Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Help required with random hardware....stuff  (Read 847 times)

psynergy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:January 30, 2015, 03:40:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Help required with random hardware....stuff
« on: January 29, 2015, 11:34:23 am »
Hey there guys and gals,

Apologies if this is the wrong place to be posting, I'm a little new to the board.

I'm stuck on the last few hurdles of a small project I've been working on for the past 5 months. Basically, I saw the R-Kaid-R and immediately wanted one of my own, and having an old netbook handy, I started tinkering.

Everything works, and the control panel is hooked up etc. My main issues are as follows:

• The Battery. Currently, the netbook battery is really long, and makes trying to get a wooden case built quite frustrating. Is there a way I can either resize the battery or, failing that, power the device from an alternate battery?
  • The clamshell cabling. The R-Kaid-R has a wire the runs from one half to the other to the display and speaker. I assume the dude has a breadboard or something in the top section (what with the device being built from a Pi). My question is, as I'm using a netbook, what are my options in having the cables for the monitor and speaker pass from one section to the other?