Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: hantarex polo 28 problem(s) (SOLVED)  (Read 1461 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #40 on: November 15, 2018, 04:37:53 am »
OK :)

Pin3 of flyback.. if i look at the bottom at the board I am unable to see any pin numbers, I guess that they are at the top where the flyback is, so then i need to remove the flyback in order to test pin3?


I greatly appreciate your helpfulness and all my questions  ;D

NOTE I have also tested the HOT (BU508AF) in circut, no short between center leg and outer legs
« Last Edit: November 15, 2018, 04:41:49 am by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #41 on: November 15, 2018, 05:23:01 am »
pin 3 marked, you can read with flyback in place

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #42 on: November 15, 2018, 05:59:19 am »
HI

There is 145V at pin3 on flyback .

I forgot to connect the yoke connector this time, switched the power off immediately when i saw som smoke.  :'(

It seems that only the L105 i dead, I can measure 25V at one side closest to the power supply, but not at the other end at TP8 mark.
So i have to change the resistor, if i read the colors correct its an 2.2 Ohms .10%

The other volts are
TP6: still 145V
TP7: starts at around 52V but drops quickly to 0V
TP8: 0V but i will replace the dead resistor then it should be OK
TP9: 16V

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #43 on: November 15, 2018, 06:06:08 am »
yes 2.2 ohms and you will need to replace the vertical deflection ic tda1675a at ic103

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #44 on: November 15, 2018, 06:33:32 am »
Hi

OK - I have replaced the 2.2 Ohm resistor.

And have order 10 pcs TDA1675A
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10PCS-TDA1675A-ZIP-15/32858690405.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.7cff4c4d5vFWGE

So now i have to wait for a while... 3-4 weeks..

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #45 on: November 15, 2018, 08:13:44 am »
tda1675a are a common part, you could get from germany or uk in a few days

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #46 on: November 15, 2018, 08:51:57 am »
HI

Yes i cannot wait, so i have order one from UK also :)
Alway nice to have some parts in the boxes, and most of my arcade machines has a hantarex polo chassis.
I got an time crisis II, with dual monitors - (the one chassis is the one that i am trying to repair.)
I have also a Sega Scoud race - that is my next project, the one screen is missing a color - I have to see if that also is an polo chassis.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #47 on: November 15, 2018, 09:03:25 am »
scud race should be a nanao ms9-29su

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #48 on: November 15, 2018, 09:09:19 am »
scud race should be a nanao ms9-29su

 :o how do you know all this stuff ?    ;D
I will have to check later, i think that is a transistor on the neck board that has blown.. but i have not jet have had the time to pull the chassis out

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #49 on: November 21, 2018, 01:07:01 pm »
Hi

Just an update  :)

I have now replaced the vertical deflection ic tda1675a at ic103.
Also replaced some more caps, because i do not know when it last got a service, so replaced all them on the main board.
(triple checked polarity, and uf value.. some caps i replaced with ones with higher voltage)

C130
C157
C146
C184
C182
C150
C149
C139
C177
C165
C168

Do i miss anything....

Next step - try so install the chassis and see if there is picture, I really hope!  ;D
« Last Edit: November 21, 2018, 01:13:26 pm by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #50 on: November 21, 2018, 04:11:54 pm »
check r167 2r7 and d127 before powering on

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #51 on: November 21, 2018, 04:13:39 pm »
Hi

Will do,  thanks :)

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #52 on: November 21, 2018, 05:12:50 pm »
r167 2r7 and d127 checked out of circuit- all fine.
To late to test now - will test tomorrow :)

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #53 on: November 22, 2018, 03:09:40 am »
Well---- status is still not working  :'(
Only crackiling/static sound when power up the monitor

Volts is reading
TP6= 143,4V -> OK

TP7 = still 0V - why... ??!? (tested R130 reads 3,9 ohm and also tested C123 is OK)
Suggestion: Can i de solder one leg of TP7 to see if i have volt?

TP8 = 25V at the end of resistor closest to power supply at the other end 0V (is my 2.2 ohm0,5w resistor to small?)
Suggestion: Have to order a bigger w resistor

TP9 = 15V ->OK
« Last Edit: November 22, 2018, 05:02:15 am by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #54 on: November 22, 2018, 05:21:28 am »
tbh never even had to check tp7, if you have b+ stable, 15v and 25v then chassis is working
turn up the screen volts to see if you get a raster

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #55 on: November 22, 2018, 05:37:07 am »
tbh never even had to check tp7, if you have b+ stable, 15v and 25v then chassis is working
turn up the screen volts to see if you get a raster

OK.
I just have order some bigger W 2.2 ohm metal resistors, so that i can get the TP8 25V across :)

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #56 on: November 22, 2018, 06:36:28 am »
Hi

I just dig thru all my stuff one more time. ;)
I found a 1w 2.2 ohm resistor but it is white (think ceramic) - can i use that as a resistor for L105, or is it best to use a metal one ?

princess prin prin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
  • intrinsically safe
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #57 on: November 22, 2018, 07:41:31 am »
A resistor in L105 is a change done by Sambers after they took over Hantarex. Older Polos just have a wire jumper there, i.e. it's not really needed.

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #58 on: November 22, 2018, 08:12:16 am »
HI

OK thanks for the information, i have not fitted the 1w 2.2 ohm resistor and made some progress

TP6= 145V
TP7= 0V BUT at resistor r130 closest to power supply i have the 83V) - so why not at TP7... hmm
I have tested R130 an 3.9ohm resistor - i guess iŽll try to find a new one

TP8= 23,9V
TP9= 15,7V

So all my volts are there except my damm TP7 :)

Turned up the screen volts no raster :( just normal static sound when power on and off

I guess i have to figure out where my 83V is not comming to TP7
« Last Edit: November 22, 2018, 08:15:40 am by perjmolsen »

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #59 on: November 22, 2018, 08:30:27 am »
hmm

Now i dont undestand anything... :banghead:

Just turned it on one more time, now i dont have any volts at all?!?
Not even a static ..

Could it be my flyback now? so its not drawing any power - then the power supply not turning on...
I just wanted to test the 83V after R130.

 

princess prin prin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
  • intrinsically safe
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #60 on: November 22, 2018, 08:55:26 am »
The chassis doesn't use 85V. You don't measure anything at TP7 because it's isolated from the power supply as there is nothing in L104. The chassis uses 145v, 27v and 15v which is used to get 12v through the 7812 regulator.

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #61 on: November 22, 2018, 09:00:50 am »
The chassis doesn't use 85V. You don't measure anything at TP7 because it's isolated from the power supply as there is nothing in L104. The chassis uses 145v, 27v and 15v which is used to get 12v through the 7812 regulator.

OK - then i do not need to chase that 85V :)
Just looking into why all my volts went... ???

flow chart says check r103 may be open... just need to find it....

princess prin prin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
  • intrinsically safe
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #62 on: November 22, 2018, 09:13:36 am »
Forget about R103 as your PSU is outputting all the voltages. Do you have 12V? Is 25V going all the way to the vertical IC?

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #63 on: November 22, 2018, 11:00:29 am »
Forget about R103 as your PSU is outputting all the voltages. Do you have 12V? Is 25V going all the way to the vertical IC?

Hi

But suddenly, just out of the blue i lost my voltages from the PSU.
I just had turned the monitor off, then when i turned it on i did not get the usual static / cracking sound.

And now when i measure my volts, all my volts are fluxing in the low range.

TP6 from 0,3V to 1.6V
TP8 from 1,8V to 1,9V
TP9 from 1,3V to 1,8V

So suddenly without i have changed anything all my stable volts are gone.
It looks like that the PSU wants to power on but is unable to power on

Its giving me a fight ... so close, and now suddenly so far away again

If measure at TP1 i have 327V
« Last Edit: November 22, 2018, 11:45:22 am by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #64 on: November 22, 2018, 11:59:34 am »
you need to dummy load the b+ again

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #65 on: November 22, 2018, 04:06:46 pm »
Hi

Is this the correct procedure to put the dummy load on?

1. Desolder pins 1 and 3 of the flyback transformer(make sure they are completely desoldered and not touching the trace)so it is isolated from the circuit.
2. Connect all the wires to the monitor
3.Then use a 40 watt light bulb with crocodile clips connect one side the the chassis frame and the other to R227 (witch end?)
4. Connect multimeter to the same connections as the bulb.
5. Switch power on and see if i got my 145V B+ and also the other volts

If NOT - then there is a Power supply issue?
If there IS power then it is the flyback?

