Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Use an Arduino to trigger COIN pin on JAMMA harness?  (Read 3427 times)

sn0zc0r3

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:October 14, 2016, 07:50:56 pm
Use an Arduino to trigger COIN pin on JAMMA harness?
« on: October 14, 2016, 04:59:16 pm »
Please excuse my ignorance, but I'm a noob at best when it comes to voltage/wiring/etc, but I'm working on an idea I have and I'm trying to figure out how to trip the COIN pin on a JAMMA board to add a token to the machine.

I've wired a JAMMA fingerboard to act as a middleman between the cabinet and the arcade board and have wired an extra wire to pin 16 that goes to a pin an Arduino board. Then, I would use the arduino to send send a signal and trip the pin to add a token.

In theory, this makes sense in my head, but so far it's not working and my first thought is that maybe I don't have the right voltage to trip the pin on the JAMMA harness, or if an Arduino can do it at all?

Thoughts?

UEDan

• Offline Offline
  • Last login:November 10, 2019, 05:54:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Use an Arduino to trigger COIN pin on JAMMA harness?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 06:24:53 pm »
Add a relay?

Instead of a light, connect 1 pin to ground and the other to the coin pin.
Turn on for half second then off.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2016, 06:30:36 pm by UEDan »

PL1

• Global Moderator