Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Do I need a trackball?  (Read 761 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tommy152

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:May 11, 2016, 06:55:15 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Do I need a trackball?
« on: October 04, 2015, 09:45:55 pm »
Getting back into MAME after about 5 years and planning out my 4 player CP.  Everyone seems to have a trackball on their CP...do I really need one if I just plan on playing fighting games and beat em ups?  Just wondering if people include one for games or for navigation of the front end.  Trying to keep the CP small as possible, but if adding a track ball doesn't add any space, I might as well include one for the hell of it.

edekoning

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 525
  • Last login:April 05, 2020, 07:56:44 am
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2015, 06:44:40 am »
The genres you listed do not require a trackball, so unless you must be able to play <insert random game>, than no a trackball is not required. Feel free to add one for the hell of it though  >:D, just realize that they are fairly expensive.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8619
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:17:37 pm
  • ...
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2015, 08:53:05 am »
Depends on how important the trackball games are to you.
When I had an xarcade tankstick with a trackball, the only trackball games I ever played were world class bowling and the irritating maze.
I didn't bother putting one on the new cab (not that there was room for it anyway).

I also made a homemade spinner and never used it for anything but driving games, so haven't bothered with one since.

quad04

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:October 19, 2015, 01:26:24 pm
  • Crazy Climber was my fav arcade game.
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2015, 09:55:21 am »
This is a question I had as well, I have a quasicon, (working again thank goodness) and wish I had the track ball for golf games and missle command.
Not even sure I could add one if I wanted to.

behrmr

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 447
  • Last login:Today at 12:38:08 am
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2015, 10:51:59 am »
Depends on how important the trackball games are to you.
When I had an xarcade tankstick with a trackball, the only trackball games I ever played were world class bowling and the irritating maze.
I didn't bother putting one on the new cab (not that there was room for it anyway).

I also made a homemade spinner and never used it for anything but driving games, so haven't bothered with one since.

I couldn't agree more.  Trackballs take up a lot of real estate on a control panel too since you need the extra clearance below.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2015, 10:55:40 am »
You dont need one, but don't let that stop you from listening to good advice here on BYOAC.
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

Xiaou2

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3957
  • Last login:April 16, 2017, 01:50:02 pm
  • NOM NOM NOM
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2015, 12:34:26 pm »
There are some good trackball games worthy of play...  however, if there isnt sufficient room for a good hard and fast spin... then it basically reduces the thing to a mere game selector.. IMO.

 If given the choice,  Id pop a spinner and a trigger stick on a CP over a Trackball.   These games tend to me more fun and challenging.
Plus, you can use the spinner for driving games.

 If you go with the trackball... you should have a minimum 1ft diameter of space free for rolling.   Most designs have joysticks too close... and as a result, hands can bash into them.

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4738
  • Last login:April 05, 2020, 11:06:08 pm
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2015, 01:46:29 pm »
If you plan on putting and PC games on there, I'd put the trackball in.  For example, Zuma, Hamsterball, Bejeweled, Plants vs Zombies, Peggle, etc.  Basically, any Pop Cap Games are a good start.

D
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

DarthMarino

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 516
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:10:24 pm
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2015, 02:07:53 pm »
If you like the Golden Tee games, I think it's more than worth it.  If not, that's a much harder sell.

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2015, 02:15:28 pm »
Get a trackball.  If you have room for one comfortably.  :applaud:
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

megamoze

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 88
  • Last login:February 11, 2020, 12:11:16 pm
  • Loving my cabinet, built summer 2015
Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2015, 05:46:01 am »
I play Centipede quite a bit, so trackball was worth it for me.  Just depends on what games you play.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Dawgz Rule

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 717
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:15:48 am
  • The more people I meet, the more I like my dogs
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2015, 06:22:57 am »
Trackball is definitely worth it. 

Zeosstud

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 438
  • Last login:April 02, 2020, 04:23:33 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2015, 09:08:09 am »
I am on the "it depends on what games you play" bandwagon but with a disclaimer. I think it also depends on you cabinet.  I completely redid my control panel to add a trackball when Golden Tee Fore! got emulated, did like 3 different layouts.. No matter what I did, drunk people crushed their fingers or exited the game accidentally or any number of other silly things that happen when we are over served.. So, I built a pedestal and moved Golden Tee and other trackball games to it.. I think having a trackball is totally worth it and I certainly hope you enjoy yours..

what2be

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:November 17, 2018, 07:38:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2015, 12:41:16 pm »
Do you need a trackball? I dunno, that's like saying do you need a woman? You don't NEED a woman, but your hand might thank you if you have one.

I setup a old HanoHo cab for a friend and he was a golden tee nut so had to have a trackball. Heres what I ended up doing for him and it works fine.




harveybirdman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2531
  • Last login:September 24, 2019, 03:08:38 pm
  • SHMUP'EM
Re: Do I need a trackball?
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2015, 12:51:34 pm »
Heres what I ended up doing for him and it works fine.