I just need to find a old 40W bulb tomorrow


grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #66 on: November 22, 2018, 04:35:39 pm »
desolder pin 3 of flyback  and then one side of 40w lamp to pad of pin 3 for proving power supply voltages- all connected to crt
you test +145 b+, 25v vertical deflection, 15v which means you can then check +12- all tests ok then power supply is fine

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #67 on: November 22, 2018, 04:47:20 pm »
Super - simple :)
Again thanks, also til princess pin pin..  :cheers:
This chassis is giving me a fight, and you are my army :).. but hopefully i am learning so next time i would be easy to fix

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #68 on: November 24, 2018, 08:06:52 am »
desolder pin 3 of flyback  and then one side of 40w lamp to pad of pin 3 for proving power supply voltages- all connected to crt
you test +145 b+, 25v vertical deflection, 15v which means you can then check +12- all tests ok then power supply is fine


Hi

Did the bulb test and, PSU seems to be good :)
TP6=135V
TP8= 24V
TP9= 16V
TP10= 12V

So it must be my flyback who is dead?
I have already order a spare and i can pick it up at the post office today
« Last Edit: November 24, 2018, 08:24:51 am by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #69 on: November 24, 2018, 11:13:34 am »
you need to check flyback function now
remove the HOT and read with a meter on diode test
leave hot out of circuit, resolder all flyback pins and lamp to pin 1- if it lights that mean flyback is possibly ok

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #70 on: November 24, 2018, 12:56:10 pm »
"Huston we have found the problem"

Removed the Transistor NPN HOT - BU508AF  tested it out of circut.

B-E = 0.056V - Must be 0,4-0,9V
B-C = 0,370V- Must be 0,4-0,9V
E-B = 0,055V - Must be OL
C-B = 0.491V - Must be OL
C-E = 0,451V - Must be OL

Strange that i earlier had tested it good, but that where in circuit.
But the HOT is COLD now  :P

 - so now... I will leave the hot out and resolder all flyback pins and lamp to pin 1


« Last Edit: November 24, 2018, 12:57:41 pm by perjmolsen »

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #71 on: November 24, 2018, 01:08:07 pm »
Lamp lights up when connected to pin 1  :applaud:
So i will wait for new HOT - I had already last week order some BU508AF in china, so a couple of weeks then i think that they are here.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #72 on: November 24, 2018, 01:11:44 pm »
you need to check the hv caps at c174 and c172 plus the east/west correction diodes at d134,135

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
« Last Edit: November 24, 2018, 02:33:51 pm by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #74 on: November 24, 2018, 03:19:26 pm »
yes they will do the job

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #75 on: December 14, 2018, 05:20:48 am »
Hi GrantSpain

Just an update - the package with the new HOT has arrived today.. BUT
It seems that i have order the wrong ones  :cry:... I just saw that i have ordered BU2508DF -> https://belchip.by/sitedocs/00011468.pdf
It must be an BU508AF -> https://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/bu508af.pdf

Can i use the BU2508? it has i higher collector to emitter volt rating 1500V
The BU508AF has a collector to emiter rating of 700V

Or is it best to go safe and get BU508AF
« Last Edit: December 14, 2018, 06:49:29 am by perjmolsen »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5784
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #76 on: December 14, 2018, 08:49:12 am »
transistor with a d means is has a built in diode, you should not use that on that chassis
you can use a bu508a, aw or af

princess prin prin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 132
  • intrinsically safe
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #77 on: December 14, 2018, 09:06:23 am »
You can use:

BU508A (needs insulator)
BU508AW (needs insulator)
BU508AF
BU508AFI
BU2508AF
BU2508AX
SGSI508V
S2000AF
S2000N

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #78 on: December 15, 2018, 06:57:55 pm »
Hi Grantspain and Princess prin prin  :cheers:

Thanks for your replys  ;D
I will wait for the correct component

perjmolsen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 181
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: hantarex polo 28 problem(s)
« Reply #79 on: January 02, 2019, 05:05:56 pm »
Hi

Now the last components has arrived :)

I have put in a new HOT (BU508A) so i have added a insulator.
Also mounted new poly caps C174 8.2nf 1600V and c172 3.3nf

So now am exiting to test if i have fixed it, but it will be tomorrow - i will keep you updated - hopefully with good news. :)

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31