Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Interference from power supply  (Read 899 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Zuul86

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Interference from power supply
« on: November 09, 2016, 10:45:38 pm »
I made a VGA breakout cable and hooked up a WG k7000 to a Raspberry Pi 3.  Everything seams to be working ok so far except that I'm getting interference from the power supply in the form of waves moving vertically across the picture.  I've tried three different power supplies and and range from can't even see the picture to mildly annoying.

https://youtu.be/5gVWIn2PgEk

Also, I think I need a new flyback.  The picture slowly goes out of focus and then snaps back in focus.

Any recommendations for eliminating the interference?

elvis

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1150
  • penguin poker
    • StickFreaks
Re: Interference from power supply
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2016, 02:11:15 am »
How are you getting VGA out of the RPi? Are you using a HDMI to VGA converter?  Or using the GPIO pins via something like the GertVGA666 or other "resistor ladder" device?

And regardless of which solution you're using, have you checked all your grounds are connected so you're not getting a potential difference somewhere?

Zuul86

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Interference from power supply
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2016, 09:27:06 am »
I'm using a HDMI to VGA converter.  There are varying degrees of interference with different power supplies.

I think I have all the grounds connected. I'll have to verify that.

mahuti

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2503
  • Back from the dead.
Re: Interference from power supply
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2016, 01:33:20 am »
Do you perhaps need one of these to convert VGA to CGA 15k? 

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XKWX4F8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I think the output signal needs to be 15k... but I could be wrong. I have one of these on order for the same basic reason... converting RP2 output to an old WG CRT. I don't keep up on arcade monitors though, so the WG k7000 may not need it... :dunno

Looks like mine's a k7000 series too. I've had it sitting around since 2002... I have no idea if it even turns on. We'll see sometime in the next month. I have to get my power set up first...sigh. Parts on order.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2016, 02:19:34 am by mahuti »
Formerly known for the (apparently now defunct) arcadeartlibrary

bleck

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Interference from power supply
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2016, 09:22:16 am »
The setup I currently have is
HDMI-to-VGA -> VGA-to-SCART (UMSA) -> PVM

I was noticing wavy interference on my screen too. It went away after I replaced the VGA cable with a Male-to-Male VGA coupler. My guess would be that you need better shielding on the VGA cable.

I hope this helps.

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2063
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: Interference from power supply
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2016, 10:02:44 am »
As above I would guess you would need more shielding or move the video cables further away from any power sources.


Zuul86

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Interference from power supply
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2017, 09:46:04 am »
I figured out my issue.  I got the cab and didn't realize the three hole plug with ground and composite sync was shifted down one.  So the ground wasn't connected and the composite sync was connected to ground.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31