Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Attaching a DC Barrel connector to 3/4" MDF  (Read 2048 times)

slbailey

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:October 04, 2016, 12:47:43 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Attaching a DC Barrel connector to 3/4" MDF
« on: July 21, 2016, 10:00:59 am »
OK so I'm starting a new bartop project and I want to do something I've never done before so I'm doing lots of research... Basically I want to build a fanless low power machine running just the early 80's arcade games... I'm gonna power it by a Raspberry Pi and a small 10" LCD I swiped from a dead laptop.  I want to go DC only and I've got a 12V/4A power supply that's powering the LCD monitor.

I want to run the power supply to a DC barrel connector, run 12V from that to the LCD and some LED light strips to backlight the marquee.  Then I want to run the 12V through a 12V-5V step down converter and power the PI (and USB devices) from that.

What I'm trying to figure out is how to attach a DC Barrel connector to the side panel... All the connectors I've seen are < 10mm long in thread length and that won't go through MDF.  Trying to find a solution here.

Any power magicians out there?

Steve

JDFan

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 21, 2023, 04:07:42 pm
Re: Attaching a DC Barrel connector to 3/4" MDF
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 10:37:02 am »