Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing  (Read 7088 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #40 on: May 16, 2018, 05:32:26 pm »
The angle of your sides means you will have a bottom marquee that has a lot of dead space in it (unless you plan on putting large speakers in it).

What do you mean by this?

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #41 on: May 16, 2018, 10:11:58 pm »
New updated 3-D rendering, which I should be able to dissemble and make a 2-D image for CNC machining.



  • I changed the size to better suit by own height
  • Rounded out the corners
  • Added a more dramatic cut in the profile pieces
  • Filled in the front and back with slots to access the cab
  • Added 32" LCD holder (at 20 degree angle) to create a bezel for the viewing area.
  • Tilted down the control panel 10 degrees.
  • Added speaker cuts
  • Added more depth to the control panel's depth for buttons and stick housing
  • Made more space for wrists to rest on from edge.

Feedback is encouraged and welcomed!

ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1008
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #42 on: May 17, 2018, 03:44:27 pm »
The angle of your sides means you will have a bottom marquee that has a lot of dead space in it (unless you plan on putting large speakers in it).

What do you mean by this?

Don't worry about it. In your new rendering I can see what you did more clearly. However that brings up another concern. Your marquee box's bottom panel looks as if it might interfere with the top of your speakers on your speaker panel. Have you checked for clearance?

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #43 on: May 17, 2018, 03:45:59 pm »
Don't worry about it. In your new rendering I can see what you did more clearly. However that brings up another concern. Your marquee box's bottom panel looks as if it might interfere with the top of your speakers on your speaker panel. Have you checked for clearance?
Iím removing the back piece of wood in the marquee altogether based on a recommendation by another person. So I should have plenty of room for the speakers now. ;)

ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1008
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #44 on: May 17, 2018, 03:48:34 pm »
Can you post a side view of the cab? I'm concerned that the overhang of your cp would create a tipping hazard. On a slim cab I built that was an issue and my cp didn't overhang anywhere near as much as yours appears to be.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #45 on: May 17, 2018, 03:51:01 pm »
Can you post a side view of the cab? I'm concerned that the overhang of your cp would create a tipping hazard. On a slim cab I built that was an issue and my cp didn't overhang anywhere near as much as yours appears to be.


ivwshane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1008
    • My first mame cab! (WIP)
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #46 on: May 17, 2018, 03:58:32 pm »
Its hard to say, it may or may not be an issue.

Worse comes to worst, you can put it on pedestal (essentially just a sheet of mdf that sticks out far enough to not allow tippage when playing hard.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #47 on: May 18, 2018, 11:19:59 am »
Updated my CP design to get rid of a bunch of admin buttons down to just 2 (Pause and Exit), and removed dedicated 4-way and flyleaf buttons.  Also removed spinner.  Also removed 1 of my 1p and 2p buttons, and moved one down to fit a more "Neo Geo" style.

Down to 37 buttons, still too many to fit on Ultimate I/O.

I wanted to put all the buttons on a different RGB, but maybe it makes sense to chain the Player/Coin and Exit/Pause buttons together?  Thoughts anyone?


obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #48 on: May 18, 2018, 11:29:42 am »
Or is this better?  I moved up the 1p-2p and trackball and brought the front end of the control panel up as well (all 44mm.)


Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #49 on: May 18, 2018, 11:35:54 am »
Down to 37 buttons, still too many to fit on Ultimate I/O.



Are you sure you're counting right? There are 37 holes in that CP, but only 32 of the holes are for buttons... Advice you won't take: 6 buttons for players 1 and 2, not 7.
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #50 on: May 18, 2018, 11:40:53 am »
Are you sure you're counting right? There are 37 holes in that CP, but only 32 of the holes are for buttons... Advice you won't take: 6 buttons for players 1 and 2, not 7.
Sorry, I'm counting the joysticks and the ball that will be illuminated as well.

And yes, I do want to keep the 7 buttons for neo geo.  Those are some of my favorite games.

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #51 on: May 18, 2018, 11:45:17 am »
NeoGeo layout is 4 buttons, not 7. Most NeoGeo games don't even use all 4. Do you really need RGB LEDs for all the controls? No. Coin buttons (even though you shouldn't have any, get a coin door) don't need to be every color of the rainbow, and neither do your admin buttons (hell, hide those under the CP and they don't even need to be lit up).
%Bartop

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5703
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #52 on: May 18, 2018, 11:46:53 am »
Not sure I understand.  Neo Geo only uses 4 buttons max... Most people use the top row and the left button on the bottom row to get the arc.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #53 on: May 18, 2018, 11:56:20 am »
NeoGeo layout is 4 buttons, not 7. Most NeoGeo games don't even use all 4. Do you really need RGB LEDs for all the controls? No.
Of course I don't "NEED" them.

Coin buttons (even though you shouldn't have any, get a coin door) don't need to be every color of the rainbow, and neither do your admin buttons (hell, hide those under the CP and they don't even need to be lit up).
On that topic, where can I find a 4-person coin door?

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #54 on: May 18, 2018, 11:58:09 am »
Not sure I understand.  Neo Geo only uses 4 buttons max... Most people use the top row and the left button on the bottom row to get the arc.
I did think about that, but it just doesn't feel right.

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #55 on: May 18, 2018, 12:07:10 pm »
I find it mildly humerous how you went from wanting an inexpensive, single color, LED setup to completely off the deep end with this. And as someone who has done almost exactly what you're describing now... Don't do it.
%Bartop

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5703
    • Bella's Arcade

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6749
  • 2013 UCA Awardee

luizw81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • I love the Power Glove. It's so bad.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #58 on: May 18, 2018, 03:02:16 pm »
Or is this better?  I moved up the 1p-2p and trackball and brought the front end of the control panel up as well (all 44mm.)


This 2nd one looks better.  You could probably that the front end off completely, actually.

And I know what you mean about the Neo Geo controls.  My current panel has the Street Fighter 6 button style and it feels unnatural playing Samurai Showdown.  No idea why some of us get up in arms about one extra button...

Sent from my SM-J320R4 using Tapatalk


obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #59 on: May 18, 2018, 03:05:58 pm »
This 2nd one looks better.  You could probably that the front end off completely, actually.
I was thinking about that.. but it would look a little too curvy for me.   :dunno

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #60 on: May 18, 2018, 03:13:34 pm »
Okay, last draft before I lay all the pieces down and create a .DWG file for it to be CNCed.

Any final input?

1)


2)


3)


4)

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1898
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #61 on: May 18, 2018, 03:33:09 pm »
I hope you plan on strapping that thing to a wall. That giant, heavy control panel is hanging out way past the center of mass.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #62 on: May 18, 2018, 03:56:20 pm »
I hope you plan on strapping that thing to a wall. That giant, heavy control panel is hanging out way past the center of mass.
How have others solved this problem?  Extend the front?  I just donít want to make a podium.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1898
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #63 on: May 18, 2018, 03:59:24 pm »
Look at how actual arcade machines are designed.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #64 on: May 18, 2018, 04:04:34 pm »
Look at how actual arcade machines are designed.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

 Itís obviously a lot different with a much larger control panel. I can move the control panel further into the machine but only so much until it hits the display.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1898
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #65 on: May 18, 2018, 04:05:51 pm »
Maybe there is reason they are not built that way.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #66 on: May 18, 2018, 04:08:09 pm »

Any final input?

Before you cut a piece of wood for this project. Start and finish a mini project first. Build a 1 player stand alone CP with the layout you want to use in the bigger project. Play on that for a while before cutting bigger, more expensive pieces. Once you're happy with a layout or control setup you like, then cut the big pieces and transfer your controls over to the big project. You've changed your mind many times this week, and I dont think you're done yet.
%Bartop

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17779
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #67 on: May 18, 2018, 04:08:36 pm »
Mike and the others who have painted it out are right - your CP looks like itís going to fall off. Extend the bottom out some more to cradle the panel.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #68 on: May 18, 2018, 04:12:34 pm »
Mike and the others who have painted it out are right - your CP looks like itís going to fall off. Extend the bottom out some more to cradle the panel.
:cheers:

Arroyo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 183
  • Budgets are boring
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #69 on: May 18, 2018, 04:20:37 pm »
Make sure youíve accounted for the depth requirements of the trackball.  The control panel housing depth may be an issue.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #70 on: May 18, 2018, 04:52:08 pm »
Before you cut a piece of wood for this project. Start and finish a mini project first. Build a 1 player stand alone CP with the layout you want to use in the bigger project. Play on that for a while before cutting bigger, more expensive pieces. Once you're happy with a layout or control setup you like, then cut the big pieces and transfer your controls over to the big project. You've changed your mind many times this week, and I dont think you're done yet.
Yeah the crappy part is my buttons are being restocked right now...  :badmood:

