Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?  (Read 191 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

abispac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1053
  • Last login:Today at 08:52:04 pm
Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« on: March 29, 2020, 06:44:02 pm »
Hey, iv used google with no luck, so far all solutions use some kind of hardware, so i was wondering if someone here knows a way to output the resolution on a crt arcade monitor. Thanks for any help.

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
  • Last login:Today at 07:27:50 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2020, 02:11:52 pm »
I can through DPI/GPIO or with a HDMI2VGA. In both cases, you'll have to use super resolutions as the raspberry pixel clock is very limited.

abispac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1053
  • Last login:Today at 08:52:04 pm
Re: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2020, 11:41:07 am »
I can through DPI/GPIO or with a HDMI2VGA. In both cases, you'll have to use super resolutions as the raspberry pixel clock is very limited.
isnt hdmi2vga a piece of hardware? because im looking to achieve this without hardware, thanks

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1796
  • Last login:Today at 07:50:03 am
  • Web Developer.
Re: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2020, 10:17:24 pm »
It can, through composite or gpio.

mamemaniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 57
  • Last login:Today at 08:40:31 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« Reply #4 on: Yesterday at 08:09:07 am »
It can, through composite or gpio.

Do you have a webpage or info how to hook it up and configure it with the GPIO?

abispac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1053
  • Last login:Today at 08:52:04 pm
Re: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 02:39:35 pm »
 :pics :pics :pics
It can, through composite or gpio.

Do you have a webpage or info how to hook it up and configure it with the GPIO?
:cheers:

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 324
  • Last login:Today at 07:27:50 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Raspberry pi 3b ,can it output 15khz without hardware?
« Reply #6 on: Today at 07:14:41 pm »
You need Gert VGA 666 at least. Devices such as Retrotink are not anymore available for sale.