant be found. So i did some searching on the interweb and Im not sure which IO board they are referring to. Theres the JVS video card on the motherboard itself then the gun sense I/O board and another JVS I/O board. Im assuming its the JVS I/O board but Im not exactly sure. Can someone confirm this if possible please and thank you.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2020, 07:56:22 pm by Encryptedmind »

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4079
  • Last login:Today at 09:22:06 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2020, 02:51:33 am »
So according to the manual the code relates to a lindenburgh I/o board fault.

http://www.progettosnaps.net/manuals/pdf/hotd4a.pdf

Interestingly in the parts list I can see no reference to said board only the JVS one so I would also assume that.

You may want to double check though I literally have just woke up :p
« Last Edit: May 15, 2020, 05:17:46 am by Titchgamer »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2020, 03:45:36 am »
what is the led doing on the jvs io pci card inside the pc
it should be flashing green

if its solid orange then remove and swap around with sound card, replace cr2032- leave battery out for 10 mins before replacing with new, clean the connectors

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2020, 08:28:05 am »
The light is solid orange. I will replace battery and swap sound card and JVS card around and let you know. Thanks fingers crossed.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2020, 10:23:43 am »
K so i cleaned the I/O board card and checked it out it seems ok. Replaced the battery after 10 minutes and tried it out. But its staying solid amber/orange. Does that mean the card is garbage?

Im gonna try something else and disconnect everything on the motherboard and leave it for a bit and plug everything back in and see what happens.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2020, 10:52:05 am by Encryptedmind »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2020, 11:16:55 am »
try a different pci slot

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2020, 01:50:36 pm »
So I plugged everything back in it did itís thing and is still throwing an error 6 for the I/o board. I tried swapping it in all the pci slots and same thing. So Iím assuming the card it garbage or is it a motherboard issue? Damn computers.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #15 on: May 15, 2020, 01:51:57 pm »
most likely its the card

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4079
  • Last login:Today at 09:22:06 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #16 on: May 15, 2020, 03:20:41 pm »
Agreed prob the card, Certainly cheaper and easier to get than a whole board anyway!

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2020, 04:09:49 am »
Iíve been doing some checking around on the internet and found out that the I/o card that Iíve been looking at with the amber light is actually a network card sega 837 14472R. Am I looking at the correct board for this error? I believe itís the I/o control Board for jvs I should be looking at sega 837-14505 board. Correct me if Iím wrong.
The network card plugs into the other board via USB.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2020, 04:13:12 am by Encryptedmind »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2020, 05:21:02 am »
the pci card is the card you are looking for, if that led remains orange you will have an issue
if the cabinet control io board was bad it would boot almost to game and show a different error

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2020, 12:02:28 pm »
Thank you for the confirmation. Much appreciated.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #20 on: May 18, 2020, 02:17:04 pm »
Is there anyway I can fix the card? Or does anyone have one for sale. Iíve looked around and they want at least $150 Canadian for one.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2020, 02:19:14 am »
150$ is cheap for one of these cards

maybe worth finding a local forum member who can test your card just to be sure

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2020, 08:38:24 am »
Ya that was my next step. Stupid question is it possible to try the card in another computer like my home PC? Or will i do damage to my PC.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #23 on: May 19, 2020, 09:17:42 am »
not something i would try

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #24 on: June 24, 2020, 12:45:53 pm »
Been looking on internet and found a PCI network card 837-14472R91 it is that the same as 837-14472R? I heard that one is for a yellow lindbergh and the other is for a red lindbergh? Or is the network card playable in both lindberghs?

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #25 on: June 24, 2020, 05:55:44 pm »
not sure if it would work, there are some differences and its not something i have ever tried

are you uk or usa based?

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #26 on: June 24, 2020, 08:46:32 pm »
I live in Ontario, canada

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6031
  • Last login:Today at 09:11:23 am
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #27 on: June 24, 2020, 09:11:37 pm »
well thats halfway then, i know mo at videotronics has the correct card and i would imagine shipping for this item would not be expensive
i suggest getting the identical part, saves time and money

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #28 on: August 12, 2020, 09:45:12 am »
Ok so back to trying to boot up my house of dead machine. I got a used network card and installed it and it worked. But now it booted up to an error 11. Says the JVS I/O board isnt connected to my main board. Question is, is the main board the motherboard or what other board is it? Ive unplugged all the connections on the JVS board and cleaned them and plugged them back in but still isnt working. I have 3 solid lights and 1 flashing light on the JVS board. Can someone direct me to which is the main board please and thank you.

Error 11
DISPLAY JVS I/O board is not connected to main board.
CAUSE (1) The I/O board is not connected.
(2) Unreliable connection between the main board and the I/O board.

COUNTERMEASURE (1) Connect the I/O board to the main board.
Verify that the power cable is connected to I/O board.
(2) Reconnect or replace the JVS cable that connects the I/O board to the main
board.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2020, 10:00:05 am by Encryptedmind »

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4079
  • Last login:Today at 09:22:06 am
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #29 on: August 12, 2020, 09:53:17 am »
The main board will be the game board.
Can you test the continuity of each pin of the IO to board connector?
If so check that, also check the power is ok to the IO board.

If all that checks out then I think you are SOL.

Encryptedmind

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 69
  • Last login:December 18, 2020, 12:37:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: House of Dead 4 not booting up
« Reply #30 on: August 12, 2020, 10:01:28 am »
The main board will be the game board.
Can you test the continuity of each pin of the IO to board connector?
If so check that, also check the power is ok to the IO board.

If all that checks out then I think you are SOL.

Thanks for quick response ill check it out thanks.
I canít find a proper diagram for my set up. I have the 837-14505 I/o board. Which wires go to the main board? So many damn wires lol.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2020, 11:57:25 am by Encryptedmind »