Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Started my new Arcade!  (Read 1373 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

virtual Haven Arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:September 11, 2020, 12:51:42 pm
  • Arcade developer and enthusiast :)
    • Virtual Haven Arcade
Started my new Arcade!
« on: January 30, 2020, 06:06:53 pm »
Hey all new to the forum! just got my cabinet from a shop in my area they CNCíd it and assembled it , I started wiring things together and putting the controls together and adding the pc and software hope it goes well
Check out my latest post and builds www.instagram.com/virtualhavenarcade/

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19432
  • Last login:Today at 09:02:24 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2020, 07:17:42 pm »
Cool. Keep us posted!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Arroyo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1375
  • Last login:Today at 06:56:27 pm
  • Budgets are boring
    • newforum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,156267.0.html
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2020, 09:16:17 pm »
Welcome to the forum, good luck on the wiring.  Post your plans when you get a chance.

rtkiii

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 288
  • Last login:May 12, 2020, 12:07:02 pm
  • Ready to Build! Not building? Making Movies!
    • RTKIII Productions YouTube Channel
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2020, 09:22:32 am »
Very cool...keep us updated on your journey,

virtual Haven Arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:September 11, 2020, 12:51:42 pm
  • Arcade developer and enthusiast :)
    • Virtual Haven Arcade
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2020, 03:20:55 pm »
Wired up the controls and installed the monitor testing it out with power stone 2 😁
Check out my latest post and builds www.instagram.com/virtualhavenarcade/

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19432
  • Last login:Today at 09:02:24 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2020, 03:34:49 pm »
Beautiful! Iím so happy to see something with traditional lines and smaller screens running in 4:3. Iím tried of clicking on threads and seeing the same 4 player, 55in widescreen clones. Kudos to you!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: February 01, 2020, 12:42:16 pm by yotsuya »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 747
  • Last login:Today at 05:45:55 pm
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2020, 12:12:25 pm »
An actual from-scratch build, with real arcade controls... my God, he's not even using a Raspberry Pi. This is beautiful. This must have been what it was like finding a live Coelacanth.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6770
  • Last login:Today at 08:25:17 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2020, 02:24:58 pm »
An actual from-scratch build, with real arcade controls... my God, he's not even using a Raspberry Pi. This is beautiful. This must have been what it was like finding a live Coelacanth.

But you can put 10,000+ games on the raspberry pi!!!

Nice job OP - this thing is going to be great.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1846
  • Last login:September 12, 2020, 04:13:04 pm
  • Web Developer.
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2020, 04:52:36 am »
Pi suck for emulation. How did this turn into a pi thread?

morton

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 300
  • Last login:May 31, 2020, 08:48:53 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2020, 06:56:17 am »
I agree with the sentiment that it's refreshing to see a simple 4:3 setup in a classic looking cab. Anyone can make a pedestal with a big ass TV on it, and make it look okay. Pulling off a machine that looks like it could be from an earlier era is where a lot of the charm is for me. Get me drunk on some nostalgia.

As for the Pi comments... I dunno... I use a Pi and have a good deal of success. If someone tried one a few years ago and didn't like it, but hasn't tried one since, they have no business writing it off so casually IMO. Earlier iterations had some shortcomings but with my Pi3b and a mild overclock, it seems to handle a lot without issue. I would take it over a Pandora's Box for its ability to be tailored to your situation. People looking for plug and play may find it lacking and wouldn't argue it away, but the Pi is useful beyond emulation and serves perfectly fine IMO as a stepping stone or stop gap on your way to a PC or original hardware.

Keep up the good work. Looks very clean. CNC is king... Only wish I had access to one.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8664
  • Last login:Today at 08:08:48 am
  • ...
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2020, 07:10:31 am »
It's a 4:3 image on a widescreen fellas. 
That doesn't diminish the nice clean build.

Osirus23

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 747
  • Last login:Today at 05:45:55 pm
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2020, 12:56:39 pm »
It's a 4:3 image on a widescreen fellas. 

That's fine. It's a reality we'll have to come to accept.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19432
  • Last login:Today at 09:02:24 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2020, 06:09:57 pm »
It's a 4:3 image on a widescreen fellas. 
That doesn't diminish the nice clean build.

Thatís why my post said it was great running in 4:3 instead of being Mike Bossed out ;)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

virtual Haven Arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:September 11, 2020, 12:51:42 pm
  • Arcade developer and enthusiast :)
    • Virtual Haven Arcade
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #13 on: February 03, 2020, 04:12:57 pm »
Thanks all ill keep you posted as i go!
An actual from-scratch build, with real arcade controls... my God, he's not even using a Raspberry Pi. This is beautiful. This must have been what it was like finding a live Coelacanth.
Yes sir , no Raspberry Pi here i want to focus on the games that need a lot of horsepower :) especially light gun games , no pre-builds i'm doing a lot of it from-scratch its a 16:9 screen to account for some games that need a wide screen, i'm looking into doing some kind of bezel for the 4:3 games just the left and right side bars not sure yet.
Check out my latest post and builds www.instagram.com/virtualhavenarcade/

firedance

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
  • Last login:Today at 03:48:27 pm
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #14 on: February 04, 2020, 08:38:00 am »
http://www.rlauncher.com/ can do bezels for 4:3 screens no problems, i've used it in conjunction with hyperspin for 16:9 displays :)


virtual Haven Arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:September 11, 2020, 12:51:42 pm
  • Arcade developer and enthusiast :)
    • Virtual Haven Arcade
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2020, 09:43:02 pm »
http://www.rlauncher.com/ can do bezels for 4:3 screens no problems, i've used it in conjunction with hyperspin for 16:9 displays :)
Oh awesome thanks Iíll check it out , it seems pretty complex though 😂
Check out my latest post and builds www.instagram.com/virtualhavenarcade/

firedance

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 218
  • Last login:Today at 03:48:27 pm
Re: Started my new Arcade!
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2020, 02:23:04 pm »
http://www.rlauncher.com/ can do bezels for 4:3 screens no problems, i've used it in conjunction with hyperspin for 16:9 displays :)
Oh awesome thanks Iíll check it out , it seems pretty complex though 😂

Yeah it can be but once you get you're head around it and hyperspin it can do almost anything you need :)

If you just plan on using just MAME that should be able to do the side bezels i think on its own  ???
« Last Edit: February 05, 2020, 02:25:53 pm by firedance »