Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame  (Read 319 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jevansoh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« on: September 13, 2017, 09:46:24 am »


Hi,

I am trying to get my trackball working in Mame.  It works fine in Windows 10 and even works to control the Mame menu when I press tab, but in game, it doesn't work.  If I turn it a lot, several rolls, it will sometimes move something in game to the left a little, but that's about it.

I have mouse=1 in the Mame.ini file.

It allows me to set the x and y on adstick and trackball when I press tab for player 1 controls, so it is reading the trackball, but it just doesn't work in game.  I've tried several games.

I've searched and searched and the other folks with this problem got it resolved by doing one of the things I've already done above, so I don't know what my problem is.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have.

--J

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1965
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2017, 03:54:22 pm »
Have you adjusted the analogue settings in the tab menu?
Sensitivity etc.

Also some trackball games have to have the trackball enabled through the service menu.

jevansoh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2017, 03:56:35 pm »
No, I haven't tried that, yet.

Do you know if Marble Madness is one that has to have it enabled in the service menu?

It's weird, because on that game, the trackball will kind of work for about 10 seconds then stops responding altogether.  I can move the marble down the first hill (with a LOT of rolling) but then it just stops and no matter which way or how much I roll the trackball, nothing else happens.

Which analog setting(s) should I try?  Just sensitivity?

Thanks,

--J

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1965
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2017, 05:26:16 pm »
I cant recall sorry! I have played marble madness with mine though so it defo works fine.

Just have a tinker with the settings in the analogue menu and see if that helps any.
And try the service menu (f2).


jevansoh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2017, 09:02:41 pm »
Ok, I'll go try that.  Thanks, --J

jevansoh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 09:46:23 pm »
Ok, reverse was turned on and sensitivity was set at 30.  I turned reverse off and set sensitivity to 100.  No difference.  I started Marble Madness and could roll the ball down the first hill and make the first turn.  Then it just quit working altogether.  Even that first rolling/turn took a lot of rolling to make it happen.  Why would it work for 10 seconds and quit?

I tried turning multimouse back to 0 instead of 1 and got the same results.

Any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I'm at a total loss here.

Thanks,

--J

jevansoh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't get Trackball to work in Mame
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2017, 09:53:36 pm »
The weird thing is, I can use the trackball in Windows and even in the Mame menu to select different options, but not in a game...

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31