Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Can't mount external hdd to copy roms  (Read 430 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:December 30, 2020, 04:57:58 pm
Can't mount external hdd to copy roms
« on: December 13, 2020, 04:18:18 pm »
What format does an external drive have to be to automount so I can copy roms over?

I've tried drives in exfat and ntfs but neither show up, though the ntfs drive does show up in dev/disks

Does it have to be fat32 or is something just wrong with my setup?
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1983
  • Last login:Today at 04:11:52 pm
Re: Can't mount external hdd to copy roms
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 05:01:11 pm »
Have you tried fat32? I never had an issue

hearttinker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:December 20, 2020, 04:02:06 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't mount external hdd to copy roms
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2020, 12:39:13 am »
Use Fat32 for GA 2020.4
When I checked, GA 2020.4 did not support NTSF.

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 250
  • Last login:December 30, 2020, 04:57:58 pm
Re: Can't mount external hdd to copy roms
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2020, 02:18:19 am »
In the end I opened LXDE and had to manually mount in terminal then I could use pcmanfm to copy over from exfat.

Seems the automounter only works with fat32.
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair