Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Does CRT Emudriver/GroovyMAME support AMD Vega APUs (CPU)? (re: AMD 200GE)  (Read 1697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sofakng

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 645
  • Last login:September 24, 2020, 12:07:50 pm
Does CRT Emudriver work with a system like this?  (ASRock DESKMINI A300W AMD Socket AM4). It's a AMD mini/barebones PC that supports an AMD Socket AM4 CPU and it also has a VGA connector on the back.

If this is supported by CRT Emudriver it seems like the absolute perfect box for GroovyMAME?

I think I'd want this CPU:  AMD Athlon 200GE 2-Core 4-Thread AM4 Socket Desktop Processor with Radeon Vega Graphics

It shows "Includes Radeon Vega 3 Graphics" graphics but the motherboard has a VGA connector and CRT Emudriver 2.0 says it supports VEGA graphics?
« Last Edit: March 14, 2019, 09:50:28 pm by sofakng »

sofakng

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 645
  • Last login:September 24, 2020, 12:07:50 pm
OK - It looks like Calamity just added support for these newer APUs in beta 15?

I'm not sure how well it's working though compared to the older HD 6450, etc, cards?  What's the difference between support for these?

If I use Windows 10 it sounds like you need to use super resolutions anyways so support for both should be the same?

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6950
  • Last login:Today at 02:09:20 pm
  • Quote me with care
Hi sofakng,

Please check this.

Believe it or not, this path is still unexplored. I wish I had more time to do experiments. But yes, it *should* work to some extent.

Anyway I have my eyes more on the Ryzen 5 2400g, way more expensive but you can also do more stuff with it.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

sofakng

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 645
  • Last login:September 24, 2020, 12:07:50 pm
Thanks Calamity.

Is the minimum supported dot clock still important on Windows 10?

If I understand correctly, Windows 10 requires super resolutions (40 MHz?) for CRT Emudriver / GroovyMAME and so it can't use 15 kHz modes anyways?  I'm probably misunderstanding something though.

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6950
  • Last login:Today at 02:09:20 pm
  • Quote me with care
Thanks Calamity.

Is the minimum supported dot clock still important on Windows 10?

If I understand correctly, Windows 10 requires super resolutions (40 MHz?) for CRT Emudriver / GroovyMAME and so it can't use 15 kHz modes anyways?  I'm probably misunderstanding something though.

Windows 10 doesn't require super resolutions, they're just convenient (same as 7, etc.). 15 kHz is perfectly possible with super resolutions. You're mixing up the dotclock (Mhz) with the horizontal frequency (kHz).
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

johey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:29:36 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Anyway I have my eyes more on the Ryzen 5 2400g, way more expensive but you can also do more stuff with it.

I have a Ryzen 5 3400g, with Vega 11. Is there any way I can make this working with CRT Emudriver? It should be very similar to 2400g.

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1079
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:29:01 pm
  • Is running at 15kHz
I have a Ryzen 5 3400g, with Vega 11. Is there any way I can make this working with CRT Emudriver? It should be very similar to 2400g.

I think the thread you want for more information might be this one - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=152655.msg1637120#msg1637120

But not sure. TBH you should search the forum for thread titles containing either APU or the exact model you wish to investigate. And after that, search for posts. (Although search isn't working for me right now, so i guess try google?)

johey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:29:36 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Thanks for replying, buttersoft! However I believe this is the most relevant thread after all. Calamity mentions the Ryzen 5 2400g which I think is very similar to my 3400g. And the list of supported chipset includes the 2400g. The setup program, however, does not find my 3400g.

By the way, I do get BIOS output from the VGA connector of my ASUS motherboard using this CPU.

Funny thing with replying like ďtry searchingĒ is that when the next person looking for help by searching, this answer is all she will find.  :laugh2:

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 467
  • Last login:Today at 08:43:01 am
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Anyway, a working VGA connector doesn't mean that it can support low resolutions or even interlaced modes. Most chances it won't, to be honest
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

johey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:29:36 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Itís AMD Vega 11 graphics, the same APU as in the predecessor 2400g CPU which is supported. Why do you think itís a low chance it is supported in the 3400g? Itís the same architecture.

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 467
  • Last login:Today at 08:43:01 am
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

johey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:29:36 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Does CRT Emudriver/GroovyMAME support AMD Vega APUs (CPU)? (re: AMD 200GE)
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2020, 10:21:01 am »
Ok, that is an interesting read. I donít see any specific reason why 3600G would be less supported than the 2600G, but I understand there are complications with these chipsets. Like no interlace modes for instance. Well, for my particular usecase I would love trying it anyway, without interlace modes. I have a trisync monitor.

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 467
  • Last login:Today at 08:43:01 am
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Does CRT Emudriver/GroovyMAME support AMD Vega APUs (CPU)? (re: AMD 200GE)
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2020, 06:09:54 am »
then please give a try and share :)
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

johey

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:29:36 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Does CRT Emudriver/GroovyMAME support AMD Vega APUs (CPU)? (re: AMD 200GE)
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2020, 04:26:48 pm »
Iíd love to. Hence my question. Is there a way I can force CRT Emudriver to recognize my card? The list is empty.

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 467
  • Last login:Today at 08:43:01 am
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: Does CRT Emudriver/GroovyMAME support AMD Vega APUs (CPU)? (re: AMD 200GE)
« Reply #14 on: September 09, 2020, 03:34:48 am »
When it comes to CRT, i'm not a windows user, I prefer linux. So I can't be of any help here
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6950
  • Last login:Today at 02:09:20 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: Does CRT Emudriver/GroovyMAME support AMD Vega APUs (CPU)? (re: AMD 200GE)
« Reply #15 on: September 09, 2020, 04:48:32 pm »
Iíd love to. Hence my question. Is there a way I can force CRT Emudriver to recognize my card? The list is empty.

Hi johey,

You can't force that unfortunately. A new Emudriver based on a version of AMD drivers that supports your card would be required. I won't be able to focus on a new version in the near future, it requires lots of time an tests and I don't have any currently.

The lack of interlace support makes this hardware difficult to use for a dedicated setup.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi