Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: FFB Arcade Plugin  (Read 283628 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Super-Becker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Last login:February 27, 2024, 07:24:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1000 on: November 22, 2023, 01:18:54 pm »
There is something wrong with San Francisco Rush's FFB (Extreme Racing and The Rock), as it is not the same as what we find in the arcade. In MAME we can feel discomfort in FFB, a kind of "sandy" or "grainy" effect, which does not exist in the original arcade. Is it possible to correct or cancel this effect? Boomslangnz, I hope you see this message and can respond, I will be very grateful.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1001 on: November 25, 2023, 05:59:41 am »
explain better please

also, i cant seem to steer in latest mame on any of the sfrush games? it works fine in menu choosing car and track etc but once ingame car doesn't respond at all??

I thought it was MAME doing something dumb but then i tried rave racer and that worked fine

Super-Becker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Last login:February 27, 2024, 07:24:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1002 on: November 25, 2023, 08:29:09 am »
In fact I always suspected that this "sandy" effect shouldn't be there, but I could only be sure now that I have an original arcade. In the track selection menu everything works well but during the race, with the car moving, we can clearly feel this "sandy" effect especially in movements close to the steering wheel centering. Leave the maximum FFB strength at 100% to better highlight this effect.

Speaking of Rave Racer, strangely the FFB in this game tends to throw the force outwards, making it difficult to center the steering wheel even when we set the optional "Centering Force" to maximum. I'm not sure if it's like that in the arcade.

EDIT: In the most recent MAME (0.260) I only had problems with California Speed, which has no FFB. I make it clear that I have a small collection of games with FFB support, but I will post feedback on the ones I have, as long as it is not a hassle. I would like to once again congratulate you and thank you for this incredible work and for always interacting with us and responding to us. Thank you to you and your team.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2023, 08:46:23 am by Super-Becker »

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1003 on: November 25, 2023, 04:12:21 pm »
there's nothing i can do, im simply recieving the values as game sends them, i would say the "sandy" effect you call it, is modern wheel picking up the small details that older hardware would not have recieved the same

Ive heard this before saying like SFRush 2049 works way better, and yet they use the same exact code at my end

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1004 on: November 25, 2023, 05:16:42 pm »
https://mega.nz/file/AQ8EiBYY#qbkmzh04k_gwPj39p9HlJfqOOOy9k6uyfclN1Gc2arM

any MAME, Supermodel or Flycast FFB Plugin users? Ive made some tweaks for a few games here and just looking to ensure it works for all etc

FFB should be a little more accurate now on these games as it performs effects only when game sends it, previously i took the last state it sent, but if they stopped sending value then wheel would continue performing effect based on last value it recieved :(

anyway i didn't move all game code for now but it should work for some

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1756
  • Last login:February 26, 2024, 04:08:05 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1005 on: November 25, 2023, 08:20:26 pm »
Argh, i would test, but in the middle of kitchen renos so my setup is buried in boxes and furniture right now

Super-Becker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Last login:February 27, 2024, 07:24:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1006 on: November 26, 2023, 11:08:06 am »
there's nothing i can do, im simply recieving the values as game sends them, i would say the "sandy" effect you call it, is modern wheel picking up the small details that older hardware would not have recieved the same

Ive heard this before saying like SFRush 2049 works way better, and yet they use the same exact code at my end


I keep thinking there is something wrong, due to the huge difference. Maybe it's a problem with the emulation, because although the game runs much better in MAME than in the arcade itself, some things are different, such as the lighting of the tunnel on the second track, the calibration of the steering wheel when starting the game (for me, it never is completed effectively in both the T300 and the G29), etc. Perhaps some information is being sent incorrectly to the FFB plugin. Thank you very much for the answer, Boomslang.

Super-Becker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Last login:February 27, 2024, 07:24:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1007 on: November 26, 2023, 11:18:41 am »
https://mega.nz/file/AQ8EiBYY#qbkmzh04k_gwPj39p9HlJfqOOOy9k6uyfclN1Gc2arM

any MAME, Supermodel or Flycast FFB Plugin users? Ive made some tweaks for a few games here and just looking to ensure it works for all etc

FFB should be a little more accurate now on these games as it performs effects only when game sends it, previously i took the last state it sent, but if they stopped sending value then wheel would continue performing effect based on last value it recieved :(

anyway i didn't move all game code for now but it should work for some


Is this plugin the same as version 2.0.0.37, another version or is it exclusive? I don't use Flycast, but MAME and Supermodel do. In which games do you want the test to be carried out? I know that Supermodel does not send the correct information to the plugin, as Scud Race's FFB is incomplete in relation to what is native to Supermodel (we have already commented on this here).

jorgenjl2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:February 26, 2024, 11:05:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1008 on: November 26, 2023, 10:56:56 pm »
In fact I always suspected that this "sandy" effect shouldn't be there, but I could only be sure now that I have an original arcade. In the track selection menu everything works well but during the race, with the car moving, we can clearly feel this "sandy" effect especially in movements close to the steering wheel centering. Leave the maximum FFB strength at 100% to better highlight this effect.

Speaking of Rave Racer, strangely the FFB in this game tends to throw the force outwards, making it difficult to center the steering wheel even when we set the optional "Centering Force" to maximum. I'm not sure if it's like that in the arcade.

EDIT: In the most recent MAME (0.260) I only had problems with California Speed, which has no FFB. I make it clear that I have a small collection of games with FFB support, but I will post feedback on the ones I have, as long as it is not a hassle. I would like to once again congratulate you and thank you for this incredible work and for always interacting with us and responding to us. Thank you to you and your team.

I am glad I am not the only one who notices this. Something about SF Rush and the Rush the Rock ffb is off. I had to turn it off unfortunately it makes the game not very enjoyable. This video shows how the middle of the wheel has a loud clanking sound when starting one direction and moving the other. The arcade does not have that. I waited until I have a 2nd wheel in case it was faulty but I have three racing cabinets and they all do that so not just that one wheel. Rush 2049 is perfection for ffb so it is odd. I wonder if the new ffb version helps it though.

https://youtu.be/ZKrMgSz3Hw4?feature=shared

jorgenjl2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:February 26, 2024, 11:05:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1009 on: November 27, 2023, 08:48:38 pm »
@super-becker - does your edit mean that Rush ffb works in the latest version of Mame or are you referring to Rave Racer? California Speed ffb works great for me.

Super-Becker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Last login:February 27, 2024, 07:24:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1010 on: November 28, 2023, 03:12:52 pm »
FFB from SFRush and Rave Racer work on MAME 0.260. The last time California Speed's FFB worked for me was in MAME0.257. If it works for you, something must be outdated for me, but I don't know what it is.

Super-Becker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 86
  • Last login:February 27, 2024, 07:24:26 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1011 on: November 28, 2023, 06:51:04 pm »
https://mega.nz/file/AQ8EiBYY#qbkmzh04k_gwPj39p9HlJfqOOOy9k6uyfclN1Gc2arM

any MAME, Supermodel or Flycast FFB Plugin users? Ive made some tweaks for a few games here and just looking to ensure it works for all etc

FFB should be a little more accurate now on these games as it performs effects only when game sends it, previously i took the last state it sent, but if they stopped sending value then wheel would continue performing effect based on last value it recieved :(

anyway i didn't move all game code for now but it should work for some


As for this plugin:
 
California Speed - The FFB worked in MAME 0.260 and 0.261 on the T300 and G29 flywheels.

Scud Race (Supermodel) - I thought it would look like the Supermodel's native FFB but it didn't. I also tested with the T300 and G29.

SFRush - On the T300 steering wheel, the FFB is corrected and working perfectly, in MAME 0.261, without "sandy" effects, including with maximum strength of 100% (it's the closest thing to the original arcade).
In G29 the sandy effects eased but unfortunately they are still bad.

I tested only with these games. I don't think I would know how to differentiate the others because I hardly play them. Congratulations on the work, Boomslang. Thank you very much. I would be happy to give back in some way.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Last login:January 01, 2024, 08:20:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1012 on: November 29, 2023, 01:01:19 am »
yes because the MAME devs changed the name of FFB output for some reason on California Speed

I corrected it for that test release

jorgenjl2

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:February 26, 2024, 11:05:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1013 on: December 03, 2023, 07:00:21 pm »
I tried Rush and the Rock with the latest Mame (.261), latest game, and latest ffb plugin but it is still the same even with 35% max ffb. If there was a way to remove the left and right 15 degrees center it would maybe be fine. So like Boomslang said it must be something the g29 picks up on that the arcade does not. Very odd that Rush 2049 and Cali Speed (and every other game) work perfectly. So it is what it is. Everything else is great.

Actually I guess the only one outstanding I need to try is Crusn USA/World. Does anyone have that working? If you crash into another car head on or another racer does it have ffb? I donít recall seeing ffb in the arcade but mine. For Crusn World a couple years ago I remember I had to enable a setting to feel the ffb (max force or something) but it didnít seem to work correctly but if someone can confirm it works now I will have to give it another shot.

Drakkorcia

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Last login:January 27, 2024, 04:40:30 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1014 on: December 19, 2023, 03:44:23 pm »
Recommended settings anyone? Still getting used to this plugin and the wheel settings themselves.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2023, 10:02:16 pm by Drakkorcia »

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1756
  • Last login:February 26, 2024, 04:08:05 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1015 on: December 25, 2023, 05:52:49 am »
Err, was this the post asking about flycast through Retroarch and you've edited it to nothing? I seem to remember that there is some sort of permissions issue with Flycast and the FFB plugin. First, make sure everything is set to run-as-admin. If thta fails, try turning things back to normal user one at a time.

If that fails, try launching flycast different way or adding another layer. So, if retroarch is launching a shortcut, have it launch a batfile that launches the shortcut. And run everything as admin if in doubt.


Darklight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:February 10, 2024, 11:20:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1016 on: January 06, 2024, 03:55:30 pm »
Hello!
First off, this is amazing! I have San Fransisco Rush 2049 Special Edition running through mame with this and it is almost flawless!

So the feedback is good except every 2 seconds or so the power seems to cut out for a split second. It almost feels like hitting a rock in the road. You can feel it on longer turns and in the menu.
Any idea how to fix this?

Darklight

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:February 10, 2024, 11:20:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1017 on: February 10, 2024, 11:21:04 pm »
Just an update on this particular problem

I re downloaded both mame and FFB plugin. Then changed the mame.ini file to say Windows instead of auto. And everything is PERFECT!

scoodidabop

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 138
  • Last login:Today at 01:21:34 am
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #1018 on: February 26, 2024, 11:49:13 am »
Before I comb the entire thread is there any examples of MAME crashing with this plugin?

When I open FFB GUI and select no input in the dropdown menu MAME runs fine. If I select my wheel in the dropdown then MAME crashes. Event viewer says it's a pid.dll error. Mame also works if the dinput8.dll isn't copied into the directory, so I'm getting the idea this is some kind of hardware ID issue?  Tried with MAME 262 and 254.

The plugin works fine with Teknoparrot so I know it's working with my wheel.

edit;
I'm having the same problem as @johndough247 back on page 21. MAME crashes when hooked and the test program crashes after about 8 tests. I tried older FFB plugins on older MAME versions (1.8ffb on 229mame) and the same problem occurs. I also tried renaming the dinput8.dll to the other cheeky things suggested in the "spring effect" update on github (opengl32, xinput1_3, dinput) and that didn't improve the situation.  Like johndough I have a direct drive wheel and the plugin is working great with Demul, M2, TP etc...  Really strange! I added the dinput file and my mame folder to virus exception as well, in case windows was blocking it. pid.dll error is still showing up in event viewer, if I launch via command line I get this:

Exception at EIP=00007ff8aec8266e (register_frame_ctor+0xa5817fee): ACCESS VIOLATION
While attempting to read memory at 000000281b010010
-----------------------------------------------------
RAX=000000281b00ffd8 RBX=00000000ffffffff RCX=000000001b33f7d0 RDX=0000000000000000
RSI=000000001b33f7d0 RDI=000000001b010000 RBP=0000000011dbee40 RSP=0000000011dbedf0
 R8=0000000000000000  R9=0000000040000000 R10=0000000000000000 R11=0000000000000000
R12=0000000000000001 R13=00000000000f0034 R14=00000000000003ff R15=0000000040000000
-----------------------------------------------------
Stack crawl:
  0000000011dbee70: 00007ff8aec8266e (DllCanUnloadNow+0x0d8e)
  0000000011dbef00: 00007ff8aec840b2 (DllCanUnloadNow+0x27d2)
  0000000011dbf080: 00007ff8aec84a9c (DllCanUnloadNow+0x31bc)
  0000000011dbf0e0: 00007ff88c9242c5 (GetdfDIJoystick+0xa105)
  0000000011dbf120: 00007ff88c9291ef (DllGetClassObject+0x3ebf)
  0000000011dbf150: 00007ff88c928a89 (DllGetClassObject+0x3759)
  0000000011dbf1a0: 00007ff88c9202e0 (GetdfDIJoystick+0x6120)
  0000000011dbf200: 000000006c834f50 (SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0xd5130)
  0000000011dbf250: 000000006c8359cb (SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0xd5bab)
  0000000011dbf2a0: 000000006c76788f (SDL_DYNAPI_entry+0x7a6f)
  0000000011dbfc90: 00007ff897bc7495 (GetdfDIJoystick+0x1405)
  0000000011dbff20: 00007ff897bc642b (GetdfDIJoystick+0x039b)
  0000000011dbff50: 00007ff8c1747614 (BaseThreadInitThunk+0x0014)
  0000000011dbffd0: 00007ff8c29a26f1 (RtlUserThreadStart+0x0021)


last edit;
Similar to MAME, Flycast crashes as well with the plugin installed and wheel selected in the GUI.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2024, 08:17:10 am by scoodidabop »