Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can I stop Win 7 processes?  (Read 583 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Doom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:February 14, 2019, 11:04:48 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« on: January 29, 2019, 10:46:59 am »
New user here, long time lurker. Iím not too familiar with windows but I run win7 and notice literally over a hundred processed (looks like it at least). Can I stop some of these? Any idea which ones are essential? This seemed like the best place to ask since my setup is a Groovymame dedicated cab with nothing else on it and only USB ports in use.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 857
  • Last login:Today at 02:05:12 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2019, 05:36:53 pm »
Most of what runs will be essential windows background tasks. That said, scan the lists for anything that isn't microsfot or windows, and search for that process using google. And take a look at your startup to see if there's anything loading that doesn't need to. Then maybe google a Win7 tweak guide, and try to figure out what you need and what you don't.

I was using a lite build of win 7 for a time - it ran really fast, but not having media player and not having task scheduler and not having heaps of other stuff, turned out to be a real pain in the long run.

Doom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:February 14, 2019, 11:04:48 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2019, 07:58:49 pm »
Thanks, will do that. Itís almost all Microsoft so probably not much I can remove.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3503
  • Last login:Today at 04:46:12 am
  • card carrying purist
Re: Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2019, 08:51:41 pm »
Are you experiencing any problems? If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Zebra

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:March 31, 2019, 03:04:06 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2019, 05:50:00 pm »
You can see what (if anything) is hogging resources in the Windows task manager.

You can also adjust the speed of games in Mame in the INI... if something is running too slow.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 857
  • Last login:Today at 02:05:12 am
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2019, 08:44:28 pm »
You can see what (if anything) is hogging resources in the Windows task manager.

You can also adjust the speed of games in Mame in the INI... if something is running too slow.

The first idea is a good one, but the second defeats the purpose of using GM to get native refresh.

Doom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:February 14, 2019, 11:04:48 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can I stop Win 7 processes?
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2019, 01:32:33 pm »
Are you experiencing any problems? If it ain't broke, don't fix it.
Yeah Iím not really having any issues. Sometimes Iíve had my front end crash on me but itís not a common occurrence. Iíll just leave it alone after checking Windows Task Manager.