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #71 on: May 18, 2018, 04:52:37 pm »
Make sure youíve accounted for the depth requirements of the trackball.  The control panel housing depth may be an issue.
This should be fine,  I have 3 1/2 inches and the trackball only needs 2"

« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 07:14:07 pm by obizues »

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #72 on: May 18, 2018, 05:01:27 pm »
Before you cut a piece of wood for this project. Start and finish a mini project first. Build a 1 player stand alone CP with the layout you want to use in the bigger project. Play on that for a while before cutting bigger, more expensive pieces. Once you're happy with a layout or control setup you like, then cut the big pieces and transfer your controls over to the big project. You've changed your mind many times this week, and I dont think you're done yet.
Yeah the crappy part is my buttons are being restocked right now...  :badmood:

Dude, when I built the Beast, I had to buy black buttons and transparent buttons and make my own. There was no off the shelf like that. And if you wait around for Paradise... Well, it'll be a long ---smurfing--- time.

Funny, they have both black and transparent in stock... You're just waiting on them to swap plungers...  :laugh2:
« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 05:05:43 pm by Nephasth »
%Bartop

vwalbridge

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
  • Don't half-ass two things, whole-ass one thing.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #73 on: May 18, 2018, 05:45:40 pm »
Didn't have time to read the whole thread but this looks like a great start to having a nice aircraft carrier.
If you can read this, it means Photobucket's money grab ruined my signature photos.

barrymossel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 308
  • RetroPie all the way!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #74 on: May 19, 2018, 04:20:36 am »
On that topic, where can I find a 4-person coin door?
FFS http://bfy.tw/ICvW

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #75 on: May 19, 2018, 05:23:50 pm »
FFS http://bfy.tw/ICvW
:laugh2: Some people have a hard time with newbie questions, especially in a thread titled ďI have no idea what Iím doing.Ē :laugh2:

That being said, I know I can google and find a used one, a new one, etc. I donít know if there are some with different wiring or changeable options which limit what I should be using for a MAME machine.

IE: you wouldnít tell a person who wants to create a Pac-Man feeling arcade to just buy any joystick and button after googling it. You would tell them to make sure to buy a 4Ėway balled shorter stick with a flyleaf gold leaf button.

Get it?

luizw81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
  • I love the Power Glove. It's so bad.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #76 on: May 19, 2018, 08:07:18 pm »
On that topic, where can I find a 4-person coin door?
FFS http://bfy.tw/ICvW


Sent from my SM-J320R4 using Tapatalk


obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #77 on: May 19, 2018, 08:56:58 pm »
I went to FedEx to print out my CP drawings to make a test unit.  Sadly Sketchup exported a PDF and PNG both different sizes, and neither of them correct.

Iíll be bothering their forum for answers tonight, since only EPS you can mark to export to 1:1 size, but FedEx does not accept that format.  I find it strange the other exports wouldnít allow this option.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12903
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #78 on: May 19, 2018, 09:07:37 pm »
I hope some little kid doesnt jump up and hang from the center 2 sticks or else you you'll have to use their college fund for funeral expenses.
I was never a fan of the cab you based this design on, and you somehow found a way to make it worse by making it thin profiled.  Have you considered a more NBA Jam shaped control panel? Hope you have great medical insurance too, so you can get carpal tunnel surgery from that CP angle after you're done burying children.
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 229
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #79 on: May 19, 2018, 09:26:41 pm »
I hope some little kid doesnt jump up and hang from the center 2 sticks or else you you'll have to use their college fund for funeral expenses.
I was never a fan of the cab you based this design on, and you somehow found a way to make it worse by making it thin profiled.  Have you considered a more NBA Jam shaped control panel? Hope you have great medical insurance too, so you can get carpal tunnel surgery from that CP angle after you're done burying children.
Besides the much appreciated well-wishes for my health and finances, which part of the NBA Jam CP are you referring to?  That it's rectangular or there is "more" space in your opinion for your hands/arms than mine has to properly rest on?

I can from images the NBA Jam CP is taller so it would only result in forearm surgery or taller kids hanging from the center sticks, so is that what you mean?  Or is there a single shotgun blast that fires when someone does that on the NBA Jam cabinet I have forgotten?

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31